We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hostel”
Review of Shantee House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shantee House
Ranked #79 of 652 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favourite hostel”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place is AWESOME. I love the this hostel and have stayed there on several occasions and recommended it to many friends who also share the passion for the Shantee House. This place provides an ultimate Zen away from the city centre. Although it is a little way from the main city, transport is regular and not expensive.
The staff are very helpful and their knowledge of Budapest is extensive.
Hope to be returning to the Shantee House soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    20
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
26
50
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

colourful, hippy like, great downstairs dorm even during heat wave nice and cool! beautiful garden w/ big indian structure to hang out in the shade or cover from the rain or gaze at stars. Happy staff good location (quiet and safe and close to public transport)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I went for a week long stay, left after a couple of months, which kinda sums it up really. A wonderful place full of friendly, lovely backpackers from all over the world. Easy to walk or catch public transport around the city. Beautiful rooms, always clean. I highly recommend everyone, especially solo travelers, to stay in this safe, relaxing and homely hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35pandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Amazing hostel! Very nice and peaceful place to stay (congratulations with the beautiful renovation!). The staff is also very kind! There is a shared living room and cooking place. Good location in city (you can take easily public transport to the centre). I really recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank e d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Shantee House formerly known as The Backpack Guesthouse is by far the best Hostel i have stayed at in Europe.

I stayed at this Hostel in 2006 and 2012, all up i have visited it 3 times. The staff are wonderfully kind and work hard at keeping the House as inviting as possible.

The atmosphere has never changed, I experienced one of my most memorable Christmas' here and have met life long friends who i am still in contact with back in Australia.

This Hostel is where treasured memories are created and I would definitely call it my second home.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We enjoyed staying in this relaxed backpackers while in Budapest. It was clean with good facilities and the staff were very helpful. Its only downside was needing to get public transport into the city but it was very regular, quick and easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelSIrwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The overall atmosphere of this hostel was inviting and very laid back. The people were friendly and the decorations were beautiful. The owners greeted us and were very knowledgeable about things around Budapest. It is a little out of the way, but it is a fantastic place to relax after a long day. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sckukwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Budapest Budget Hostel
#25 of 652 in Budapest
212 reviews
Belváros-Lipótváros
Suite Hostel
Suite Hostel
#94 of 652 in Budapest
76 reviews
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#46 of 652 in Budapest
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Grandio Party Hostel
Grandio Party Hostel
#8 of 652 in Budapest
508 reviews
Avenue Hostel
#33 of 652 in Budapest
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantee House

Property: Shantee House
Address: Takacs Menyhert utca 33, Budapest 1113, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 652 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shantee House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DEAR TRAVELLING SOULS !!!!! Our cozy and friendly Hostel is located 12 min from the center in Buda. Great location, with excellent 24h transport. A Brand New colorful House welcomes you with a well - traveled, knowledgeable stuff with a joyful, magical atmosphere and comfortable rooms. There is a lovely Asian style green garden with apple & pear trees, hammocks and a great Mongolian yurt which gives a tranquil ambiance, an unforgettable stay! Free Internet / Wifi, Free Coffee / Tea. We are open since 1992 just been beautifully renovated in the winter of 2012. Continuously providing heavenly home for travelers from all around the world. Everyone is warmly welcome all year around! BOOK a room NOW and Enjoy your stay at a homely BASECAMP to DISCOVER Budapest & Hungary! We Offer:~ private & dorm rooms~ rooms with en-suite bathroom~ fully equipped kitchen~ linen, towel included~ caving tours, ~ magical daytrips to the Pilis mountain~ free maps ~ travel books~ easy access when arriving by car~ free parking~ free luggage storage, lockers; safe facility~ cheap bike rental~ cheap beer, drinks~ camping area~ BBQ on request~ Ayurvedic Massage~ great info on the city and Hungary HAPPY TRAVELS and hope to see you soon! Shantee House Crew, Budapest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Shantee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing