We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great. Standard room = sub-standard service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Ranked #48 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not great. Standard room = sub-standard service”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here and was expecting it to a top class experience given its history and some of the pictures available on line. Unfortunately history is where this hotel belongs. It has the bones of a fine establishment but unfortunately it just does not follow through. My partner and I had booked a standard DOUBLE room. When we arrived we found two single beds pushed together. This in itself is not unusual, however they were dressed individually. We were staying five nights and I explained to the manager that we had booked a double room not a twin room and at the very least wanted a set of double bed sheets. The man curtly responded that we were in a standard room and that this is what I should expect. Eventually he arranged for one double sheet to be delivered to the room. The double sheet stayed for two nights before it was replaced by two single sheets when the room service cleaned the room. I experienced the same trouble at reception with the manager eventually agreeing to sent up more sheets (when they arrived it was more single sheets...I gave up after that).
The room was very stuffy and the aircon did not seem to work properly. The bathroom was also quiet ugly with old cracked tiles on the floor and walls.

Of the three staff members we met in the restaurant two were extremely rude (one actually shouted at us "Order" -translation 'have you ordered already?' and when we asked him to repeat what he said he got increasingly angry until finally when we understood him and explained that we had ordered he threw his arms in the air and walked away. It is no wonder that the restaurant was empty every night.

Overall this hotel is living on past glories. It is well located and has a nice lobby but if you are unlucky enough to be in a standard room in the old part of the hotel beware.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Mr Michael C.,


Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in Danubius Hotel Astoria and thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with us.
Thank you for mentioning the perfect location and the beautiful interior of the hotel. Astoria was built in 1914 in Art Nouveau style and was renovated in 2006. It is under the World Heritage protection. Although there are few room categories, between the rooms there are a lot of difference. I apologize that your room did not meet your expectations. All of our double-bedded rooms were fully booked during your stay and the receptionist could not move you to a higher category deluxe room with a double bed.
I have passed your comments to the restaurant manager. In the Mirror Restaurant and Café we strive to offer a high standard of service. The waiters improve their language knowledge constantly, I do apologize for the misunderstandings. I do hope you mail me directly and I can use your personal comments to improve the overall service level in our property. I also hope you give us the opportunity to show our hospitality in the near future.


Laszlo Zsida
Manager, Front Office
laszlo.zsida@danubiushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,155
    1,180
    271
    56
    27
See reviews for
424
1,300
168
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ongar Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

had a very good experience with this hotel just before Christmas,staff so helpful.

anybody going to Budapest look no further than this hotel,clean ,friendly and in one of the best locations very near to the River Danube,and most of shops and diners,the hotel is even on the City Bus tour stop,and the bus stop is just acrossed the road,via an underpass.when visiting Buda` dont forget to carry your passport as you can use this on public transport FREE of charge by just showing it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Richard C,

Thank you for your stay at our hotel and for sharing your kind review. We are glad that you were really satisfied as our aim is always to please our guests’ needs and to ensure them a pleasant stay at our Hotel. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope that we can welcome you in the future again.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a city break to Budapest.

The room was clean (if a bit tired looking). Free coffee and croissant in the morning does exactly what it says on the tin and a great added extra. I might have to agree with some of the negative comments about the service - although we did not receive bad service at any time, staff are quite brusque and less overtly welcoming than some hotels I have stayed in.

We didn't eat there, but the menu for the Mirror restaurant looked delicious and the room where we ate breakfast was beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_traveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear L_traveller101,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your stay as every feedback is very important for us. We are so sorry to hear that you were not really satisfied with our staff as we wish to provide our best quality service for every guest. We are happy that you liked the free coffee and croissant in the morning. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you at our hotel in the future and you will taste our delicious meal at the Mirror Restaurant.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Having just spent two weeks at this hotel whilst looking after groups of visitors coming from the UK, and having done the same last year, I feel I know the place quite well.
A few years ago the Astoria was popular with communist party bosses, and they knew what they were doing. The hotel really does offer old-fashioned service, and the decor takes you back to 'belle-epoque' years. The Mirror restaurant is always popular with it's chandeliers and very decent food (if you are a guest and put your bill onto your room tab, you get 15% discount).
My guests commented on how helpful Laszlo (reception manager) and his staff were, and nothing seems too much trouble.
Being centrally located, the hotel does not have a garden, and lacks a fitness centre and pool, but for sheer 'handiness' it is great. Rooms go up to 6 floors, and are pleasant without being the height of luxury. It would be nice to see slightly more imaginative TV channels - BBC World and Eurosport were the only English language channels (I don't count Voice of America) and there are a lot of English-speaking guests.
Breakfast offers a huge selection, including eggs, bacon, sausage, and various things you don't recognise! If you really want to indulge, also in the breakfast spread are cream cakes. There are 4 or 5 excellent restaurants within less than 100m of the hotel. If you don't eat in the hotel, ask about the 'Bali' or the 'Favorit'.
Your money goes a long way in Budapest - incidentally a very decent half-litre of beer in the hotel is 880HUF, about £2.60.
Few hotels are perfect, and the Astoria is not, but for a base for exploring Budapest without the need for public transport, this would be an excellent choice

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms tend to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunderlandMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Mr Sunderland,


Thank you for taking your precious time to write about us. I was able to talk to you during your stay too and I fully agree with your comments.
Danubius Hotel Astoria was built in 1914 and kept the feeling of the "Old World" from the beginning of the XXth century. Our aim is to maintain the traditional elegance, and this for very competitive prices.
I am glad that your group had a great time in Budapest and thank you for forwarding their kind words towards the staff.
I hope we can welcome you back in 2013 and accomplish all your expectations.

Best Regards,

László Zsida
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Hotel astoria will be be celebrating its centenary in 2014,was named by its original owner after his favourite hotel ' Waldorf Astoria New york city'.But dont expect any amenities or service from this namesake hotel boardering anywhere near 4 star ( Hotel claims to be a 4 star hotel) except from the reception staff.But for anyone coming to experience this city's many beautiful landmarks,its an undisputed fact that you wont find a much better location than Astoria's and i'll definitely stay here again if i return to Budapest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MANOJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Manoj T,

Thank you for choosing our Danubius Hotel Astoria. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the reception staff as my colleagues are always friendly and helpful with our guests and they do their best to provide the best service for the hotel guests. We are glad that you liked the location and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Astoria is a lovely traditional hotel in a great location ideally situated for the sites, shops & markets. As a nice touch those who don't want to pay 15 Eu for the buffet breakfast they provide complementary coffee & croissants. We found the staff helpful & friendly especially on the front desk.

Room Tip: The room got quite warm which made it difficult to get settled at first. Rather than mess about with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear John R,

Thank you for choosing our Danubius Hotel Astoria and for sharing your nice review with us. We are happy that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel. We are glad for your opinion about the staff as my colleagueas are always happy to help the guests in any case.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The WORST hotel I have ever had the misfortune to have stayed in'!!!!! The only member of staff NOT to make us feel like a second class person was the receptionist on the Saturday evening when we checked in. The staff in the restaurant were miserable and the most unhelpful staff I have met. We were assigned to the hotel by our flight providers due to the airport having closed so maybe that's why. However we were still guests!! We were given single rooms as we were 2 friends traveling together but both rooms were as bad as each other, with the bathrooms smelling like public conveniences!! The carpet and chairs in the room were badly stained and everything just smelt awful!!!! Dinner was terrible and we put that down to the fact that we were late checking in, so we looked forward to breakfast. Selection....what selection there just wasn't one. The hot selection was just COLD!!! We then had lunch no better, at one stage the waiter even raised is eyes when other people from the flight asked for butter. EVERYTHING appeared to be just too much trouble. 4 star hotel, more like a 2 or at a push 3!! If we had booked into this hotel for the week we were there for we would DEFINATELY have checked out early!!

Room Tip: Don't bother, go to the Hilton westend hotel, this one was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitchcort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Mr Mitchcort,

Thank your for taking your time to write about us. I have reviewed your comments and also those of a positive nature. I can only apologize for your perception of the restaurant staff and your comments have been passed to the restaurant manager. I have taking the time this week to speak with other hotel guests about their week end stay. Most of them were overall satisfied with the restaurant services. Obviously you were not, I do apologize for for your inconveniences.

I am very disappointed to read your bad comments on the hotel and also, that you had troubles, because our number one airport had been closed for that day, unexpectedly. On that very evening our reception staff has worked hard to change flight bookings and hotel reservations for the unhappy costumers of Budapest Airport.

Our aim is to give the highest level of service at every part of the hotel and keep the old traditions live in our beautiful house.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Astoria and hope you give us the opportunity to show our hospitality.

Laszlo Zsida

Front Office Manager

Danubius Hotel Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,282 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#95 of 334 in Budapest
5,951 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,735 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#37 of 334 in Budapest
3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center

Property: Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 19-21, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Budapest
#36 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#43 Business Hotel in Budapest
#45 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fancy staying in a hotel with classic styling and a rich history right at the heart of Budapest? The legendary Hotel Astoria Budapest opened in 1914 as one of the city’s most elegant hotels, and – over a century later – it stays true to that original character. Guests have always been attracted by its sublime fin-de-siècle architecture and comfortable rooms. And its location: a 10-minute walk from prime attractions like the Hungarian National Museum, the Great Synagogue (the largest in Europe), the Danube promenade and the famous Váci Street. Furthermore, if you want to venture further, the metro station and tram line are just a few steps away. Looking for an event venue? The 4-star hotel – with its unique atmosphere – is the perfect choice for professional meetings, social gatherings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing