We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest
Ranked #17 of 644 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We found this hostel to have a great location. The rooms were clean and modern and the staff was always willing to answer a question or provide a recommendation. I would not hesitate to stay here again. They have towels, linens, wi-fi, a kitchen, and even a bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    281
    66
    26
    19
See reviews for
19
106
194
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We went to wombats in budapest whilst backpacking round europe. We choose wombats, as we had previously stayed in wombats in Munich and Vienna. All were great - clean, good value, well informed staff, good locations and with individual lockers in the room (no padlock required) you know your valuables are safe. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Came as part of a tour group. It's nice and central so easy to find regardless where you have been. Breakfast is nice and there are a number of good restaurants down an alley directly opposite the hostel. There's a bar in the hostel though it did run out of beer when we were there. Bunk beds. Free wifi.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a fantastic hostel!
Spacious, clean, modern, accommodating rooms!
Great service and friendly staff who are happy to assist and provide information!
Tasty breakfast and great variety of food!
Great location and so close to lots of great places!
Highly recommended! I will be returning!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Myvatn, Iceland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The hostel is in a exelent location, kind of center to most of the sights, no problem to walk to most of them and just right outside the hostel there is a street full of restaurants, bars and coffeehouses - good to go and spend the evening.
    The hostel is quite big but the staff was very nice and gave good recommendations on how to spend the day. The rooms were big and had bathrooms in each one, they were clean and the beds were good. 
    The only thing that wasn't the best was cause of a bar downstairs it can be a bit loud but it closes around midnight so if you don't need to wake up early it is fine. The wifi was also not the best but you can buy access to computers at the reception if you need to get online. 

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllaB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at Wombats now in three countries and i have never been disappointed. Wombats Budapest was clean, comfortable and a pleasure to stay in. Their common area was especially nice and the bar was also great. I also enjoy their breakfasts which can keep you going the whole day. The staff were super friendly and helpful and in general everything you could want was thought of and well organised. This Wombats was also well situated and i found everything within walking distance. The best ruin bar was only a 5min walk away which was really convienent. Overall a great stay in Budapest even though it was raining the whole week i was there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Twice now we've had bad experiences with other hostels and switched to wombats. The staff is great, the rooms are clean and quiet at night, the common area is awesome, I wish the wombats chain was bigger!

I'd highly recommend this place as well as their other hostels in other cities.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wombatshostels, Manager at wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Thanks a lot for the nice feedback, hope to see ypu again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
#45 of 333 in Budapest
900 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 644 in Budapest
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest

Property: wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest
Address: Kiraly utca 20, Budapest 1061, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 644 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing