We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in central location”
Review of NH Budapest City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Budapest City
Ranked #75 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great hotel in central location”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was my second stay at the NH Budapest. A very nice hotel in a very central location with very pleasant and friendly staff.

Comfortable beds, excellent air conditioning in rooms, hair dryer, make-up mirror, mini fridge as well as coffee and tea packets available in rooms. There is also a computer with free internet for guests in the lobby.

Buffet breakfast is very good with a wide variety of hot and cold foods: everything from scrambled eggs and sausages to cold cuts, cheeses, various breads, pastries, fresh fruit and cereals. Oh, yes... and good coffee.

The hotel is in the heart of Budapest so it is very easy to get to many areas. Metro stop is a 3 minute walk, Westend Shopping Mall and the Nyugati train station is a 5 minute walk, the Margit Bridge is about a 5 minute walk which you can cross and go to Buda. Many shops, cafes, and restaurants nearby, as well as a SPAR grocery store about a block away.

One slightly negative item: the rooms still have old TVs. It would be really nice if the management would put newer flat screen TVs in the rooms, as most hotels have these now, certainly 4 star hotels like the NH.

As somewhat of an "expert" on places and prices in Budapest, I would say the hotel's restaurant dinner prices are ridiculously high and expensive... you're better off going elsewhere for food that's as good at much better prices!

Feel free to ask me questions you may have about Budapest through Tripadvisor... I'm happy to help with advice!

Room Tip: Some rooms have windows that face to the inside of hotel lobby and may not be as quiet at times as r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank penz1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    683
    152
    39
    24
See reviews for
174
498
93
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed with friends for three nights during July. Temperatures at the time were 40C during the afternoon, but the hotel and rooms were very comfortably air-conditioned. The hotel is incredible value - we paid around £50 per night for a twin room. It's modern, has a spacious lobby/bar area, very good buffet breakfast (included in room rate), and the staff were very helpful and polite. It's a five minute walk to the nearest Metro station. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The NH Budapest is a gem among the former glamor of Budapest
which has fallen into disrepair. Having been to Prague and
Amsterdam, cities which have cleaned old buildings, Budapest
falls into the category of cities like Bucharest and Geneva that
don't care how their external buildings look with decades of black
soot stuck on the facades of buildings. Therefore, after driving
through Budapest and seeing graffiti scrawled across buildings
marred with soot, it was nice to come to the NH which is a new modern
building. The hotel is centrally located and there are many cafes,
and food stores in nearby streets.

Checkin was quick and even though I arrived at 10:30am - my room was
ready. Rooms come with a minibar with a few drinks that leaves much room available to
add your own food and drinks, a safe, free Internet, water urn, sufficient towels, soap,
shampoo, etc. The soap though is an issue. It is some gel based small bar of soap
that disintegrates within 3 minutes of being used in a shower. No joke.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta County, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Budapest has a rich historical heritage and I sampled it in my one week vacation in Budapest in this hotel.

The nice hotel location has been augmented by a very friendly and helpful staff, a very good breakfast selection, quality of room service and room amenitites & refreshments.

My room had a balcony with a nice view outside of hotel.
Due to my health condition at that time I did not sample the Hotel Spa... maybe next time.


Customised but reasonable-priced transportation can be arranged from Airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LazarescuMircea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a Cosmos Bohemian Rhapsody tour. The hotel is in a good position. Our room was very comfortable, quiet and had a good bathroom. Free cable internet in the room. Tea and coffee facilities provided in the room and replenished daily. Breakfast was good with a selection of hot and cold foods, fruits, cereals, tea coffee etc. We walked to the city centre in about 20-30 mins, but you can also catch the No. 2 tram or the metro, both close to the hotel. You can buy the transport tickets at hotel reception. There is a small SPAR supermarket across the road, but 5-10 min walk along the road brings you to a massive multi-storey West End shopping centre with a large MATCH supermarket, foodcourt and all manner of shops. The opera house, parliament buildings and margaret island are all within 15-20 mins walk. We changed money at a good rate at a money exchange close to the hotel. We also found that most shops and restaurants accept euros but change will be given in the local currency [ forints]. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Great:
Quiet street, but close to everything
Hotel front desk staff very helpful
Nice rooms
THE SPA is the best I've seen at a hotel at this price

Not so great but ok:
No double beds, just single beds pushed together. On wheels so you can end up falling through.
Breakfast was just ok.
TV was old

Room Tip: Some of the rooms' windows face into the lobby and look as if they have no other windows. I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybeans5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed at NH Budapest at the end of April 2012, for 3 nights. I chose this hotel because it was close to Margaret Island and because I got a good price on booking.com for it. We arrived late in the evening, but that seemed to be no problem as there is always someone available at the reception, who speaks very good English and is willing to assist. We had no breakfast included, but the room was clean, very quiet and had one of the most comfortable beds I have ever experienced in a hotel. The hotel is well located, as mentioned a short walk distance to Margaret Island and the Parliament. In the area, you may find several restaurants and good places to have lunch/dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms that have a window showing the back yard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
K+K Hotel Opera
#37 of 334 in Budapest
3,195 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#80 of 334 in Budapest
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#24 of 334 in Budapest
1,311 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#50 of 334 in Budapest
957 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Budapest City

Property: NH Budapest City
Address: Vigszinhaz utca 3., Budapest 1137, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#46 Business Hotel in Budapest
#54 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#59 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#81 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Budapest City 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally-located in the heart of the business district, NH Budapest City offers you a slice of modern luxury amid a backdrop of historic scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Budapest Hotel Budapest
Nh Hotel Budapest
Nh Hotels Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing