We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best location with decent price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burg Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Burg Hotel
Ranked #115 of 340 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best location with decent price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

People wanting good night sleep, enjoying amazing scenery and romantic summernight dining, this is your place. Lots of stairs, so not for everybody though. I stayed in top floor and had amazing view of the square, Matthias church, and Pest other side of the river - it was almost like dream.
During daytime you can leave castle district and wander around other parts of Budapest (while tourists flock the hill), and return during/after sunset to enjoy peaceful night. Buses will carry you to centre of Pest or Subway station (small bus, crowded during day with tourists). Traffic stops after 11PM, after which you would need a taxi or good feet to walk up to the hill - not bad idea if you're young.
Staff polite, especially that one night receptionist. Breakfast good enough to get you going.
Good restaurants and bars down the hill, both sides - west cheaper. Panorama Café open until 10/11PM with live music in evening, you can also dine with view of Pest. Evening lights make place look wonderful and romantic. Visit also the castle after sunset, only few minutes from hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeemuTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    144
    37
    7
    4
See reviews for
43
127
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

This is a great Hotel, my friends & I really had a wonderful 4 days here. Everything is within easy reach. Transport links are very good. Tourist Information across the road, Hotel staff very helpful & friendly. Clean & comfortable rooms, decent breakfast . Although our rooms were facing the square we could not hear any street noise. We bought The Budapestcard for all our travel needs and found it to be great value for money. The sightseeing, bus tours and travel by bus, tram, train & boat, every thing is covered in that one card. The girls at the information were fantastic, spoke perfect English and were so helpful in all aspects of what to do as far as transport needs were concerned. The Castle District and Burg Hotel is the place to stay if you are going to Budapest for what ever reason. I shall return!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with heavy bags or a lot of luggage, select rooms on the first floor. Hotel ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HK1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
541 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

I will first start with the tip for the travellers by air. Description of arrival from the airport on the booking website is not so good. Actually there is much easier connection. There are 2 buses from the airportto Kobanya-Kispest metro station. Number 23 and 200e. Very often and the stop is just when you will leave the terminal. Then you go by metro to Deak ter. Please leave underground here and when you will go out try to find a bus stop with nr 16. You can go by this bus just in front of Burg hotel. Very easy, fast and cheap! The ticket for every mean of transport is only 320 forints. Buy the ticket in the kiosk. It is cheaper. In the bus 400 forints. You can see the pictures of the neighbourhood of the hotel here and then you will be sure when to leave from this bus nr 16. There is no need to take a cub if you don't have so much baggage. You can save money. The area of the hotel is awasome. The best in Budapest. Just on the castle hill with spectacular view. I don't actually understand why for so nice hotel- 2 days with breakfast I paid less than 90 euro. Unfortunately we didn't use any of the breakfasts so I can't describe them:) However the guys at hotel lobby were very helpful with our questions. The room was tidy and we had a view on St. Mathias Church. It was really nice. You can ask for room nr 234. In conclusion I will for sure choose the same hotel next time.

Room Tip: ask for a room nr 234 so you will get for sure with nice view:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pawel_hbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed at the Burg Hotel for the 4th time and found it as great as ever. Many of the same staff were there to welcome us. This hotel is a real find and I am glad to see it is now mentioned in the popular travel books. The St. Matthias church has just about completed its facelift and it looks fantastic at night after the tour groups have left the area. It is also very safe there.I was able to get several beautiful night shots of the church and Bastion lit up at as well as great pictures of the Parliament across the river. I got some ot the same picutres from my window in the early morning light. Since we were there for a wedding at St. Matthias it was very convenient but we also find it very easy to get into Pest to see some of the sights. You can easily walk there in about 20 minutes and the bus comes very frequently. Noise has never been an issue and we like waking up to the beautiful.bells. We once again enjoyed wine tasting at the Wine Cellar in the Hilton. It is built within original ruins under the hotel. Buda seems more beautiful than ever and the whole city seems to be having a renaissance. It is a wonderful city to visit and the Burg Hotel is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wOrldTrav39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I just spent 6 days in Budapest and had a great time. We stayed at the Burg and true to all the reviews on TripAdvisor it is in a great location, has a friendly,knowledgable staff and provides a great center for exploring. Its position on Castle Hill is perfect for exploring the Castle District. If you are up to the walk, the Chain Bridge is about 12/20 minutes downhill but,if you need Public transportation, the 16 Bus is right outside the door and it takes you over the bridge and terminates near the Jewish section. You can also walk to the BRV train which takes you to the Towns on the Danube such as St Andre for about 12.50 US round trip for two.
Several reviews complained about noise. We never had a problem. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the square and we never heard any crowd noise. Others wrote about the church bells being annoying,but again it was never an issue,. We heard them at 7:30 AM and again at night but they were never constant.
There is a grocery store a block away and the Cafe Ruzwurm is 2 doors down, both of which we put to good use.
There is an resturant Pest-Buda 2 blocks away which others have written about and their reviews were exact. If you are on the Hill you must try it. We also found another resturant Fekete hollo which is about 300 yards from the Burg. I have reviewed it seperately.
On final note, the best way to get to the Burg is to arrange on line with Zona Taxi. They pick you up at the arrival terminal and the fare to the Hotel is either 4000 or 5000 Ft.depending on the arrangements you make. We used it for the return also at 4100Ft. it made arrival and departure much easier.(zonataxi@zonataxi.hu)
All in all a great trip

Room Tip: On the square for great views and the highest floor but remember no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zdam47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Nice room, comfortable bed, and a great view of Mathias Church and Fisherman's Bastion with Parliament and the Danube in the distance. Will definitely stay here on future trips to Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Had we been paying 100 euros for a double room and breakfast I would have rated this hotel as very good. For 69 euros it is excellent.
What's great about it - large clean comfortable rooms; very helpful and friendly staff; free internet in lobby; quiet at night (but with the bells of St. Matthias Church to serve as a 7.30 alarm!); location - in heart of castle district, but with frequent buses to the centre of Pest and the local transport hubs at Deak Ferenc and Szell Kalman squares.
What's ordinary about it - Breakfast
What didn't bother us, but might be a problem for some - no lift (elevator)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WardenRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Carlton Hotel Budapest
#79 of 340 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#41 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#38 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#26 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
District I / Buda
Milford Suites Budapest
Milford Suites Budapest
#124 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
District I / Buda
St. George Residence
St. George Residence
#63 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burg Hotel

Property: Burg Hotel
Address: Szentharomsag ter 7 - 8, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Budapest
#92 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Burg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Burg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burg Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing