We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel in ok location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of NH Budapest City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Budapest City
Ranked #73 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel in ok location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Booked a last minute trip to Budapest and this hotel seemed reasonable value at £60 per night. We had one of the rooms which opened out on to the inside of the hotel.
As already mentioned, with the internal windows open it can be a little noisy. With them shut not a peep but then we were on the 6th floor. The room was a good size and clean with all the basics and decent speed free wi-fi.
My only little (and I mean little) moan is that there should be a mirror by the desk in the bedroom to be able to get ready sitting down.
The room had twin beds pushed together which I found nice and comfy and had two good nights sleep even though it was a little on the warm side. We did have the air con on all night.
The breakfast buffet was included. If it hadn't of been I would of had breakfast at one of the local cafes as it was adequate but nothing special.
The staff at the hotel were all pleasant and helpful and happy to help with our many sightseeing questions.
There are bars and restaurants in the vicinity and some quite good ones at that but the majority are in the area near to the Szechenyi Bridge. If you're going to enjoy the nightlife I would try to stay a little closer to this area as it was a bit of a trek after walking all day. If you're just sightseeing then this hotel is good value for money.
Public transport is frequent and cheap! So if you want to save a few pennies to get to the hotel from the airport it's no great drama.
If flying in to terminal 1 get the mainline train straight to Nyugati Palyaudvar.
If flying in to terminal 2 get the bus (there is only one from the airport so you can't miss it) to Kobanya-Kipset and then the metro up to Nyugati Palyaudvar.
Then walk straight along Szent Istvan for a few minutes to the hotel. We tried the backstreets on the way there and got a little lost so stick to the main road and you can't go wrong.
Each of the public transport journeys is approx £1. A taxi is approx £20.
All in all a good stay and no major issues with this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a high room, away from the lifts with an external view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    635
    143
    37
    18
See reviews for
165
457
88
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed just for one night last saturday. The room was big enough, with an older TV, bathroom was ok, with basic toiletries (shampoo, lotion, shower gel, but no earbuds, cosmetic pads etc.).

I have called a hotel before I booked to make sure we can stay with a dog, they confirmed. We checked-in and after five minutes they called us at the room phone and asked us to come back down to the reception because they forget to charge us 10 EUR/night for the dog. They did not mention the fee before.

Although the stay was great, the city is lovely. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and get room nr. 723 on the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEA111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
417 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Clean rooms, good price. Avoid if possible rooms facing internal hall (but with closed windows no noise in), location is quite close to subway and to Danube bridge...walking distance from parlament building. (Free) Wi fi working at good speed..good breakfast

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Host29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The NH Budapest is well located next to the Big Comedy Theatre on the Big Boulevard in Budapest. Rooms are good, spacious, with single boxspring beds. The bathroom was a little old-fashioned and only have womens products. The Wi-Fi didn't work very well. All the people who work in this hotel seem to be stressed though. Not even a polite smile or word at entrance or leaving the hotel and also small problems seemed to be big problems for them.

Room Tip: Try the last minute rates on booking dot com
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerbertB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent in this hotel one night. My first impression was overall good. Clean and close to everything. The rooms arent very big, but enough for a short stay. First we had a small room with a view on the inner side of the hotel, but we changed it to a better room with view on the streets. Its a bit noisy but it didnt really matters. The beds should be custom made. but i must say i had a really bad sleep unfortunately. The pillows were too soft and the beds too hard. I would also recommend to fix the double bad. since its made of two separate ones which are moving to the sides so its not really romantic to pull the bads everytime there and back and also not comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the room too. I would recommend this hotel and maybe we come back soon :)

Room Tip: street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noorika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The NH Hotel is well situated being close to Tram and Metro stops but set back enough so it's quiet. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable and tick all of the boxes. We booked a B&B deal and the extensive buffet breakfast was good value here, but if we hadn't there are plenty of good cafes a few yards away that offer a cheaper alternative. The bar is what you'd expect from a Hotel and being Budapest there's lots of cheaper alternatives in the vicinity. Having said that if it's cold & wet outside it's a pleasant place to spend an hour or two. We would definitely stay here again when we come back to Budapest

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the new NH Hotel in March 2013 for three nights. It is located very conveniently, close to everything, easy to get around, good base for night life as well a s for sightseeing. The rooms as nicely done, although in our room the lighting was a bit weird. There were no lights above or near the wardrobe so was pretty hard to find anything. They seem to have a scheme for dim lighting.
The beds are custom made, however they only have like two singles pushed together in every room (we were with a few other people thus we know)...for a couple not the best, although you do have a good night sleep as the mattress is very comfy!

Do not have breakfast there, it is overpriced and crap. There are plenty of coffee shops just in five minutes walk.

The staff is extremely polite and the cleaners are super honest. We misplaced 100ft coin (like 30p) somewhere (which we did not even notice), the cleaner find it and left it in a visible place for us,

Overall: would return again,e specially when it is a deal like 50% off thru lastminute.com!

Warmly can recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#80 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#98 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#62 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Budapest City

Property: NH Budapest City
Address: Vigszinhaz utca 3., Budapest 1137, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#46 Business Hotel in Budapest
#52 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#59 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#81 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Budapest City 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally-located in the heart of the business district, NH Budapest City offers you a slice of modern luxury amid a backdrop of historic scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Budapest Hotel Budapest
Nh Hotel Budapest
Nh Hotels Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing