We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B & B Bellevue Budapest
Ranked #7 of 191 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

i am an experienced world traveler of mature years, picky on hotels (but not overly so), who does much advance research on my travels, including the accommodations, and therefore is rarely really disappointed in them.
i originally stayed here at the belleview about 9 years ago on my first adventure in budapest. the place is charming and the folks who run it are so delightful that they became personal friends of mine, and i return to budapest every year mostly to spend time with them - and of course to stay at the bellevue. this is the only situation of this kind i have experienced in my life !!
the locatrion is ideal - between buda (castle) and pest (city). one can walk up to old town buda in a couple of minutes. one can walk down the hill to the bridge into pest in just a few minutes, or down the stairway in a trice to the metro into the center, and tram along the river. to return, the 16 bus from in front of the meridian hotel in the center is frequent and so convenient. it is just like staying in the center but a lot quieter and between buda and pest. down the stairway, at batiany square, there is a supermarket, post office, pharmacy, bank - all kinds of conveniences, and also there are several super restaurants, very hungarian and not touristy. and up near the b&b is s high end gourmet place.
the rooms are immaculately clean and charming - decorated in a hungarian family home style with every convenience, and there is a full kitchen for lat night coffee or tea. no barking dogs and decent sized showers !!
the breakfasts are served family style and have a large variety of traditional hungarian and international favorites. the family style means that the different guests from different lands can visit with each other if they choose, and can compare notes about what to see and do.
the rates here are reasonable - much more so than the three expensive b&bs that occupy the number 1-3 spots on this budapest trripadvisor site.
but the real reason to stay here is lajos and judith, the owners/hosts. fluent english speakers (he was the trade liason in canada for years), cultured (they operated the annual budapest ballet gala for many years), warm, genuinely friendly folks who will not only help you with what sites and entertainment events, spa/baths and restaurants to visit, but will make it clear the best ways to go about doing these things.
budapest is a wonderful city - never tourist-infested, as it is big enough to gently absorb the crowds even in season - with tons of stuff to see and do and eat and swim in.
you will be really glad you chose to stay at the bellevue.

Room Tip: the room just one down from the top floor has a magnificent vew from its balcony over all of budapes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FROOOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 450 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

From the moment of our evening arrival until our departure Lajos and Judit made us feel so welcome as well as so at home. Not only could we not ask for better hosts or travel consultants, they were as guardians would be, there to solve our problem when we needed help. Many thanks for letting our friend park in front of your garage all day!
We looked forward to the morning breakfast gathering wondering with whom we would share the meal. With whom would we make acquaintance? Lajos and Judit worked wonders with us as before we knew it we were enjoying everyone's company!
It was such good fortune that we chose Bellevue--while we still had a few weeks of travel adventure ahead, we were a little sad at having to bid adieu to Lajos, Judit and their gem!

Room Tip: Ours was on the top floor looking out onto Fisherman's Bastion and Matthius Church. It was beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is our second time in Budapest. The first time was three years ago when we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. This year, we came back with the kids, while on a world tour. It is a most wonderful B&B. The hosts treat you as family offering you all kinds of tips, helping you navigate the city, making special restaurant reservations for you and offering you a warm & complete breakfast every morning. It is an affordable way to visit this truly beautiful city.
Thank you Judit and Lajos, you made our stay very special once more!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

From the outside, Bellevue B & B looks like an ordinary residence on a pleasant street on the Buda side of the Danube. Step inside, however, and everything is just great. Judit and Lajos are wonderful hosts who will fill you in on anything you want to know about the city. They were even able to locate two opera tix for us when the computer indicated they were sold out! They both speak excellent English and provide a warm, welcoming environment that we appreciated very much. Our room was a nice size and well-equipped, with a nice spotless bathroom. Our room was at the front and overlooked the street and uphill to the Fisherman's Bastion. Excellent restaurants are nearby and the metro is not far away. Breakfast was very tasty. Everything was superb! If you want to stay on the Buda side, stay here for certain!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martnlivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Lovely place to be, central location, warm welcome by Mrs. Judith, feeling at home in the cosy rooms, no noise during the night.... do not hesitate to book. Architecture is overwhelming, do not forget to visit the Capa exhibition.

Hilde and Veerle/ Belgium.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Hilde L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our experience at the Bellevue B&B was just superb. Judit and Lajos Szuhay are the most wonderful hosts, who keep a lively conversation going at their terrific breakfasts, speak flawless English and are immensely helpful with any logistics a traveler could possibly want. My husband and I always try to stay at B&B's or pensions whenever we travel, if we can. This trip, we spent most of our time in Budapest, with a few days on either end in a small pension in Vienna. While the place in Vienna was nice, there was no comparison to the atmosphere there versus that at the Bellevue. We also had a beautiful, spacious room (a double bed, a large chifforobe, a loveseat, a nice bathroom and a lovely balcony)--we have never had this much wonderful space! If you want to stay on the Buda side, the Bellevue is the perfect choice. For the Pest side, their son Andras manages the lovely Butterfly Home, and he is as welcoming and helpful as his parents. Leslie England

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were fortunate to stay at the Bellevue in Budapest and loved having lovely hosts who helped us with everything and really cared about our having a good time. The accommodations are very nice and we enjoyed meeting the other guests at breakfast. Wonderful views of Pest from the balcony and two blocks uphill is the wonderful castle area!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jacquelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Chesscom
#99 of 334 in Budapest
386 reviews
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#102 of 334 in Budapest
6,669 reviews
Kapital Inn
#1 of 191 in Budapest
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Anabelle B&B
Anabelle B&B
#4 of 191 in Budapest
414 reviews
House Beletage
#5 of 191 in Budapest
283 reviews
District V / Inner City
Parliament Penthouse Budapest B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Bellevue Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Bellevue Budapest

Address: Szabo Ilonka utca 15/b, Budapest 1015, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range: $47 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your B & B Bellevue Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b & b Bellevue Budapest Hotel Budapest
Bed And Breakfast Bellevue Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing