We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, english speaking staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Ranked #71 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, english speaking staff”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked two rooms. The rooms were large and clean. The location of the hotel is perfect - in the city centre. The internet is available only in the hotel lobby, but is fast enough. We even use an iron.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emi_sof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Director of Operations at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Emi_sof!
We would like to thank you very much for your kind review about the Hotel Erzsébet City Center. We are happy that you enjoyed the best location in Budapest and for the highly recommendation of our hotel. A big thank you for sharing your positive experience with other travellers!
Kindest regards

Balazs Réti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    978
    266
    48
    13
See reviews for
281
857
115
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Erzsebet for 3 nights. The best I would give this hotel is a 2 star. The carpets are DISGUSTING! The bathrooms smelled, the tv is so old that the remote barely works. Also, my towels were stained and smelly. I understand the location is good, but this is definitely not a 3 star hotel. If you plan not to spend that much time in your room, this is the hotel for you. It's was just way too dirty.... Specially the carpets!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atelilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Atelilo

First of all thank you for choosing our Hotel Erzsébet City Center and for sharing us what we need to improve in!
I am very sorry for your negative impression during your stay. Every feedback is really important for us. The carpet on some room is really worn and aged. As our financial possibilities allow we will invest and change the carpet and the television.
We would like to hope that the next time you choose to visit Budapest, you will allow us to show you the effort to put into making you feel more comfortable and mostly welcomed.

Yours faithfully,
Dora Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel had a perfect location in the center of Pest, just a few blocks from Danube. During our three-night stay we were well served by the staff and enjoyed our trip very much. The hotel had great price rates (25 euros per night per person) and the rooms were neat and air-conditioned. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henriika I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Manager at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Henriika I,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind review about the Erzsébet City Center. We are happy that you enjoyed the best location in Budapest and the highly recommendation of our hotel.
A big thank you for sharing your positive experience with other travellers!

Kindest regards,
Dora Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just returned having spent four nights at the Hotel Erzsebet. Being particularly budget conscious (cheap) the superb price of €45 per night was the initial attraction, but after staying there I now realize that it has one of the best locations for exploring Budapest. Central, safe, with easy access to metro, shops, the Danube and handy cafes the location couldn't be better. It is a bit worn, but the standards are a solid three star with helpful staff - the bellman was particularly pleasant (sorry I've forgotten his name). We didn't partake of the breakfasts as we just laid in stuff in the room fridge from the local store to save even more pennies. Overall, if you are cheap like me you'd be hard pressed to find better value for your money in such a wonderful location. Any return trips to Budapest and we will happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itravell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Itravell2 !

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen Hotel Erzsébet City Center for your recent stay. We are so pleased that you were satisfied with the kidness staff and room rates of the hotel. We do hope you had enough time to explore Budapest 's sights and you will visit our city and Erzsébet in the near future.

Best Regards,
Dora Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I love the place of this hotel. Near to metro supermarket near to the centwr of town everything are around of this hotel. It is clean and is the perfect choice for city trip. I recommend this hotel. If I go again budapest I will stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lida003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Lida003,

First of all thank you for choosing our Hotel Erzsébet City Center and for sharing your kind review. It is a pleasure for us to read that you found the room clean and you were satisfied with the hotel . We are looking forward to welcome you in the future again.

Best regards,
Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We only stayed for 3 nights and while it was a place to hang our hats and lay our weary heads, it is not a place to which I will return. Breakfast was plentiful, but only average in appeal and the rooms were decent, but tired looking and a bit out of date it seemed to me. I will say that the staff at the front desk was helpful and the hotel was nicely situated. We could easily walk to Vaci Utsa and even walked to the Indoor Market. We did find a nice little place to have breakfast near by and there were nice restaurants close.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 223Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear 223 Annie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment about Hotel Erzsébet. Every feedback is really important for us. Thank you for your opinion about the staff at the Reception, the plentiful breakfast and the hotel. We hope we will have opportunity in the future to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Dora Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbehjh
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel has a good location. The carpets are old and stained. The room smells like old sweat socks when the air conditioner runs. The lobby is the only place with free Internet. The breakfasts are good. They only supply one bar of soap for a three night stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbehjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mbehjh,

Thank you for your time to post about Erzsébet City Center on Tripadvisor website. Every feedback is really important for us. Thank you for sharing your experience .We hope apart from the mentioned issues you could enjoy your stay at our hotel and you will visit our beautiful city in the near future again.
Best Regards,
Dora Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#40 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#78 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#56 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#50 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erzsebet City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erzsebet City Center

Property: Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Address: Karolyi utca 11-15, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Budapest
#62 Business Hotel in Budapest
#68 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erzsebet City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel near Budapest’s fashion street Whether you plan to do some sightseeing, browse the shops or go out for a special meal, Hotel Erzsébet is a great starting point. This modern, atmospheric hotel – occupying a recently pedestrianised street in the city centre - is popular among both business travellers and tourists exploring Budapest. It’s situated in the middle of bustling District 5, which is the capital’s business, commercial and cultural heartland. Váci utca, Budapest’s most famous shopping street, is only a few steps away, and it’s not much further to the Danube Promenade and the legendary Great Market Hall. This neighbourhood is full of sights to see, shops, cafés and excellent restaurants. Numerous buses stop nearby, and the M3, M2 and M4 Metro lines are also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Erzsebet City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Erzsebet City Budapest
Erzsebet Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing