We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you don't stay here u are CRAZY!!!”
Review of Hi 5 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hi 5 Hostel
Ranked #403 of 641 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you don't stay here u are CRAZY!!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hi 5 is by far the best hostel we hav stayed in EVER! Not only is the hostel set up fantastically with great facility's but the staff are amazing.

We had planned to stay 2 nights and ended up staying 2 and a half weeks and we'll be back! Hi 5 is a great mix between partying and relaxing. The common area is a great place to meet people, watch movies, play pool or jst to relax and get rid of your hangover which you probably have because you jst had the best night of your life!

The staff know all the good bars and the hostel is within stumbling distance of all of them...be sure not to miss the booze cruise's run once a week, Budapest looks so amazing from the water at night!

The hostel is cleaned properly every day so no yucky suprises in the bathrooms, the bunk beds all have curtains so you have a little more privacy. The kitchen has great appliances and plenty of room to cook up a storm. The staff will cook an awesome Hungarian dinner every other night for 500ft (bargin).

I could go on forever, there really is no reason not to stay here!

One word of advice - Don't buy a Eurail, it will be a waste of money because you won't be leaving anytime soon

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    2
    6
    11
See reviews for
1
5
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was by far the best hostel we stayed in in our trip across Europe. It's located handy enough once you read the directions right and is fairly easy to get around city from where it is. If you're looking for good atmosphere and unreal staff then that's your place. Since it was only set up a few weeks when we arrived I think I definitely overlooked some things like no lights in bathrooms/no toilet paper sometimes etc but then again I think small things like that were so made up for with the unreal atmosphere and staff. Food wise it was really handy to have such a nice kitchen where everyone helped each other and even had bbq evenings and free breakie. The organised nights out were such great craic and even the hostel dog Avery came along for the banter one night!! Without a doubt a highlight of my trip and I wouldn't hesitate to head back in the morning!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinCiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place was horrible. It was the dirtiest hostel we have stayed in and we have been travelling USA and europe for 4 months. The lights didn't work in the bathroom or toilet for 2 days. Toilet paper is very scarce. When we arrived the bed linen from previous guests was still on my bed so the owner stripped it and gave us fresh sheets... but there was small black hairs all over my bed it was yuck. Lucky the place is new and mattresses were also... I'd hate to see what it would be like in a few months. There were no rubbish bins in the rooms so peoples rubbish basically piled up in their rooms for a few days...
The common rooms are good.
Staff are nice but it seems like they have a lot to learn. They act like hostel guests rather than owners of a business.
They organise good nights out for people staying at the hostel.
The breakfast needs improvements.... Paper thin toast, warm milk and melted butter with jam. It is free so you can't really complain about that.
Although the main entrance to the building has good security, there is no locks on dorm rooms once inside...
I hate to be negative but I would never stay here again. If you have to stay here at least the accom is nice and cheap and it is a good place to meet people. It might be better if they hire cleaners.
If you do have to stay here bring ear pugs, noise echos inside the building!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankieFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Go here and you won't regret it. I met a girl at a hostel in Berlin who was basically in mourning over leaving Budapest and the wonderful people at Hi 5 hostel. She couldn't stop talking about how much she missed it. So I booked a long weekend there. It was four of the best days and nights out of my whole seven-week Eurotrip. I actually can't believe I was only there for 4 days. Hi 5 had only been open a couple of months when I got there, so everything was brand new and nice. It has super fun and friendly party staff, and the couple who runs it are the sweetest. Budapest is the only European city I felt truly welcome in as an American backpacker, and I don't know if it was because of how awesome Hi 5 is, or because of the general friendly, laid-back vibes in Budapest. Probably both. The party staff took hostel guests out each night for pub crawls of Budapest's fabulous ruin bars, karaoke night, and to the Saturday night thermal bath pool party. The Hostel is located really close to the city center -- near trains, free walking tour meeting points, directly across the street from the famed Instant night club, and within walking distance of plenty of other great bars/clubs. They had incredibly cheap and delicious meals cooked by staff sometimes, a Sunday BBQ, a standard hostel free cereal and toast breakfast, two fridges and two stoves (a really great kitchen for hostel standards.) The showers were great. The beds were decent. Enough lockers were available for valuables. I felt totally safe and trusting the whole time. I really want to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The staff are really helpful and friendly. They really know what to do for a fun day (or night) out. The location is perfect, really close to the center (and all the clubs in it). The price, especially for staying in such a great location with such great people, is unbeatable. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#130 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 Revay Hotel
#34 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#115 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi 5 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi 5 Hostel

Property: Hi 5 Hostel
Address: Nagymezo utca 27, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #403 of 641 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're tired of traveling alone and want to meet other travelers, if you're looking for a hostel that feels like home rather than an institution, this is the hostel for you. David Hasselhostel is a place where you will make friends, see the sites, join us for Budapest's great nightlife, and just chill out when you feel like taking it easy. Most of our guests say they never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hi 5 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing