We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Nearby Hotels
$175
$126
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$170
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
$251
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Castle Garden(Budapest)
$505
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$152
$136
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$225
$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$116
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$191
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$144
$115
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,566)
Filter reviews
2,566 results
Traveler rating
812
1,298
370
65
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
812
1,298
370
65
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationvaci streetnice hotelmetro stationrecommend this hotelquiet streetclean roomsthe air conditioningthe riverpleasant staywithin easy walking distancebuffet breakfastpublic transportbars and restaurantson footmini barcity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,221 - 1,226 of 2,566 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel has a great location close to Vaci Street, cafes, and the Erzsebet bridge. We found it easy to walk back from the castle area, across the chain bridge and down the wide footpath along the river to get back to the hotel. A long walk, about 45 minutes, but beautiful. Rooms were clean, with a decent amount of shelving. The wifi is free in the foyer area, there are lots of couches down there, so it's quite a pleasant experience.

However, as the review title says, the best thing about this hotel are the little extra things. There's a little souvenir shop in the foyer, and you can buy metro tickets there. That made it so much easier for us to travel by metro, not having to worry about getting tickets at the station. The front desk reception team was wonderful. They answered our many questions, organised tickets, and explained the process for a visit to the Szechenyi Baths, and did as much as they could to make it possible for me to receive a phone interview for a job back in Australia.

One last thing - we thought the room was very noisy the first night, but the nest morning we discovered our window had been open all night! So if you're finding it a bit noisy, just check that first.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank flapjack_the_puffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear flapjack_the_puffin,

Thank you for your stay at our Hotel Erzsébet City Center and for the nice review of your stay. We are happy that you could. We are happy that you could take advantage of the great location of the hotel and we hope you could visit many sights of the city. We are glad that you were satisfied with the staff and services. We hope that you will visit our city and of course our hotel in the future again.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Erzsebet hotel for New Year's Eve 2011 and it was a good experience overall.
Plus:
- great location, 5 minutes away from Vaci Utca
- very good breakfast
- overall clean

Minus:
- you have to pay for internet access!!!
- first we were given a room with stained carpet, stained sheets, that smelled like smoked. We insisted to change it and received a better one on an upper floor. Clean, new carpet, smelled nice
- the heater: it was middle of the winter, and on the upper floor (5th in our case) it was very hot at night. On the lower floors it was a bit cold (some friends stayed there). Once you learn how to set the heater it will be ok.
For the price of the staying and the location, the hotel is a nice choice, no luxury.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 998AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear 998AMS,

First of all let me personally thank you for staying at our hotel during the New Year’s Eve. We are happy that it was a good experience for you and you found the location great and enjoyed our rich buffet breakfast. The WIFI is free of charge in the common areas of the hotel you have to pay extra only in the rooms. We are happy that you were satisfied with your new room. If you do not know how to set the heater next time you can ask my colleagues at the reception and they will be happy to help you.
We hope that we will have opportunity again to welcome you at our hotel in the future.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Hotel Erzsebet City Center has a really good central position in Budapest. The breakfast is quite good and worth 10 €.
I would strongly recommend you a room in the upper floors.
The windows are not isolated so at night it is very, very noisy but maybe this is normal for a hotel in the city.
The reception staff is not really friendly but if you have a problem they will help you.
All in all a hotel which is O.K. for a cheap price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BremenHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear BremenHamster,

Thank you for your stay at our Hotel Erzsébet City Center. We are happy that you were satisfied with the location and the breakfast. Usually the guests do not find the rooms noisy as the rooms have soundproof windows. We are sorry that the staff was not really friendly with you as my colleagues always happy to help our guests in any case. We hope you could visit all sights of the city.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My friend and myself stayed in this hotel from 12th to 18th July. We booked the acccomodation room only since there were lots of places nearby to have breakfast. The breakfast at the hotel was 9 euros and we decided it was much more than we required. The room was very good value for money. Our room was at the back of the hotel and slightly on the small side but very clean. Towels were changed daily and sheets also if necessary. Staff were very friendly. We found the location of the hotel ideal being a similar distance - about a ten minutes walk to the bars and other venues we wished to frequent. It is also close to a metro station - 5 mins walk and since Pest is flat an ideal start to any day involving exploring the city and its vibrant shopping area and grand sights..
We got a return ticket from the airport to the hotel with the airport shuttle bus - 5500 Florints/ £15/18 euros. In Budapest the currency is the florint and prices are not quoted in euros as frequently as was the case a few years ago. Remember to order the airport shuttle on the evening before your departure. It took about 30 mins to get from the hotel to the airport.

Room Tip: I think it would be better to ask for a room at the front of the hotel. The street is pedestrianised and I would imagine would not be too noisy
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank briand2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Briand2010,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Erzsébet City Center. We are happy that you were satisfied with the acccommodation during your stay and you found the location ideal. We hope that you could visit almost each sights of the city.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The staff was nice, the room (on 7th) clean and comfortable, the location was great. We didn't take the breakfast at the hotel since there are so many places to eat in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soba1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Soba1979,

Thank you for your stay at our Hotel Erzsébet City Center. We are happy that you have a nice opinion about the staff, the room and the location of the hotel. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Budapest and you will visit our city again.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews