We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location,Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Ranked #67 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location,Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just returned from a week stay at Hotel Erzcebet City Center,Budapest.The location is great as it is close to all sites. The hotel staff are all very helpful. Breakfast was very good. Would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie Therese V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Marie Therese V,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind review about the Hotel Erzsébet City Center. We are happy that you enjoyed the best location in Budapest and the helpful staff. A big thank you for sharing your positive experience with other travellers!
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future and show you our warmest hospitality again.

Kindest regards,
Balázs Réti
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    943
    254
    45
    12
See reviews for
273
830
110
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated for exploring Budapest. It is close to the Hop On/Hop Off bus, restaurants, the river, everything you need. The lobby is nice, but our room was dirty and excruciatingly small. The carpet had huge, dark stains, and the room was just plain worn. There was very little room to place things or to move around. We did not eat breakfast there; there are a number of convenient spots close by to pick up coffee, pastries, or a full breakfast.

Staff was friendly. I would definitely not stay here again unless I couldn't find anything else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Mrs Katy L,

Thank you for your time to post about Erzsébet City Center on Tripadvisor website. I am very sorry for your negative impression during your stay dated. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are going to change the carpets in November 2013 on 3 different floors. in the rooms and on the floors as well. The size of our room is in avarage 18 m2, but I understand your point.
I am especially delighted that you were satisfied with the our friendly staff.

I hope we can welcome you back after the carpet replacement and show you our warmest hospitality again.

Kindest regards,

Your sincerly:
Balázs Réti
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We enjoyed our week stay. The hotel room and the dining room staff are highlights of this place. We liked the location because it was close to everything we needed to go. There was an Italian Restaurant right next to it but I forgot its name that has good food and good customer service. This restaurant added value to the hotel. I think they compliment each other. We will check in again in this hotel whenever we go back to Budapest. Because they have reasonable price for a good hotel overall.

Room Tip: The higher floor to get the room the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mannie431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Mannie431,

I am thankful for your publishing this excellent impression! I am glad to read about the perfect hotel room and the dining room staff. I am delighted that you were satisfied with the location of our hotel. As you have mentioned, our hotel is very well situated, right at the city center. Several sightseeings are really within walking distance.
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future and show you our warmest hospitality again.

Kindest regards,
Zsazsa Abonyi
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed last week and for what we paid - no problem . It's a bit tired but central to all the sites. Staff are friendly and helpful. We had breakfast outside the hotel as there are lots of excellent cheap places for breakfast .

A bit of a nightmare with a car as the sat nav doesn't know the complicated one way systems , the roadworks and the pedestrian area next to the hotel . The parking is about 250 metres from the hotel is easy from the hotel toit but the other way round is a bit harder . However the staff helped with a map an really was only a bit stressful . We'll stay here again as Budapest s a great place to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziesyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Ozziesyorkshire,

First of all thank you for choosing our Hotel Erzsébet City Center and for sharing your kind review. Thank you also for your kind opinion about the reception staff. It is a pleasure for us to read the the title: Good value hotel.. We are very grateful for all the feedback that we receive from our guests, should they be pros or cons, they are valuable information for us.
We would like to hope that the next time you choose to visit Budapest, you will allow us to show you the effort to put into making you feel more comfortable and mostly welcomed.

Yours faithfully,
Zsazsa Abonyi
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week (16th-20th Sept) and found it very convenient to walk over the whole city. The hotel Erzebet may have seen better days and I think and could do with an uplift. Having said that we found (like most hotels) we only need to sleep there so it's tiredness did not effect us too much. We only paid £216 for our double room for 4 days through Travel Republic.
The room was reasonable large and the beds were very comfortable. The Air-Con was quite and just as we like it. I must mention Sophia on the Reception - she was wonderful and very helpful and speaks very good English (as most do in the City). We did not book in for breakfast which was the usual Continental 'stuff' - so we had the free croissant and coffee provided (don't bother as we could hardly see the croissant as it was so small and the coffee was luke warm. We had heard that there were better cooked breakfasts elsewhere. We tried Donnies 20 yards away, on the corner, as you turn left out of the hotel. Great all round cooked omelettes etc. We love our tea and coffee when we wake up in the room - but this was conspicuous by it's absence! Shame! Also - would you believe it - there was no cocktail bar in the hotel! We made a mistake and didn't ask for a non smoking room. We slightly smelt the smoke but it was not serious enough to complain. Reception has a very nice Safe facility for valuables and passports etc.
The main thing was the central position. The best thing to do is get the Hop on/Hop off bus around the City, suss out where everything is first and spend the next days walking everywhere.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non smoking room - preferable away from the noisy front part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Ronald D,

Thank you for your feedback on the most popular website of world travellers.
Let me start with your very kind mention: „Sophia on the Reception - she was wonderful and very helpful and speaks very good English.” Your comments are appreciated and I will pass.
We are delighted that you were satisfied with the the location of the hotel and that you have enjoyed our capital. It is very important for us to provide friendly and attentive service at all departments of the hotel.
Thank you once more for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel Erzsébet City Center.

Kindest regards,
Zsazsa Abonyi
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Level Contributor
332 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

One of my favourite on this Eastern Europe 20 day tour..it was so characteristic of the place unlike the modern Ibis like chain hotels. It was so central, walking distance to Vati Utca street, Central market, synagogue to restaurants and to trams and underground etc. Rooms bit small but all provided , ours was road facing viewed the building across the road, had good sound sleep. bathrooms small too but good hot water and many pegs to hang your stuff, the shower cubicle needs a change as one steps in presses down and when you are finished makes a sound.,.. my friend thought i had a fall.... equipped with a hair dryer but not mentioned in the website.The lifts were just perfect.
Ours was a half board package, breakfast was superb and plenty to choose from, this Latin look restaurant has a happy ambiance.
Our dinner was in their other resort Astoria just 05 minutes away a 03 course local meal.The shop in the reception has reasonably priced stuff. The reception people very helpful and polite...would recommend this place only draw back as we were a group we had to lug our baggage from Astoria as the bus could not drop you outside the Erzsebet.
Everything a was smooth sail....wish you all the best
--

Room Tip: Higher floor may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Director of Operations at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sparkie09,
We would like to thank you very much for your kind review about the Hotel Erzsébet City Center.
We are happy that you enjoyed the best location in Budapest and the highly recommendation of our hotel. As you have mentioned, our hotel is very well situated, right at the city center. Several sightseeing tours, like the Hop On-Hop off bus tours and many cruises are within walking distance.
Your comments about the service are most encouraging and important for the whole staff. A big thank you for sharing your positive experience with other travellers!
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future and show you our warmest hospitality again.
Kindest regards,
Balázs Réti,
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

For us this was the perfect location to be staying in Budapest - very central with easy access to most of the rest of Budapest. Excellent value. Good clean shower / toilet room with a good shower. Air conditioning did its job.

The staff were always polite and very helpful. Room was comfortable with enough space. No kettle, etc provided in the room, but when I asked for a kettle, one was delivered very soon to our room.

We were on the 6th floor, so was glad that the two lifts were working and never had to hang around long for a lift.

The free coffee and croissant were probably among the worst in the world though! the croissant was a sad, pale little thing that tasted like doughy bread. But everything else about this hotel was so good and such great value that I didn't mind about the poor free breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squid397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Director of Operations at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Squid397,
First of all thank you for choosing our Hotel Erzsébet City Center and for sharing your kind review. Thank you also for your kind opinion about the reception staff. It is a pleasure for us to read that you found the room clean and comfortable. We are very grateful for all the feedback that we receive from our guests, should they be pros or cons, they are valuable information for us. We have revisited our breakfast standards to provide better consisntency in the future.
We would like to hope that the next time you choose to visit Budapest, you will allow us to show you the effort to put into making you feel more comfortable and mostly welcomed.

Yours faithfully,
Balázs Réti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#42 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#79 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#58 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#53 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erzsebet City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erzsebet City Center

Property: Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Address: Karolyi utca 11-15, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Budapest
#62 Business Hotel in Budapest
#68 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erzsebet City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel near Budapest’s fashion street Whether you plan to do some sightseeing, browse the shops or go out for a special meal, Hotel Erzsébet is a great starting point. This modern, atmospheric hotel – occupying a recently pedestrianised street in the city centre - is popular among both business travellers and tourists exploring Budapest. It’s situated in the middle of bustling District 5, which is the capital’s business, commercial and cultural heartland. Váci utca, Budapest’s most famous shopping street, is only a few steps away, and it’s not much further to the Danube Promenade and the legendary Great Market Hall. This neighbourhood is full of sights to see, shops, cafés and excellent restaurants. Numerous buses stop nearby, and the M3, M2 and M4 Metro lines are also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Erzsebet City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Erzsebet City Budapest
Erzsebet Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing