We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This terrible place is not to be missed - staff training required!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of Terror Museum

House of Terror Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.44*
and up
Budapest Sightseeing Tour by Bike with Lunch
Ranked #31 of 438 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum devoted to various historical terror regimes and practices.
cardiff
Level Contributor
274 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“This terrible place is not to be missed - staff training required!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Visited the House of Terror on 18th September 2013 - have been trying to get there for years. It is very well done with some excellent presentations and exhibitions. The interior architecture of this old building is stunning. I am very pleased to have visited - though it is hardly something one enjoys. It is a fine reminder of man's inhumanity to man. We should never forget such atrocious behaviour - rather we should do what we can to make sure such things do not happen - but sadly as I write this there are terrible things going on in Syria and elsewhere.
I was disappointed by two things - and mentions this in the hope that the administrators take note. The "customer service" was lousy - very poor. The woman in the cloakroom - and the one giving out the headsets were both remarkably unfriendly. Secondly - the audio guide is fine but inaudible - there was no volume control and as there was a loudspeaker in most rooms it was impossible to hear the recorded commentary - in fact it was total waste of time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank penarthguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,080
    2,003
    1,010
    405
    236
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fascinating place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

You must visit this place on a trip to Budapest. The museum is fascinating and details what life was like for the residents of Budapest during WW2 and the nazi regime. You walk around a series of rooms and collect A4 pieces of paper which detail the story of the room. I collected all the papers and saved them in my travel diary. The museum is located near a metro station however the city hop on hop off tours stop on the other side of the road so you can get on and off to visit this place. i would recommend about 2 hours here and there is also a tea room. EU passport holders also get a discount entry fee, i travelled with my friend who holds a NZ passport and she was a little bit annoyed that she couldn't get the EU discount like i did but nonetheless the price was reasonable for such a good post war museum. I did have to surrender my rucksack at the cloakroom - no idea why, others carried small bags about. maybe it was so i wouldnt take out a stand inside the museum or whack someone accidentally with it. The cloakroom was staffed though. Overall a brilliant place to learn about the sufferings of Hungarian people during the war, one of the better museums i have visited. Would go back again with friends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SPH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good but limited”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Really interesting exhibits and information ... if only they translated some bits :( There are sheets of paper you can take with information on but they are quite lengthy with no where to sit and read them. These are only in English and Hungarian as well so very limited for other languages.
You also can't take any photo which is odd and annoying as there are some interesting parts like the reconstructed prison cells.

Overall well worth a visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarahjade2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Heartbreaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Words can't describe this experience, but I dare say that a visit here is a must.

You can feel the pain and suffering - all presented in the most respectful way possible.

A definate must-see!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fascinating Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The House of Terror museum is a must-visit sight. It is located along Andrassy Ut, and easy to get to on the metro (Vorosmarty utca station). It presents a vivid depiction of what life was like for Budapest residents under the Nazi regime, and later the communists. Definitely get the audio guide available at the entrance, in order to fully appreciate the exhibits. Plan to spend 1-1/2 to 2 hours if you want to see everything.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank C1andG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Terror Museum also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to House of Terror Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing