We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, fabulous breakfast buffet, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Ranked #49 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Astoria is an old school hotel and was a lovely base for our Budapest visit. It is centrally located and an easy walk to restaurants, outdoor markets, the Central Market building and more. The subway is right at the Astoria, and local buses are easy to navigate. Hotel staff bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable--very friendly, pleasant, and generous with information about local sites and directions. Internet in our room was not always reliable, but the hotel offers free wireless in the lobby downstairs, which was a far more interesting and enjoyable online experience. The breakfast buffet was exceptional--egg dishes, sautéed vegetables, fruit, meat, pastries and a full dessert table. Staff were so wonderful and attentive they deserve an extra mention!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyKorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear HollyKorda,
Thank you very much for your super feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in Danubius Hotel Astoria. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
This review tells everything what we work for and I hope it gives strength for the staff to keep the high standards.
I am specially glad to read that you were satisfied with the choice and quality of our breakfast.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Budapest and you choose us again.
Kind regards,

Dora Homola
Sales Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,752 - 1,758 of 3,095 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

I strongly recommend this hotel, which is situated at a very convennient spot in Budapest's city center, close to Vaci utca and to the synagogue. The metro and buses pass right in front of the hotel too.
The room was large and quiet, the air conditioning worked efficiently ( which was important in the warm days we had this month in Budapest ), the buffet breakfast from 7 to 10 had a nice veriety of different kinds of food.
In edition, the staff was plesant and helpfull and recommended me where to go and what to do.
The prices of this hotel are also very reasonable for a 4 star hotel, and the feeling inside it is even like a 5 star hotel!!!

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room. Mine was at one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OriGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear OriGal,

Thank you very much for your positive review.
I am delighted that you recommend our Danubius Hotel Astoria for your friends and for the users of Tripadvisor.com.
It is always a pleasure to read such nice comments on the staff’s friendliness and the quality of the breakfast.
I do hope that you and your friends visit us again and have a wonderful stay in our capital.

Kindest regards,

Dora Homola
Sales Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this beautiful hotel on a city break and we had a brilliant experience.


This hotel is perfect stay and is right in the middle of this vibrant city. The hotel is literally minutes walk from the Danube and the centre of where all the restaurants, shops and markets can be found there is also a tube station 3 minutes walk from the hotel which gives you quick access to places of interest across the city especially in the Buda region of the city on the other side of the river. The hotel is really in a perfect location I can not stress this enough.

We was extremely satisfied with all aspects of this Hotel. Your room in cleaned daily to a high standard and towels and the mini bar is replenished on a daily basis as well. There is a safe in your hotel room operating through swiping your credit/debit card which is very secure and the hotel also has a restaurant which we did not visit.

The staff was extremely accommodating and was very happy to help booked our taxi's when needed and helped with directions. The hotel will also store your luggage after you have checked out which is very useful when your flight are later on in the day.

Brilliant stay at this hotel would recommend to anyone the service you get is second to none and the location is perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheNewfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear ThePoshNoshers,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your detailed and kind feedback on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in the Danubius Hotel Astoria. We were glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you were satisfied with all aspects of this Hotel. It brings me great pleasure that you would recommend our hotel for other travelers and I do hope that we will see you again in Budapest.
Best regards,

Dora Homola
Sales Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at the Astoria after the Danubius hotel I had booked did not have a room for me. After a big day travelling I was not well pleased but it turned out to be a blessing because the Astoria is a classic old style hotel brilliantly located in the center of Budapest. The staff were very understanding of my frustrations & made my stay a very pleasant one. The only complaint I had was they were fully booked & I could not stay longer. Although the hotel is old world the amenities & rooms were very nice & inviting. A very nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen and Sheri... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear karen t,

Thank you for choosing our Danubius Hotel Astoria and for the kind review about your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you at our Danubius Hotel Astoria in the future again.

Best Regards,

László Zsida
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel, reception staff and housekeeping were lovely, all spoke English to an extent. Exceptionally clean, breakfast was lovely. A very large choice of foods. Only drawback was the hotel bar closes at 11pm every night :( but there are lots of lovely little bars across the rd (which are lots cheaper too) and the restaurant and bar staff were not as nice, bit sour really. City is wonderful though, very romantic

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Disimo,
Thank you for choosing our lovely Danubius Hotel Astoria and thank you for your kind feedback on Tripadvisor website. Your positive comments about the service are most encouraging and important for the whole staff. We use feedbacks like yours to motivate the team to perform friendly and quality service. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,

Dora Homola
Sales Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, the hotel is lovely old building and right in the centre of things, within easy walking distance of all the shops. Even in the blistering heat which we enjoyed. The room was good , on the 2nd floor and was a good size. The breakfast was wonderful, a great selection of everything, This was included in our trip. We had a cocktail each night in the restaurant, even though we had not eaten there. There is a lovely place to sit on an inside balcony, and we were treated to a trio one night playing lovely music. It's a great place too stay and all the staff were friendly and very helpful. There is only 1 downside, that is I wish there had been tea making facilities in the room.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room if you can afford the extra, the decor is a little bit better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBHWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear KBHWrexham,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you liked to location of our hotel. Danubius Hotel Astoria is situated in the very heart of the city. After all we are pleased that you had a good experience and a pleasant stay with us and liked buffet breakfast. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,

Dora Homola
Sales Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was staying at the hotel for 8 nights aug 2-aug-10th 2013.
it has been a great stay, great location right in the center of everything metro, busses, nearby.
beacuse of the heat we took the metro a lot otherwise i would just walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dana2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear dana2212
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your detailed feedback on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in the Danubius Hotel Astoria. We were glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to host you again in the Astoria.
Best regards,

Dora Homola
Sales Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#42 of 336 in Budapest
4,470 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 336 in Budapest
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#15 of 336 in Budapest
2,511 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center

Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 19-21, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#43 Business Hotel in Budapest
#45 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $66 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fancy staying in a hotel with classic styling and a rich history right at the heart of Budapest? The legendary Hotel Astoria Budapest opened in 1914 as one of the city’s most elegant hotels, and – over a century later – it stays true to that original character. Guests have always been attracted by its sublime fin-de-siècle architecture and comfortable rooms. And its location: a 10-minute walk from prime attractions like the Hungarian National Museum, the Great Synagogue (the largest in Europe), the Danube promenade and the famous Váci Street. Furthermore, if you want to venture further, the metro station and tram line are just a few steps away. Looking for an event venue? The 4-star hotel – with its unique atmosphere – is the perfect choice for professional meetings, social gatherings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing