We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Ranked #49 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2014

It was so clean and comfortable the bed was exceptional We stayed at a few places on our trip in Central Europe and Astoria was the most pleasant. We had a quite room on the side street. The receptionist offered a more expensive room with better view but iur decision was to keep our quiet one. We would not stay in a five star hotel, Astoria is simple but friendly and perfectly located.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Susy,

Thank you for choosing to stay here in Danubius Hotel Astoria.
I am delighted that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the rooms, the comfortable bed and the friendliness of the receptionist.
I look forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Kindest regards,
Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,678 - 1,684 of 3,100 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel is well located in the heart of Pest. We leave early in the morning for the training sessions and come back at noon for lunch. The matches start early in the afternoon. So we just walk to the venue and back to the hotel, very easy. The ladies are very busy here with cleaning of our rooms, they do an extremely hard work and we are very satisfied with them. The rooms could be more spacious for two men. We will return next year to win the trophy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Players,

It was an honor to host you again for the lawyer's World Cup.
Thank you for this very positive feedback, I will pass your compliments on to all on the housekeeping team.
We look forward to welcome you back to the Danubius Hotel Astoria next year.

Kindest regards,
Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Hotel is well situated for shopping, touring round the City and just a short walk away from the Danube. The staff and service is excellent and the decor and cleanliness is also excellent. The bedrooms and bathroom are very spacious. The breakfast is very good with a lot of choice of either hot or cold food. The Restaurant attached to the hotel is very good with excellent food and service. We could not fault this hotel at all and whilst we were there the hotel celebrated its 100th birthday. Everyone spoke English so there were no problems with the language. The staff on reception were very efficient and could not do enough to make our stay very pleasurable. I would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Pest.

Room Tip: The Hotel is on the corner of two major roads in the City so you will get traffic noise if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 405_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for staying in our hotel and thank you for your lovely feedback.
I have especially enjoyed reading that you have appreciated the efficiency and friendliness of our staff. That is one of our main priorities at Danubius Hotel Astoria. I will share these comments with my team and hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well situated hotel for major sights and transport. Elegant and classy public areas. Bedrooms were spacious and en suites a good size, some with bidets. Beds were very comfortable, no sore backs in the morning. Staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was a buffet with an excellent and varied choice and you could order your eggs cooked any way you chose.
Looked at the dinner menu on the first night and didn't fancy the choice but wanted to eat there as the restaurant was lovely with original features. Looked again a few nights later and the menu hadn't changed which was a pity.
Overall I would have no hesitation in booking here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morag T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Morag T,

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave this very positive review regarding your recent stay here in Danubius Hotel Astoria.
We are delighted that you had excellent breakfasts, comfortable beds, helpful staff and that you would return back to us after an enjoyable stay in Budapest. We strive to provide a wider choice of dinner dishes in our Cafe Astoria Restaurant.
Please do not hesitate to drop me a line for your next cultural and culinarytrip to Budapest.

Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great hotel with good rooms and spacious washrooms. The hotel is known to have a dark history as the headquarters for the gestapo but no trace of it can be found today. Centrally located to almost everywhere and the ruin pubs are just a hop and skip away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahvan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Shahvan_k,

Thank you for staying here in our hotel and thank you for your review.
I hope next time you will have a better experience with us and you will have a more enjoyable stay in Budapest.

Kind regards,
Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Next door to Astoria metro station the hotel has excellent comms to all parts of the city - free for 65+ EU residents. The hotel has a slightly old fashioned feel with well equipped, comfortable rooms with minibar and safe but no coffee making. The splendidly decorated Mirror restaurant offers good food and value. Budapest is a wonderful city with many interesting sights and lots to do including many excellent restuarants and two brilliant opera houses and one of the best concert halls and orchestra in the world. Including the cost of flights, hotel tickets work out less than in London for excellent perfomaces and better seats..

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ed_smith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Mr Ed_Smith2,

Thank you for choosing us to stay in Budapest and thank you for your positive feedback.
Budapest strives to be among the interesting cultural cities in Europe, so it is very important for us that you were satisfied with the opera and concert venues of the hungarian capital. There are the Astoria Bar in our hotel, a lot of pubs and bars with live music around Astoria and at the top we have our Budapest Music Center and Palace of Arts for classical music fans. The Liszt Ferenc Academy of Music has just been renovated and it is as beautiful as it was 139 years ago.
We look forward to welcoming you back to one of the festivals held in the city next year.

Kind regards,
Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I attended on a conference in Budapest and had the chance to stay one short night in this Art Nouveau building. The beautiful lobby and the restaurant put us back to the old era of hotels. Marble sculptures and original furniture. The room was not as nice as the hall. Clean and equipped with the most important amenities. The bed was hard, what I preferred, so I slept very comfortably. I lost my key and the lady checked our identity before opening our room. I think the security is important and I was satisfied with this in the Astoria. The receptionist offered the loyalty program upon check out, we might return next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear ToyB,

Thank you for your excellent review.
We are all delighted that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel and you liked our rooms and the interior of the building. We strive to provide a secure atmosphere here in the middle of busy Budapest. I know you had to wait for the room opening, thank you for your understanding. The loyalty program offers advantages for the members, you can also apply for membership online: danubiushotels.com.
Thank you once more and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back next year..

Kindest regards,
Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#42 of 336 in Budapest
4,472 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 336 in Budapest
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#15 of 336 in Budapest
2,512 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center

Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 19-21, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#43 Business Hotel in Budapest
#45 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $66 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fancy staying in a hotel with classic styling and a rich history right at the heart of Budapest? The legendary Hotel Astoria Budapest opened in 1914 as one of the city’s most elegant hotels, and – over a century later – it stays true to that original character. Guests have always been attracted by its sublime fin-de-siècle architecture and comfortable rooms. And its location: a 10-minute walk from prime attractions like the Hungarian National Museum, the Great Synagogue (the largest in Europe), the Danube promenade and the famous Váci Street. Furthermore, if you want to venture further, the metro station and tram line are just a few steps away. Looking for an event venue? The 4-star hotel – with its unique atmosphere – is the perfect choice for professional meetings, social gatherings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing