We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, quiet side street rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Ranked #48 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Kosice, Slovakia
1 review
“Good location, quiet side street rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Me and my friend stayed in this beautiful central hotel. We have got a smaller room with window to the side street. It was perfect for us. We have got a big help from the young trainee, Steve, from the reception.
Thank you, we will come back in the Summer.

Room Tip: Main street rooms are bigger but side street rooms are ok and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Karol K,.

Thank you very much for this lovely review on the most popular travelers site about our Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center.
I have passed on your positive feedback to Steve and he was thrilled that you have found his attitude to be really exceptional.
We look forward to your Summer visit. Do not hesitate to drop me a lane for the reservation details.

Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    1,059
    236
    50
    26
See reviews for
385
1,146
158
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed in the Astoria for 7 nights in Feb. Upon entering the hotel we were greeted warmly by the receptionist and were impressed with the overall hotel lobby. It has an old world charm about it.

Checking in was easy, and we went up to a superior double room via a quaint little lift, in the corner of reception. Once entering our room we were greeted with large room and a large bathroom with a balcony looking out onto the road below, which is nice to actually be able to use without having any restrictions like we often do in city hotels in the UK.

The thing is liked most about the room, was the fact it was not a generic hotel room, it had character, whilst this will not be to everybody liking, we like to wake up in a room and know where we are, rather than having to calculate if you are in London, Milan, Madrid, Munich etc.
The bed was very comfy, the bathroom was nicely sized and there was a safe and a mini bar in the room. We were also on the 5th floor so couldn’t hear any traffic from the road with the doors shut.

There was a good selection of breakfast available, pastries, cheeses, breads, cakes, bacon, egg and sausages. With other random selection of misc. food (liver pate, feta cheese, olives etc.). This gave us a good start to the day.

There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby which was good to connect our phones in the morning and night etc., the staff were very helpful and we would stay here again without a doubt.

The main selling point to me is how close it is to everywhere you want to go, we didn't use any public transport whilst in Budapest because we enjoyed getting out and about.

Room Tip: Book a superior Room, and ask for one on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankieborsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Frankieborsch,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this positive review about us on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you found the Astoria a perfect base to explore the city, you were satisfied with the staff and that you were impressed by the architecture of the lobby and the restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful capital.

Kind regards,
László Zsida
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Danubius Astoria is exceptional in terms of its strategic location, its history and architectural beauty. It simply is a Landmark of the breathtaking city of Budapest and yet accessible to all. Not to talk about its modern amenities and the professioanl and friendly services its offers ... starting from its reception.

Room Tip: quiet room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amha2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Amha2014,

Thank you very much for staying here in Danubius Hotel Astoria and thank you for your lovely review.
We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay in Budapest and you have found our capital as an exceptional one. Thank you for your compliments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the 100 years old Astoria.

Kindest regards,
Laszló Zsida
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We booked this hotel for a week's holiday, and both my wife and I are glad we did. The location makes it a little noisy in some of the rooms, but and excellent basis for exploring Buda as well as Pest. it is only a little walk to the Erzebet Bridge (Sp?), and the metro is outside the door. The rooms are big, and we got an excellent rate. The restaurant is fine, and gvfm.
The main thing to praise, however, is the staff. Every one of them was willing to go out of their way to help with advice and support as required. Highly recopmmended

Room Tip: try to get away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drewratter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Drewratter,

Greetings from the Danubius Hotel Astoria!
We are all glad that you had such a perfect stay in our beautiful city and that you wrote this lovely feedback about the hotel.
On behalf of the whole staff I thank you for your kind words.
We hope we can host you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Danubius Astoria for six nights on a New Year's trip with friends. The location is perfect - on top of a metro station with a tram stop right outside and a 7 minute walk to the Chain Bridge. Ask for a quiet room overlooking the little street at the back if city street noise bothers you. The room was relatively small but perfect - very comfortable. There was a breakfast buffet with a very wide selection. The staff were very friendly and helpful with tourist queries. Our friends who were on a different floor in the same hotel in a rather larger room felt that the place was so badly overheated that they couldn't sleep - we were able to turn the heating off completely which made our room comfortable. Glad we stayed there - we would go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Maria B.,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is the greatest reward for us to have such positive feedbacks from satisfied guests.
I am delighted that you had a nice stay with us and you had a perfect New Years Eve celebration in our beautiful Budapest. I am glad that the six days stay gave you the opportunity to visit the Parliament, the nearby St. Stephen's Basilica and the Great Synagoge, the Castle, the Thermal Baths and you could enjoy the Danube cruise, the Hop on Hop off tour and the culinary pleasures of the city center alongside the Christmas Market.
Thank you for mentioning the good location of your room, I hope your friends were also satisfied with their main street view room.
I look forward to your summer visit! Please do not hesitate to drop me a line with your personal requests.

Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
266 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Astoria was renovated but kept it`s old charm. The hotel is in the heart of the city, the subway station is in front of the hotel door. Friendly staff, they can arrange what you wish - we booked the synagogue tour there. Free wifi in the lobby. Clean bath and room. We did not have breakfast there- we went to Jègbüfè instead. We were there for a whole week and would go again.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the fifth floor have little (tiny) balconies. It is fun to watch the traffic from ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idegenvezetoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Public Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Idegenvezetoe,

We are all pleased at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center that you took your time to leave this lovely feedback on Tripadvisor. Your very kind comments have been forwarded to the staff – it is always the greatest reward for us when we receive positive review from satisfied guests, mostly from the ones who work in tourism.
Thank you for mentioning the friendly staff, we strive to provide a guest minded service at all part of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful Budapest in the near future.

Kindest regards,

The team of Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

My friends and I stayed there for almost a week, and everything was excellent - The staff were nice and helpful, the rooms were big and comfortable and the breakfast was magnificent, but the real perk is the location. It's located exactly on a subway station, so you can get directly from the hotel to anywhere in town.

The only problem I can think of was that our room faced the street and was quite noisy, even at night, but since we were so tired all the time from walking all day long, this wasn't a problem for us at all. If you're a very light sleeper, you might want to consider bringing ear plugs, though, just in case.

Overall it was a very positive experience, and I'll defiantly consider this hotel for my future trips to Budapest.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lior A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Lior A.,

Greetings from the Astoria!
Thank you for your super review following your recent visit to our busy Budapest. We are really delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay so much that you would return to our hotel. With your lovely feedback you have made everyone's day.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Danubius Hotel Astoria in the near future.

Kindest regards
Laszlo Zsida
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,158 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#96 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center

Property: Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 19-21, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Budapest
#36 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#43 Business Hotel in Budapest
#45 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fancy staying in a hotel with classic styling and a rich history right at the heart of Budapest? The legendary Hotel Astoria Budapest opened in 1914 as one of the city’s most elegant hotels, and – over a century later – it stays true to that original character. Guests have always been attracted by its sublime fin-de-siècle architecture and comfortable rooms. And its location: a 10-minute walk from prime attractions like the Hungarian National Museum, the Great Synagogue (the largest in Europe), the Danube promenade and the famous Váci Street. Furthermore, if you want to venture further, the metro station and tram line are just a few steps away. Looking for an event venue? The 4-star hotel – with its unique atmosphere – is the perfect choice for professional meetings, social gatherings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing