We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bar”

Buddha-Bar Restaurant
Ranked #79 of 3,154 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Treat your senses with a visit to the world-wide famous Buddha-Bar Restaurant in the heart of Budapest! Envisioned by Raymond Visan in 1996, the Buddha-Bar brand is now present all-over the world to amaze the discerning community with its complexity.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Bar”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went there on Friday Evening. The staff and the location is very good. We were greeting in English - the only time this happened during our stay in Budapest which makes me think its probably aimed at tourists. The prices also confirm this - we had a couple of cocktails on London prices.
However the bar is really stylish with music from all over the world and we had a great time. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Restaurant, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Bobby,

Many thanks for reviewing your visit to the Buddha-Bar Lounge and delighted to hear that you had a nice time! Weekends are always extremely busy and our professional and friendly staff makes sure that our guests get the best cocktails and service to enjoy their time out.

Looking forward to your next visit!
Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    946
    337
    134
    57
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“too expensive”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Location is nice, staff is nice.
The restaurant is extremely dark, needed to use the flashlight to be able to read the menu
Food was very good.
Wines are way to expensive and the food too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rossettini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Restaurant, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear,

Many thanks for sharing your opinion about the Buddha-Bar Budapest! The restaurant is a member of the world-wide known, exclusive Buddha-Bar Restaurant chain, offering a range of signature dishes and drinks. It's unique interior is a part of the special concept that resembles to Buddha-Bar wherever you are all over the world. Thank you for the compliment regarding the cuisine, very glad that you were satisfied with it and we are sorry to hear that the Buddha-Bar atmosphere could not capture your heart.

Hope that you will return again to try some of our other signature dishes, very much looking forward to it!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what's offered.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Fair play, the the decor is impressive at first glance but then you realise that it's just a sneaky ploy to distract you from the small portions and mediocre cuisine. The food and service here just scrape by into the 'okay' category, which is a rip-off considering how expensive it is. Don't even bother trying the sushi. Have some cocktails in the bar upstairs, also expensive but inventive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jets1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Restaurant, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Jets,

Thank you very much for your time, reviewing the Buddha-Bar Budapest Restaurant. We are really sorry to learn that our services and food quality did not meet your refined expectations, however happy that you were fond of the Buddha-Bar Lounge upstairs that is a fancy place for cocktails and drinks in the evenings, while the dedicated DJ plays the illustrious Buddha-Bar music to chill out in a really special atmosphere.

Hope that this is not the last time you visited Budapest and we will always be glad to welcome you again at the Buddha-Bar Budapest!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“poor service and poor food quality”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in the same hotel and we were expecting the same level of service but that didn't happened.
I would just go there to see it and maybe take few pictures. I wont eat or drink there. I don't mind paying very high prices for food and specially their drinks but I'm expecting something in return.
The food quality is very deceiving.
The cocktail menu sounds great with exotic ingredients and fancy names but unfortunately as deceiving as the food.
The service is poor . We had a very rude waitress. It was surprising to see such a poor service in a beautiful restaurant. With so many great choices around I would not go there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 832brians832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Restaurant, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Brian,

Thank you very much for your time leaving a review about the restaurant as well as about the hotel and glad to learn that you had a chance to investigate all the Buddha-Bar outlets.
We were delighted to hear that you had a nice time at the Buddha-Bar Hotel, however very sorry to hear that your visit to the restaurant was not that successful. We would like to assure you that we are keeping the same high-quality of services both at the hotel and at the restaurant and to provide the quality, our staff is regularly receiving trainings. Thank you very much for bringing your experience into our attention, since we are constantly improving our services and therefore the feedback of our customers are very important.

Hope that should you return to Budapest, we will have another chance to welcome you to the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest again and that you might return to the Buddha-Bar Restaurant as well.

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice and fancy but too expensive”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We went there after reading the reviews here, it was good but for my opinion not justify the cost. the portions were small, most of the main dishes are without any side dish. Would recommend for special events, or for not too hungry people:)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Restaurant, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Marina,

Thank you very much for your time sharing your opinion with us about your recent visit at the Buddha-Bar Budapest. We are really sorry to hear that our services did not meet your refined expectations and certainly hope that should you return to Budapest we might have another chance to spoil you with a spectacular evening dining out.

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha-Bar Restaurant also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Buddha-Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing