We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“had an awesome event in Buddha bar restuarant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buddha-Bar Restaurant

Buddha-Bar Restaurant
Ranked #72 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Treat your senses with a visit to the world-wide famous Buddha-Bar Restaurant in the heart of Budapest! Envisioned by Raymond Visan in 1996, the Buddha-Bar brand is now present all-over the world to amaze the discerning community with its complexity.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“had an awesome event in Buddha bar restuarant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

we had my sister's birthday party in buddha-bar Budapest. i dont have to say how beautiful and extra ordinary is the place it self, we started our party in the sky bar and the manager was kind enough to make all our wishes happen. we were so satisfy, the staff were very helpful and nice.

the food is great and the chef is a talented chef i would give 6 stars if i could :)

i also have some romantic time with my fiance, the place is elegant and romantic... i loved it so much! the manager made sure to make my sister's birthday even more special, i would love to do dinner parties there in the future. i also heard a friend of mine loved it so much that would like to through her brother's engagement party there:)

over all experience was amazing, good drinks, live DJ , and almost an exclusive party of our own, what could we ask more?

i would like to thank the manager Mr Andras Lexa and all of the staff from here. thanks for the wonderful night..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahaghabararian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    885
    312
    124
    55
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Divine dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Buddha Bar truly lives up to its reputation, with relaxing ambience, courteous service and very tasty fusion cuisine. We tried their dinner bento and sushi bento menu at 6800 & 7900 Huff which include a wide variety of sushi, curry, stir fry and desert. If you want a fine dining experience with wonderful food, it's really worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBarEast, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Restaurant, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your nice experience at the Buddha Bar Restaurant & Lounge !
Our Executive Chef together with Sushi Chef are doing their best to make you like the place, as well as our Food and Beverage Team. We will have soon new items in the menu ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We've been living in Budapest for some years, and visited a lot of places. This restaurant has given us one of the best meals so far. The only negative thing is that it can be a little (too) noisy sometimes. I wish the staff could tell people to be a bit more quiet, or to reduce the volume of the music (there's nothing wrong with the music selection by the way) so that it would be possible not only for large and loud groups to have a decent conversation.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Atmosphere was second to none. A funky dark setting, with ample space between tables, high ceilings, and great decor.

Agree with the review below that it was unnecessary for the hostess to direct us to the bar first, as we would far rather have preferred to be taken straight to our table.

We had few rolls of sushi and a vegetable thai green curry. The sushi rolls were spicy tuna, rainbow roll (crab meal inside, wrapped in salmon and tuna), and salmon and avocado roll. As an avid sushi fan in London, I was keen to see the quality of rolls here, and was not disappointed. The fish was fresh and rice done well - however it was the design of the rolls that was the most impressive and the creativity that was displayed in both look and taste. You can see some examples in the photos on tripadvisor.

Fairly pricey though, certainly for Budapest, so I'd say you are looking at spending around £75 for 2, definitely if you want wine too.

Overall, would wholeheartedly recommend, due to inventive dishes and one of the most atmospheric restaurants we have been to. A must for sushi fans

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This may have been one of my best restaurant experiences ever. The sushi was great. The waiters were very sharp and attentative. The mellow lighting, the stunning Buddha statue, the décor, the relaxing music, comfortable seating, it was all perfect. The bar option upstairs was also great. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Naresh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha-Bar Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Buddha-Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing