We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good place for business conference”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of NH Budapest City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Budapest City
Ranked #73 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Banská Bystrica
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good place for business conference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed ther for 3 nights very close to christmas 2012. Location, rooms, conference rooms and food are awesome. Its not as expensive especially when you stay in the city centre. The only negative experience I had was that parking is not for free for the guests.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojmir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    633
    142
    37
    18
See reviews for
162
455
88
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Perfect for joggers, the Island of Margaret (Margitsziget) is close. It is in the neighbourhood of a very nice theater (Vigszinhaz).
Close to a good shopping center and Nyugati pu. (Train station).

The rooms are nice, the breakfast is really good. The staff is very helpfull. It was a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I know NH as a hotel chain which always offered nice quality accommodation, but this time i was disappointed ... i know that some things cant be influenced like the fact that the hotel didn't have double beds (big mattress) so we had to sleep on two twin beds which were constantly shifting apart...but when it comes to service, i think that such an international chain could keep up the standards...room cleaning was terrible...they didn't make the beds, nor did the clean the bathroom...we had to ask for toiletries (not extra!) as the cleaning lady always managed to bring a set for only one person...the staff at the reception was polite but couldn't help us with several requests ...at breakfast, every time we stood up from the table to get something extra to eat, the waitress took away our tea/coffee/food:) basically, all these are details, but we had a feeling that no one really cared whether the guests felt comfortable/happy with the service/hotel.
On the other hand, i have to say that air-conditioning was very pleasant - it was effective but very quite, we didn't even feel it in the room. The windows had good isolation so we didn't hear the noise from outside. Breakfast was rich, but not 16eur rich. Free wifi was good. Location was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFVMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were part of a tour group. The stay was Ok but we were not really impressed.
Breakfast was good.
Rooms were OK generally.
The public areas such as the bar are dingy and unimaginative.
We had problems with the rattly air conditioning, which they promised to do something about, but didn't. The rooms at the front are noisy, with the trams and other traffic going all night.
At first they tried to put us all in smoking rooms. This was really a bit naughty, presumably they can't fill up the smoking rooms normally so they shoved us in there in the hopes that not too many would complain.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidfromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
239 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel room was very comfortable, and very nice - but I guess I was expecting a whole lot more in standard, after having stayed at the NH in Bergamo, Italy. That was a lot better!

The view we had was really cool, because not only did it face my favorite street in the city (Szt. Istvan Krt.), but it also had a big balcony! That was great! It was really nice stepping out in the evening to enjoy the summer air, and watch some of the people going by (as it was a very quiet area).

The TV was pretty lame, I have to say. Not only for this day in age - but also because it's such a high quality hotel. The bathroom was quite small, and I think they could have been a bit more generous with the soap - as there was only one when we arrived.

The worst part, unfortunately was the breakfast. I say unfortunately - and surprisingly, honestly - because it was so HUGE! There was everything...but nothing, if that makes sense. I literally took two bites of everything because it was so disgusting. The only good thing they had were some small pastries and croissants. The coffee (when ordered - not the machine, yuk!) was pretty good...but the eggs were so runny, they looked like they'd been bathing in their own tears. The sausages were NOT good...what they had that was called "French toast", is an insult to the real thing, I love mushrooms - and these stank and were horrible, and the "potato balls" they had were hard and nasty.

I highly recommend if eating at their buffet breakfast, you bypass everything else and make a bee-line for the pastries. A side note - we checked into having dinner at the restaurant, and after handing us a menu, the guy there whom we'd asked if they had a certain traditional dish, responded, "No...and we don't serve dinner on the weekends."

The staff was very friendly, they spoke English very well and the lobby area was very nice. Recommended if you need to stay in that area and the neighborhood is very good, safe and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euroerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at 21-22 May 2013 with my friend. Room was clean and comfortable . Wifi is free and strong. Breakfast is various but breakfast area is not enough for guest in morning. Location is good have local bar in front of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuNuN_TiTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
126 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is located on a side street next to Szent Istvan krt, just behind the Comedy Theatre (Vigszinhaz). The rooms are quiet, yet you are located in one corner of the broader Budapest centre, very close to some local cafes and restaurants, but not really in the main touristic areas – an ideal location for business travel. I ended up in this hotel by accident as the other hotels I used in the past had crazy rates for the night of my stay.
Back to NH Budapest: I was impressed from the moment I entered the building by the nice entrance hall (it must have been an inner yard in the past, which was later roofed when turned into a hotel), very friendly, professional and forthcoming staff. The room was just pleasant, tea/coffee making facility, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was rather pricy but exceptionally good – great fried mushrooms!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank show112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#79 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#98 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#62 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Budapest City

Property: NH Budapest City
Address: Vigszinhaz utca 3., Budapest 1137, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#46 Business Hotel in Budapest
#52 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#59 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#81 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Budapest City 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally-located in the heart of the business district, NH Budapest City offers you a slice of modern luxury amid a backdrop of historic scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Budapest Hotel Budapest
Nh Hotel Budapest
Nh Hotels Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing