We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a place to hang our hats”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Ranked #70 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Vincennes, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It was a place to hang our hats”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We only stayed for 3 nights and while it was a place to hang our hats and lay our weary heads, it is not a place to which I will return. Breakfast was plentiful, but only average in appeal and the rooms were decent, but tired looking and a bit out of date it seemed to me. I will say that the staff at the front desk was helpful and the hotel was nicely situated. We could easily walk to Vaci Utsa and even walked to the Indoor Market. We did find a nice little place to have breakfast near by and there were nice restaurants close.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 223Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear 223 Annie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment about Hotel Erzsébet. Every feedback is really important for us. Thank you for your opinion about the staff at the Reception, the plentiful breakfast and the hotel. We hope we will have opportunity in the future to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Dora Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    1,039
    285
    51
    16
See reviews for
304
908
123
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mbehjh
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel has a good location. The carpets are old and stained. The room smells like old sweat socks when the air conditioner runs. The lobby is the only place with free Internet. The breakfasts are good. They only supply one bar of soap for a three night stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbehjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mbehjh,

Thank you for your time to post about Erzsébet City Center on Tripadvisor website. Every feedback is really important for us. Thank you for sharing your experience .We hope apart from the mentioned issues you could enjoy your stay at our hotel and you will visit our beautiful city in the near future again.
Best Regards,
Dora Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding two nights late May. there was some confusion on checkin and we got a room with 3 single beds instead of a double.
We were told to push the beds together to make a double ( i think this may be how the double rooms are anyways) the staff were a little unhelful and it was a little annoying as we had booked the room 3 months previously and they had taken payment for it before we got anywhere near going to Budapest.
The room itself was a good size, the beds were comfortable and had a fridge with mini bar. The carpet was not clean enough to walk on in bare feet, was really grubby with stain marks everywhere. It takes away from the room terribly. breakfast if not included is not worth paying for, even if for free I'd try someplace else :(

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max_washedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Manager at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear max washedup,

Thank you for your time to post about Erzsébet City Center on Tripadvisor website. Every feedback is really important for us, and am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We have revisited our standards to provide better consisntency in the future. We have also investigated and developed the staff behavior in every situation.
We would like to hope that the next time you choose to visit Budapest, you will allow us to show you the effort to put into making you feel more comfortable and mostly welcomed.

Yours faithfully,
Dora Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

just got back june 23, been in erzsebet 3 nights with my wife for vacation.
price is great , location is terrific right on young and heap Jewish quarter, several minuets from vaci utca (but im not recommend it at night just at day - too touristic), and even the street of the hotel itself has many cool bars and restaurants in heap neighborhood.
But there's no words good enough about amazing staff there. Every one of them was extremely patients end really helpful.
The one thing is the hotel kind of lack in Maintenance like stains on the walls and carpets. But overall it was clean and comfortable for us – good air-condition.
So, im defiantly recommend erzsebet hotel.
Have fun
Guy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guy i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guy I,

First of all thank you for choosing our hotel Erzsébet City Center. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and liked the location. We hope you had enough time to explore Budapest’s sights and you will visit our city and the hotel in the future again.

Best regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just average hotel. Some of rooms have old gold with much black dirt due to hotel not having carpet shampooing equipment. The hotel did change me to a room that had a newer carpet.I bought the breakfast my first day there and was disappointed that many items had run out, but later in the week with fewer guests it appeared that problem went away. Reception is very good with service.

Room Tip: Ask for a good carpet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Phil43,

Thank you for sharing your review as every feedback is really important for us. We are really sorry for your first impression with your room but we hope that your second room could meet with your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience with the breakfast on the first day as we are continually improving the services and facilities provided in the hotel. We hope apart from the mentioned issues you could enjoy your stay at our hotel and you will visit our beautiful city in the future again.

Best regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is situated in a lively part of Budapest with plenty of bars and restaurants close at hand. The helpful reception staff all speak excellent English which was very useful as I speak only a few words of Hungarian. My single room was clean and comfortable with a good-sized bed. The small bathroom had no tub but only a shower cabinet (which didn't bother me too much). The mini bar was a bit pricey but other than that I have no complaints. I would definitely return and would recommend it to others. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedalus54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Dedalus54,

First of all thank you for choosing our Hotel Erzsébet City Center and for sharing your kind review. Thank you also for your kind opinion about the reception staff. It is a pleasure for us to read that you found the room clean and comfortable. We are looking forward to welcome you in the future again.

Best regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, all fine. The room was clean and the service acceptable. Unfortunately the rooms are small and a little bit dated. A large old tube television occupied about half of one side of the room. Sadly there is no free wifi in the rooms and instead it is free in the foyer. As a consequence lots of people gather there with their computers... Some new furniture, new television, free wifi and other things would give the small rooms a bit more space and have made our stay very good. Otherwise our stay was fine and the location, close to several metros, not far from the heart of Pest is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear AdventureExplorer,

Thank you for sharing your experience as every feedbacks are really important for us. We are glad that you were satisfied with the cleanliness, the location and the services. We are sorry that you found the room not really comfortable because of the size and the furniture. We are continually improving the services and facilities provided in the hotel including the free wifi also and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you in the future again.

Best regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#42 of 334 in Budapest
698 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#53 of 334 in Budapest
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#65 of 334 in Budapest
1,490 reviews
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#76 of 334 in Budapest
842 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#50 of 334 in Budapest
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erzsebet City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erzsebet City Center

Property: Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Address: Karolyi utca 11-15, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#55 Family Hotel in Budapest
#62 Business Hotel in Budapest
#68 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erzsebet City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel near Budapest’s fashion street Whether you plan to do some sightseeing, browse the shops or go out for a special meal, Hotel Erzsébet is a great starting point. This modern, atmospheric hotel – occupying a recently pedestrianised street in the city centre - is popular among both business travellers and tourists exploring Budapest. It’s situated in the middle of bustling District 5, which is the capital’s business, commercial and cultural heartland. Váci utca, Budapest’s most famous shopping street, is only a few steps away, and it’s not much further to the Danube Promenade and the legendary Great Market Hall. This neighbourhood is full of sights to see, shops, cafés and excellent restaurants. Numerous buses stop nearby, and the M3, M2 and M4 Metro lines are also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Erzsebet City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Erzsebet City Budapest
Erzsebet Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing