We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff”

Buddha-Bar Restaurant
Ranked #87 of 3,092 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Treat your senses with a visit to the world-wide famous Buddha-Bar Restaurant in the heart of Budapest! Envisioned by Raymond Visan in 1996, the Buddha-Bar brand is now present all-over the world to amaze the discerning community with its complexity.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The people here are very nice. I didn't feel rushed, the waiter was easy to talk to. I asked for non-alcoholic beer, and the way she handled her error when she came with the alcoholic version of the same was worth the visit in itself. I was so impressed. The food was good, it does say "vegetarian" here at tripadvisor, although with one vegetarian main course there was not an abundance of choice though. not that it as always needed.

The sushi was perfect, finally a place where the rice is just as important as the rest.

It was expensive, but we really liked it. Worth it ;-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Odin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    326
    129
    56
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightful sashimi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

First night in Budapest, dining solo, Trip Advisor is spot on: Buddha-Bar does not disappoint. The sashimi was fresh and tasty; the wine recommendations very helpful. No rush. It was a quiet evening due to a national holiday, but the wait staff was available when needed. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
197 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A cool surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is the Buddha Bar i've ever been to. It has better things than other Buddha Bars. The location, in Budapest, in a cool street, with a buddha Bar Hotel included.

The lighting is very good. I was there twice: The first on a sunday night, the restaurant had three tables and the bar was empty, i had a pineapple martini, very good. It wash't cheap, but for a martini is ok.
The second was on a thursday night, it had more tables, the music was good, typical buddha bar chill out music. It is a brand, but this one is well done.

The hostess was stunning beautiful, the vibe was cool. For dinner we had the new style salmon sashimi, average, wasn't bad, but nothing special, the salmon sashimi, same,. The pork ribs were ok, . I recommend it if you want a night with music, chilling out, after a good spa in beautiful Budapest.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank voolksorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“had an awesome event in Buddha bar restuarant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

we had my sister's birthday party in buddha-bar Budapest. i dont have to say how beautiful and extra ordinary is the place it self, we started our party in the sky bar and the manager was kind enough to make all our wishes happen. we were so satisfy, the staff were very helpful and nice.

the food is great and the chef is a talented chef i would give 6 stars if i could :)

i also have some romantic time with my fiance, the place is elegant and romantic... i loved it so much! the manager made sure to make my sister's birthday even more special, i would love to do dinner parties there in the future. i also heard a friend of mine loved it so much that would like to through her brother's engagement party there:)

over all experience was amazing, good drinks, live DJ , and almost an exclusive party of our own, what could we ask more?

i would like to thank the manager Mr Andras Lexa and all of the staff from here. thanks for the wonderful night..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahaghabararian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Divine dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Buddha Bar truly lives up to its reputation, with relaxing ambience, courteous service and very tasty fusion cuisine. We tried their dinner bento and sushi bento menu at 6800 & 7900 Huff which include a wide variety of sushi, curry, stir fry and desert. If you want a fine dining experience with wonderful food, it's really worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBarEast, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Restaurant, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your nice experience at the Buddha Bar Restaurant & Lounge !
Our Executive Chef together with Sushi Chef are doing their best to make you like the place, as well as our Food and Beverage Team. We will have soon new items in the menu ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha-Bar Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Buddha-Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing