We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in Budapest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Budapest City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NH Budapest City
Ranked #70 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Budapest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a Cosmos Bohemian Rhapsody tour. The hotel is in a good position. Our room was very comfortable, quiet and had a good bathroom. Free cable internet in the room. Tea and coffee facilities provided in the room and replenished daily. Breakfast was good with a selection of hot and cold foods, fruits, cereals, tea coffee etc. We walked to the city centre in about 20-30 mins, but you can also catch the No. 2 tram or the metro, both close to the hotel. You can buy the transport tickets at hotel reception. There is a small SPAR supermarket across the road, but 5-10 min walk along the road brings you to a massive multi-storey West End shopping centre with a large MATCH supermarket, foodcourt and all manner of shops. The opera house, parliament buildings and margaret island are all within 15-20 mins walk. We changed money at a good rate at a money exchange close to the hotel. We also found that most shops and restaurants accept euros but change will be given in the local currency [ forints]. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    619
    139
    36
    17
See reviews for
159
442
85
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Great:
Quiet street, but close to everything
Hotel front desk staff very helpful
Nice rooms
THE SPA is the best I've seen at a hotel at this price

Not so great but ok:
No double beds, just single beds pushed together. On wheels so you can end up falling through.
Breakfast was just ok.
TV was old

Room Tip: Some of the rooms' windows face into the lobby and look as if they have no other windows. I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybeans5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed at NH Budapest at the end of April 2012, for 3 nights. I chose this hotel because it was close to Margaret Island and because I got a good price on booking.com for it. We arrived late in the evening, but that seemed to be no problem as there is always someone available at the reception, who speaks very good English and is willing to assist. We had no breakfast included, but the room was clean, very quiet and had one of the most comfortable beds I have ever experienced in a hotel. The hotel is well located, as mentioned a short walk distance to Margaret Island and the Parliament. In the area, you may find several restaurants and good places to have lunch/dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms that have a window showing the back yard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We unreservedly recommend this Hotel in Budapest which we booked through Agoda. The front office staff spoke excellent english and could not have been more helpful. The breakfast was excellent as was the service. The room was quiet, clean, well serviced each day and comfortable. The hotel is well located to explore the qwonderful city of Budapest and is close to the tram network to get about. There are good eateries close by. We are very pleased we stayed at the NH Budapest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mussos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed several times in this hotel room I got to the street. It is a clean hotel with comfortable beds, spacious rooms and generous breakfast.

Location is good, close to Parliament and Opera, you can walk to admire
Danube and Parliament at night.

The staff is quite friendly, if you need smth they help.

Internet is free in the room.

I will gladly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for an exterior room, so you can breeth fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDC T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ihtiman, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

The hotel location is just excellent. Hotel is not bad - rooms are clean and tidy. I personally don't like the beds - they are comfortable, but have some weird wheels... The hotel has free of charge sauna.
Tip here - In the hotel lobby is tasty , but quite expensive. If you just go out of the hotel in a distance of about 200m you have a choice between traditional Hungarian, Italian restaurant (great pasta! :) ) and some Indiian food nearby.

Room Tip: You may ask for a room with terrace - I'm not quite sure but I think *12 rooms are the ones with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondesKiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

The NH Budapest is a very nice 4 star hotel just a little north of the Hungarian Parliament building. It is an easy walk (3 blocks) to the Tram stop (#2) that takes you parallel along the east side of the Danube and has convenient stops along the way at many of the interesting tourist sights areas. The hotel sits back 1 block from the main road, so there is not as much traffic driving by. It is right be hind the Theatrical auditorium.

The lobby is airy and bright with a 8 story atrium. The staff is very friendly and all were very fluent in English (good for me since I do not speak Hungarian).

My flight go in very early and I was at the hotel by 11:50am. I was welcomed and they attempted to find an available room for me. Unfortunately housekeeping was still working on several of the rooms. They staff kindly secured my luggage in the Guest Luggage Storage room and then gave me a map of the city and some suggestions on where I might like to go and see while the room was being prepared. An hour later I check in on the room status and one was available and I was able to get settled in.

The room is very large, nice, clean, and well decorated. The beds are comfortable compared to many other European Hotels I have stayed at. The view from my 6th floor room was nice. A clear view down the pedestrian walkway along the theater out to the main road.

The only negative thing I have to say about the room or the hotel is about the bath tub and it's shower door. The tub is very narrow. I am a large guy but would bet that it would be very narrow for an average size person to comfortable take a bath. The odd, short shower door, for those of us American's who like to splash around in the shower, may find that this short (half glass door) only prevents some of the water from going outside the bath tub. After my first shower I found lots of water on the floor and the sink counter top. Luckily I was able to mop it all up with the extra bath towel. I would assume American's with children my find this a slight problem...but a quick mopping with an extra bath towel should solve this problem.

The restaurant and cafe in the Hotel is a nice place to eat. I ate there on 3 separate evenings and each meal was excellent. The wait staff were very friendly. It maybe slightly more expensive than eating out...but for those that wish for a good meal without leaving the hotel this is a good choice.

I highly recommend this Hotel for business and travel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#79 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#100 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#43 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#59 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Budapest City

Property: NH Budapest City
Address: Vigszinhaz utca 3., Budapest 1137, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#46 Business Hotel in Budapest
#49 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#59 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#81 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Budapest City 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally-located in the heart of the business district, NH Budapest City offers you a slice of modern luxury amid a backdrop of historic scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your NH Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Budapest Hotel Budapest
Nh Hotel Budapest
Nh Hotels Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing