We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terible not 4 stars ...but dangerous” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gloria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gloria
Ranked #224 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Hotfeet
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“terible not 4 stars ...but dangerous”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

This hotel has the worst fire safety, that I have ever seen in an EU contry. I was a journalist and I have stayed in ove a thousand hotels worldwide.
Four Stars...no fire alarm.. one domestic smoke alarm...and a receptionist who says there is a fire alarm, but does not know where it . There are no fire escapes and the windows do not open. Any agency that books you this hotel is criminal.....TUI now do not use this hotel
The lift is a death trap and does not comply with any EU regs, I think it dates back to 1982... funny as the hotel claims to be built in the 1990's.
They must bribed somebody to get four stars back in the 1980's
I am sure that they don't change the sheets between clients, how can the lazy cleaner do all the hotel and 28 rooms all by herself ?

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank h0tfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    61
    57
    39
    32
See reviews for
22
111
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pai, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

Overall good value for money in its price category. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very simple (you get what you pay for), but it was clean and spacious. Location was not the best if you are looking to be in the vicinity of the sights. However, metro station is within walking distance and then it is only a few stops. There is free WiFi, however, it works better in some rooms and hardly in others. The breakfast is quite decent. It seems that the room rates move according to supply and demand. Some of the rooms are bigger/smaller than the others which could make a price difference of a few Euros. Ask for the smaller rooms if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonni_in_Pai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

Our first impression was "DODGY LOOKING!!!", but I have never being made to feel more welcome, ever. Extremely helpful staff.
The restaurant knocks out excellent hungarian/slovak food at a decent price. Reasonable choice at breakfast.
Our room was basic but clean. TV reception was naff.
Great value... two people...two nights.... for 63 euro.
A 5 minute walk to the Metro which got us to the city centre in 10-15 minutes
I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerryChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

I was not expecting a great hotel, but it is not at all a four star hotel, not even a 2 star hotel. the rooms and bathrooms are really old and dirty. the blinds were broken. there was dust and spiderwebs all over. It was safer not to take the lift as it was really old. There was a strong smell like smoke all over the room, and matress. Although the breakfast was ok, and people nice, it was not enough to get the description of a Hotel, maybe a pension or hostel...Was far away the city centre and I think the price is not suitable to the quality.

  • Liked — good breakfast
  • Disliked — dirt and smell
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pirinwily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
0.7 mi away
Rila Hotel
Rila Hotel
#258 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
4.4 mi away
Korona Panzio
Korona Panzio
#153 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Thomas
Hotel Thomas
#223 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Millennium
Hunguest Hotel Millennium
#171 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Chesscom
Hotel Chesscom
#98 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manzard Panzio
Hotel Manzard Panzio
#133 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gloria

Property: Hotel Gloria
Address: Blathy Otto utca 22, Budapest 1089, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gloria 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Gloria Budapest City Center * * * can be found halfway between the airport and the downtown area, next to the city's biggest green park, Nepliget. Our hotel is waiting for the guests with 26 doublerooms, 2 appartments, air-conditioned restaurant and conference room, drink bar. The high speed wi-fi connection is free of charge. The international bus terminal (Nepliget), the metro station (Nepliget or Nagyvarad ter), the FTC Stadium (Groupama Arena), Planetarium, Chinese Market, headquarter of Allianz and MAV are within walking distance. The neighbourhodd is safe and a typical Hungarian residential area. As of many costumers say: Value for money. This is what we are working for. To give quality service for mid scale price value and a real local smile from a helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Gloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing