We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Ranked #48 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Mass.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place in the heart of the city”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location in the heart of the Pest side of the city. It is an old, traditional hotel that is well maintained. Service was friendly, rooms were spacious and clean, and there is a good restaurant for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MassTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear MassTravelor,

First of all thank you for choosing our hotel. It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay and you liked our traditional Astoria hotel. We are glad that you were satisfied with the service, your room and our restaurant also. We hope you could take advantage of the location and you had enough time to explore our beautiful city.

Best regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,187
    1,207
    283
    57
    27
See reviews for
445
1,332
177
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights in March. My room was a lovely size, with a large bathroom and a balcony overlooking the street. I had twin beds to choose from, both of which were really comfortable. The pillows were tiny but I slept really well on them. The sound from the television was louder in the bathroom than in the bedroom, which was an experience (listening to BBC World News in the bath; what a luxury).
The hotel is very well located a short walk from the Danube and the main shopping street.
The decor in the hotel is beautiful, with cosy little nooks and crannies and comfy sofas everywhere. The service I received at the front desk was excellent. Breakfast was very nice each morning, with a great selection of food.
I only have two complaints about the hotel. Firstly, there was free wi fi downstairs but in the room you had to pay, which seemed both silly and mean. Secondly, our package included two evening meals and they were both really substandard. This was particularly disappointing as we had some exceptional meals in local restaurants and would have rather eaten out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a view of the street, otherwise you may get one with a view of a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Director of Operations at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear dlchis,

Thank you very much for choosing Danubius Hotel Astoria. I am glad to hear that your room and the hotel was to your liking and that you enjoyed your breakfast as well. I am especially delighted to hear that you were satisfied with my fellow colleagues working at the front desk.

I am very sorry that you have found the evening meals substandard. Your complaint was forwarded to the F&B staff in hope of improving our services. The WIFI is free at all public areas.
The front staff is at your disposal to print boarding pass and give all kind of tourist information.

Kind regards,

Laszlo Zsida

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Old style boutique hotel within walking distance to the Danube; adjacent to the Astoria Metro. Bar was ok for a hotel bar. Did not have dinner at the hotel restaurant, but some of the folks travelling with us did and said it was very good. There were many local options for dining within walking distance. Very accomadating staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Director of Operations at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear BillOG,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your stay. I am delighted that you liked the location of our hotel. Fortunately Danubius Hotel Astoria is situated in the very heart of the city, several restaurants, bars, shops, banks and sights like Váci Street are within an easy reach.

I kindly suggest you try our Mirror Restaurant in case you decide to stay in our establishment again, it is indeed very good.

Kind regards,

Laszlo Zsida

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent 4 nights in the Astoria hotel and were very pleased . We got an excellent rate via our Tour Operator Sunjets. It is an excellent located retro hotel. We booked a quiet de luxe room on a high floor, and got room 514 on the 5th floor at the end of the corridor.
Nice, warm and refurbished room, a minimum of traffic noise.

Very friendly and helpful staff at the reception desk. We took the dinners at the Mirror restaurant of the hotel , good quality for reasonable prices in a typical retro atmosphere.
A very good hotel for a city trip in Budapest.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet , de luxe room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Director of Operations at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Ritje,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write about our hotel. Your positive review is very encouraging, I was delighted to read that you liked our Mirror restaurant and found the reception staff friendly and helpful.

It is a great joy that you would recommend our hotel for other travelers and I am hoping that we will see you again in case you need accommodation in Budapest.

Warmest regards,

Laszlo Zsida

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at the hotel, we chose this hotel rather than a modern one a few doors up as it was more in with the mood of the city. The hotel has been renovated, the rooms are OK, warm and clean with new bathroom, rather standard but we got a very good deal so from that perspective it was good value for money, breakfast included. Also, the staff were pleasant and helpful and the wifi in the lobby works well, although you have to pay for wifi in the rooms. The hotel has a metro station just outside and, weather permitting, you can walk to most of the sites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciaprimavera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Director of Operations at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Patriciaprimavera,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review on Tripadvisor. I am most pleased that you were satisfied with our services. I am especially delighted that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and professionalism of my colleagues.

Our aim is to provide a friendly and welcoming service in this historical building. As you may know the hotel is 99 years old and we are working to keep its historical atmosphere.

Kind regards,

Laszlo Zsida

Director of Operations
Danubius Hotel Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this hotel in February. Very friendly staff greeted us on arrival and found all staff very friendly throughout our stay. We paid extra for a deluxe room which was very spacious and clean. Worth the extra money for our little boy to toddle around. The breakfast room is lovely - maybe could have done with some gentle music playing as it was very quiet during our stay. The hotel is in a great location as it is opposite the stop for the sightseeing buses and there is the astoria metro just around the corner. All in all we had no complaints at all throughout our stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: pay extra for deluxe room if you want more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovewarthogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Director of Operations at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Ilovewarthogs,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the users of Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and felt comfortable in our deluxe room. I am especially delighted to receive that you were satisfied with the attitude and work of my colleagues.

Me and my fellow colleagues are looking forward to seeing you in case you decide to visit Budapest again.

Yours faithfully,

Laszlo Zsida

Director of Operations
DH Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were guests at the hotel for three nights' on a weekend-break deal with British Airways. Our first impressions were that main reception was absolutely beautiful - a restored art-deco delight! It was a very cold weekend and it was snowing hard outside for a lot of our stay and the hotel kept us very safe, warm and was dry throughout. The hotel is situated very centrally which can make it quite a noisy area at night - but we were able to reach much of what we wanted to see by foot and if you closed the double-glazed windows the sound was considerably reduced. It was, we felt a pity that there was no lounge area in which to relax - only a lobby with some period furniture and a bar/restaurant - it would have been nice to have been able to sit in surroundings that felt homely as opposed to simply warm. The staff were calm, efficient, courteous and welcoming - and they gave us good advice - especially when it came to using the city taxis - you can get seriously ripped-off so be careful...!

We were in room 350 on the 3rd floor; - it is clearly a section of the hotel that needs considerable renovation; the carpets in the hallway and corridor outside were torn and worn and the the lighting in the corridor itself was totally out - the only light to guide us to our room after dark was the emergency lighting system and it wasn't very comfortable being in the room at the end of the hall - in a dark, dimly lit corridor. In fact the entire area from rooms 340-350 had a very unwelcoming feel indeed - almost creepy. Inside however, our room was bright and clean. The bathroom was very clean too - I'll forgive a lot for a clean bathroom and ours was pristine! The whole room was very warm too - particularly as the radiators were the massive, old-fashioned variety that really kick out the heat - but here the creature comforts ended.

The beds were hard and uncomfortable and the decor tired. Also it was quite annoying to find that there was only the one singular news channel in English - it was cold outside and we were forced to retire early to BBC World..!! There were no tea and coffee making facilities in our room at all which was surprising and disappointing. We'd asked for a double-bed and instead what we got was two single beds pushed together under a double headboard (I fell through the gap in the middle twice during sequential nights so I remember it well). The pillows were flat and old and there were no face-wash flannels in the bathroom! The paintwork was scruffy and the lampshades were torn with burn-marks on them. It was impossible to dim a light, there were no night-light facilities and there were no energy efficient bulbs anywhere in our room anyway. The curtains didn't even fit the length of the window and we had to draw-down the external metal security blinds fitted outside the room to keep the light out in the morning.

So, it's cold outside, the TV only get the news - and additionally to add insult to injury the hotel's Wi-Fi system is arcane. We couldn't even access it in our room without an additional and considerably steep charge which we felt unwilling to pay..!! There is Wi-Fi albeit a very slow, fiddly to access, tetchy, protocol reliant and unreliable connection and which is only available for free in the lobby and the restaurant. Not really convenient for two people, snowed in, without language suitable TV or entertainment, wanting to listen to music or watch a movie at night or just write a few emails from bed!

Funnily enough you can get access to Mc Donald's (next door) completely free Wi-Fi system from exactly the same location in the hotels' lobby - and theirs is both free AND fast, easy to access and certainly isn't the slow to load, lumbering, drop-out happy creature that was the hotel's own system. We were very disappointed in this - to discover that the Wi-Fi in the rooms was NOT fully complimentary and modern - as in a hotel of this class (4*) it usually is and we expect it. We expect to be charged for it in a 2/3* or a guesthouse but not in a 4/5*+. And we expect it to work efficiently.

The Breakfast;- is very basic when we considered other hotels of this class we've stayed at. We only had the fruit, yoghurt, toast or pastries; the scrambled egg, sausages and other hot food looked far too unappetising to touch. Hot water for tea came from an urn - which wasn't all that hot and coffee came from a machine. Also the time window this hotel provides for breakfast isn't all that welcoming for a tourist - 7am-10am. We've been to a lot of hotels where breakfast doesn't end until 11 or 11:30. This type of window allows people to go out at night and enjoy themselves without worrying about missing their meal at the start of the day. 7-10am might suit the business-person but its not well considered for a couple of tourists on a weekend city-break we feel.

Overall, considering that this is a BA recommended hotel it isn't sparkling in any way which made us a bit sad considering the amazing potential for the place. In fact the hotel felt more than a bit tatty, which is a pity because the initial greeting and impression is luxurious and the staff try hard. Sadly unless the management really upgrade the place then if we were to return to Budapest then we would most probably try for a different hotel that put a bit more thought into the needs of modern travellers.

Room Tip: Don't go in 340-350!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Director of Operations at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Jamie T,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write about Astoria.
I am really very pleased that you gave your personal, precise and reliable comment on us. I am really sorry that I could not meet you in person during your stay. My colleagues reported all of your present comments and we strive to improve in all aspects you have found inappropriate.
I would just like to pick up some of your positive comments:
"main reception was absolutely beautiful - a restored art-nouveau delight", "the hotel kept us very safe, warm and was dry throughout. The hotel is situated very centrally ... we were able to reach much of what we wanted to see by foot ...the double-glazed windows reduces the sound."
"The staff were calm, efficient, courteous and welcoming - and they gave us good advice."
"our room was bright and clean. The bathroom was very clean too"
"amazing potential for the place"
Astoria provides the classical hotel services and our aim is to fulfill the requirements of the modern traveler. We have started a new menu project what matches more to a lounge style place, it is under introduction in April. The WIFI is free only in the public areas, we give free in room WIFI to our corporate partners only. We are flexible to serve breakfast for special reasons at various time. E.G. for groups we can have breakfast at 6am.
I would be delighted if you dropped me a line on laszlo.zsida@danubiushotels.com. You should experience our beautiful capital with much better weather conditions.

Yours,

Laszlo Zsida
Director of Operations
Danubius Hotel Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,313 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#12 of 334 in Budapest
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#98 of 334 in Budapest
6,089 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,776 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#37 of 334 in Budapest
3,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center

Property: Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 19-21, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Budapest
#36 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#43 Business Hotel in Budapest
#45 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fancy staying in a hotel with classic styling and a rich history right at the heart of Budapest? The legendary Hotel Astoria Budapest opened in 1914 as one of the city’s most elegant hotels, and – over a century later – it stays true to that original character. Guests have always been attracted by its sublime fin-de-siècle architecture and comfortable rooms. And its location: a 10-minute walk from prime attractions like the Hungarian National Museum, the Great Synagogue (the largest in Europe), the Danube promenade and the famous Váci Street. Furthermore, if you want to venture further, the metro station and tram line are just a few steps away. Looking for an event venue? The 4-star hotel – with its unique atmosphere – is the perfect choice for professional meetings, social gatherings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing