We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great First Meal in Budapest”
Review of Hungarikum Bisztro

Hungarikum Bisztro
Ranked #19 of 3,234 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $24
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Traditional Hungarian Restaurant serving old fashioned Hungarian dishes following family's recipes.Open every day:11:30AM-3:00PM (LAST RESERVATION AT 2:00 PM!)6:00PM-11:00PM (LAST RESERVATION AT 10:00 PM!) Between 3:00PM-6:00PM is CLOSED! RESERVATION IS REQUIRED!
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great First Meal in Budapest”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lad's weekend in Budapest and I was responsible for making arrangement s for first night in town! I dutifully researched many different websites to include tripadvisor which sealed the deal. Booked a table for 8 two weeks before our trip and hoped for the best. I was immediately contacted by Suzanna who made a great first impression and let me know that our table would be waiting for us.

We arrived in Budapest and found the restaurant with no problems...well we arrived 15 mins early. No problem - the staff made adjustments and we were seated.

In an attempt to keep this short and to the point, the food was simply fantastic. The Goulash soup which we all had - save for our "special" member was light, but rich and very flavorful. The bread was warm, the beer was cold, and the service was attentive and friendly. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal and we left full, satisfied, and with wallets that were barely dented.

Highly recommend this restaurant - 5 stars all around!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Proprietario at Hungarikum Bisztro, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Let me thank you for your beautiful comment!

Kindly yours,
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,229
    1,380
    303
    59
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Restaurant is in a small Street, very hidden. We was alone in the restaurant at 4pm.
The meal was very delicious.
25€ for 3 drinks, 2 appetizer and 2 meals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sfbln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Proprietario at Hungarikum Bisztro, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you so much!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food, excellent service and nice prices.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very nice restaurant located close to the parliament having very good Hungarian food, excellent service and nice prices. We had a meny with gulasch soup, duck leg and apple pie. Everything was very tasty and nicely presented. The recommended wine was a very tasty hangarian red wine which name unfortunally is forgot, but we'll be back to have another taste. Very friendly staff and nice live piano music.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank odkkrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Proprietario at Hungarikum Bisztro, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you very much!

Best wishes,
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic authentic Hungarian food”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This restaurant is tucked away down a side street but only a 10 minute walk from the Chain Bridge and close to the Parliament building. It had a great atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and attentive, they spoke excellent English and were able to help us to choose from the menu.

The pork with paprika sauce and dumplings was delicious, and they have an excellent Hungarian wine list.

We enjoyed this so much that we went back on our last night in Budapest!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TimScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Proprietario at Hungarikum Bisztro, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank yo very much!

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good local food without the touristy prices”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff and willing to make friendly recommendations on the types of food to order. Very cozy and warm atmosphere, and located very close to the parliament building. Great taste of Hungarian food. Worth a visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarikum Bisztro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hungarikum Bisztro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing