We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Ranked #48 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Smart, clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast each morning with range of choices and nice restaurant which was offering a discount on meals for those staying when we were there. Had excellent goulash on our first night despite arriving quite late.

Underground and tram stops right outside and within easy walking distance of the river and other attractions - we only used public transport on our last day.

Would recommend to others.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pipsprake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Pipsprake,

First of all thank you for choosing our Danubius Hotel Astoria and for the nice review about your stay. We are glad that you were satisfied with the staff and our services also. We hope that you could visit many attractions of Budapest.
We hope that in the future we will have another opportunity again to welcome you at our hotel.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    1,139
    263
    54
    27
See reviews for
412
1,257
163
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Not faded grandeur, better than that, but a grand building nonetheless. for our 4 night stay we opted for a deluxe room, which added space, an armchair, and put us at the back, worth doing as the hotel is on a busy intersection. The room's air con at worked well, but had to be on all night to keep us cool (31 deg daytime temps).
Staff were helpful, spoke excellent English which seems tobe the lingua franca if you cannot speak Hungarian. they made sure we knew costs of taxis, booked trips and restaurrants for us and only expected a modest tip (the culture here). We left with the impression of having been looked after whilst in their care.
The location is central, right by a metro station, but very walkable to the main shoping area (Vaci Utca) and key sights that are situated in Pest. Buda is a bus/metro/taxi ride away.
Breakfast was an Ok continental self service affair which allowed you to eat what and how much you wanted, always hot food available, and good pastries. drinks in the bar area were cheap, but we did not eat in the restaurant.
Would reccomend this for a good stay in Budapest.

Room Tip: Go for a room number (on #2 floor these were 212-219) away from the roads. They will show you the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireDruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear WiltshireDruid,

Thank you for choosing our Danubius Hotel Astoria during your holiday in Budapest. We are happy that you liked your deluxe room. It is a pleasure for us that you find our staff helpful with excellent English as my colleagues are always happy when they can help for our guests in any case. We hope that cause of the central location you could visit many sights of the city. We are glad that you were satisfied with the breakfast as we have delicious wide selection of hot and cold meals also. We hope that we will have other opportunities again to welcome you at our hotel in the future.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimbledon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed at the Astoria for 8 nights, 5 with a Nadfas group and 3 on our own, so we have gained an overall impression of the hotel. We would certainly recommend the hotel to those who like a period hotel in a very central location. Our room was on the first floor and overlooked the very busy Kossuth Lajos utca, but the effective double glazing shut out nearly all the noise. The room was spacious and had a good up-dated bathroom with the bonus of a bidet in addition to bath with shower. We did not find the air-conditioning noisy, only a very quiet hiss with the fan on slow speed and temperature at 20c. The only fault we found was that the carpet in the room was not vacuumed regularly: we noticed that two tiny pieces of paper which we had accidentally dropped were still there several days later. Maybe the hotel only vacuums a room when there is a changeover of guests, but we consider that the maid should have looked at the carpet. However, the bathroom was spotless.
We ate a three course dinner in the Mirror Room with two friends who live in Budapest and we considered the meal very good and the staff friendly. Also, when we needed a very light snack before an early start to the opera, the kitchen was able to produce some nice smoked salmon open sandwiches with a tiny salad which was exactly what we needed. At breakfast there was a very wide choice of food, though some of the hot food was strange to the English palate, especially at breakfast time, but typically Hungarian. Other visitors have commented on the unfriendliness of the staff at Reception. In practice we found them helpful and efficient, but there was hardly ever a smile. We think this is a hangover from communist times when life was tough and serious and people had little to smile about! Wi-fi is free in the lobby and this was very useful. There are plenty of sofas and armchairs in the lobby and on a small mezzanine floor overlooking it. The hotel has two entrances onto adjoining streets, both very close to the Astoria metro station which is on the red line. Travel on all public transport is free for those aged over 70. All in all we had a very pleasant stay here. Alan & Jenny

Room Tip: There are good rooms on the first floor. We are not sure if ours was a de-luxe room as it was booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latchford21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Latchford21,

First of all thank you for your stay at our hotel and for the nice review about it. We are glad that you would recommend our hotel for other visitors also. We are sorry about the issue with the cleaning of the room as our chambermaids vacuums every day not only those days when there are changeover guests in the rooms. It is glad for us that you found the bathroom spotless. It is a pleasure for us to hear your experience with the Mirror Room and that you were satisfied with the meals and the staff during your stay. We are happy that you found our staff at the Reception helpful and efficient as they are happy to help our guests all the time. We know that the Internet connection is very important recently that is why we provide free Wi-Fi connection in the public areas of the hotel. We hope that you could take advantage of the central location of our hotel and you could visit almost all sight of the city. It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope that we can welcome you at our hotel again in the future.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel was a lovely and historic spot to stay. The decor was charming, the breakfast in bed delightful. The rooms were clean and nice and quiet. They had shutters and curtains for a nice dark rooms. The location was great, we were able to walk everywhere!! It was about 7 minutes from the big street where there are tons of restaurants, it was 5 minutes from cool bars and right at a subway stop. I would totally recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Sara V,

First of all thank you for choosing our Danubius Hotel Astoria and for the nice review about your stay. It is a pleasure to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are glad about your opinion of the hotel and the charming decor and we are happy that you liked your room also. We hope that you could visit almost all sights of the city and we can welcome you at our hotel again.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantova
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We have taken a last minute offer on internet and have paid really nothing for a wonderful hotel which is very clean, nice and comfortable.
The location is super good as it is in front of the metro stop Astoria but you can also reach the town with a 5 minute walk.
Would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juno86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Globtrotter86,

First of all thank you for your visit our Danubius Hotel Astoria and for the nice review about our hotel also. It is pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and you were satisfied with it.
We are happy that you found the location super good and we hope that you could visit almost all sights of the city. We are glad that you would recommend our hotel to anyone.
We hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed for a few days leisure break in the Astoria late April. The hotel is ideally situated, a Metro entrance is very close and the hotel is only walking distance from the River etc. The staff were extremely helpfull and pleasant, the room was quiet, clean and well serviced.The only thing lacking was was a coffee/tea machine. Overall the hotel was very nice with a good evening restaurant and a coffee or light snack area. It has a small orchestra in the evenings. The breakfast room is large with a wide menu, cooked food has to be ordered but it is all done very well. Overall we found the Astoria very suitable for this type of visit and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We had a room the 4th floor overlooking the busy road outside and slept perfectly well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Clive T,

First of all thank you for choosing our Danubius Hotel Astoria and the time to write the review about your stay. It is pleasure for us to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel and the location of it during your stay. We are glad that you found our staff extremely helpful and pleasant and your opinion about our rooms. We are sorry that you lacked the coffee machine in the room however we have some only in our suites. We are happy that you enjoyed the delicious wide selection menu for breakfast and the evening restaurant also. We hope that you could visit almost all sights of the city and we can welcome you at our Danubius Hotel Astoria again in the future.

Best Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

went for short weekend break, hotel recommended by ebookers and was pleasantly suprised, in a nice part of town on the 'Pest' side, offered a room upgrade on arrival for €10 per night, which was worth as gave a view from the front of hotel rather than side alley....the breakfast was disappointing so if they offer you a deal to book brekkie i wouldnt bother to be honest.....the concierge at hotel was very nice and helpful .....Budapest is a lovely city with plenty of sight seeing opportunities , didnt bump into any stag or hen parties whilst there although plenty on the flight over.......and the Danube is definitely not blue!!!

Room Tip: go for the room upgrade if offered....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Michskin,

First of all thank you for your visit at our Danubius Hotel Astoria. As you reserved our standard room category we could not provide you any room with view as we do not have any standard rooms with city view. We hope that you were satisfied with your upgraded deluxe room. We are sorry about your opinion about our breakfast as we have rich buffet breakfast and usually our guests are satisfied with the wide choice of meals. We are glad that you liked our concierge they are happy to help our guests all the time. We hope you could visit most of the sights in the city and apart from your negative experience you could enjoy your stay in Budapest.

Kind Regards,

Dóra Homola
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,231 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#96 of 333 in Budapest
5,766 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#37 of 333 in Budapest
3,138 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center

Property: Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 19-21, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Budapest
#36 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#43 Business Hotel in Budapest
#45 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fancy staying in a hotel with classic styling and a rich history right at the heart of Budapest? The legendary Hotel Astoria Budapest opened in 1914 as one of the city’s most elegant hotels, and – over a century later – it stays true to that original character. Guests have always been attracted by its sublime fin-de-siècle architecture and comfortable rooms. And its location: a 10-minute walk from prime attractions like the Hungarian National Museum, the Great Synagogue (the largest in Europe), the Danube promenade and the famous Váci Street. Furthermore, if you want to venture further, the metro station and tram line are just a few steps away. Looking for an event venue? The 4-star hotel – with its unique atmosphere – is the perfect choice for professional meetings, social gatherings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing