We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good three stars hotel :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #139 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good three stars hotel :)”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were living in this hotel at July 2012 for five days. There is nearby many shops and good restaurants. Metro is about 1km away but there is also bus and tram-line nearby. Centrum is about 4km away from this hotel.
Hotel staff were very nice and helpful, breakfast is okay and food in restaurant called Lord Nelson was good.
Room itself was pretty small and bed were bit hard, air-condition did not cooled the room enough.
Views from the boat were nice and it was nice to sit on the deck at nights.
I would recommend this hotel sincerely to everyone who has limited budget but also want to sleep nights in good hotel :)

Room Tip: Take a room with views to the river :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lende1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    164
    91
    30
    21
See reviews for
44
177
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

you can not want much more than this for your money .We stayed in the superior room it had a wonderful outlook. The food was very good in the restaurant.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms were very good as well but we liked this for the windows and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickeval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirano, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The hotel is in a good position - it takes less than ten minutes to walk along the river bank to the nearest trams that will take you all over the city. We had a room overlooking the island. It had three beds, a small bathroom (no hairdryer) , fridge, wardrobes and air-conditioning. As has already been said, the windows don't open so it can feel a bit stuffy but it's interesting to sleep on the Danube and the views from the boat are spectacular.
At reception they spoke good English and were very helpful. A buffet breakfast was included in the very reasonable price and was quite adequate. On both evenings we ate on deck in the restaurant. The food was quite good, the prices very good (mixed grill for two people cost about 14 Euros) but be careful when checking the bill - on both nights ours was wrong and we had been charged for things we hadn't had (three drinks instead of one etc.) but it was put right when I pointed it out.
All in all, it was an interesting place to stay for a few days but do remember you are on a boat and not in a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarajane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Booked the fortuna as it was something different and quite cheap compared to other hotels in town. Initially I booked an ensuite room on the upper deck (the lower deck are shared bathrooms and only have a little port hole as a window), but later requested a room with access to the deck and have to admit I was very impressed when we saw the room. It was very big and looked out onto Margaret Island, with views of the fisherman's bastion and the castle in the distance (which look stunning at sunset when the lights come on). It is also very handy for transport links, with the No. 2 tram available from the other side of Margaret Bridge (a 5 minute walk away) to the Castle area and a drop off close to Vaci St. However, the impression I got was that it was going to be our own private balcony, which of course it wasn't, and with no net curtains, there is very little privacy from people walking around the boat. Also the curtains that are up are very thin and the lights on deck shine through until midnight and it was getting light at around 4am when we was there, so might not be so good if you need darkness to sleep (like my partner). The ensuite wasn't great, but ok, and the same goes for breakfast; we got down early, but the eggs were cold and the sausage and bacon were very greasy. That said the cold meats and cheese selection was very good. We didn't eat in the restaurant, so I'm unable to comment on that, but it appeared to be busy the nights we was there.
Things to avoid - do not ask the hotel to ring a taxi for you, the firm they use (volan) are very expensive. Also I paid a deposit by card when booking, but the wanted cash payment for the balance and I advise to pay in euros. I only had HUF's (the UK not using euro's) and they use their own exchange rate, which not competitive to say the least.
Overall, if you can look past the negatives, then the Fortuna might be for you; if I had stayed here on my own (which would never happen of course!!! - just incase my partner reads this) I might have given a better score, as some of the things wouldn't bother me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Margaret Island and/or access to the deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murf-707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Nicely located in the center of Budapest on the romantic Donau, between Buda and Pest. Rooms were comfortable, clean, two windows overlooking the river to "Margit-sziget": the Margaret Island. However small, the rooms had a normal acceptable bed, flat-screen TV, fridge, bathroom with private toilet and shower. Reception was very open and helpfull. Buffet breakfast was good, staff there was not very open and the music channel was more "channel" than "music".
Good price quality ratio.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the base level deck, preferably on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noel-and-Ilonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I do not understand why other reviewers complained a lot. In the first place, we have to understand that it is a boat-hotel, not a cruise ship nor a 'regular hotel'. Secondly, the culture is different so do not expect them to be all smile. Once you 'crack' their hard shell, you will see their gentleness. Otherwise, you can also apply the criticism on the people of the city itself!

We booked-in last February 2, 2012 and really enjoyed the accommodation and breakfast. The place was very warm and cozy and the buffet-breakfast, awesome. The receptionist was very helpful in guiding us the key places to visit in Budapest.
It was really a wonderful experience to sleep on the boat-hotel. Privacy? Just close the curtain and you are all set. As I said, do not expect a pristine like experience since you are staying on a boat!

Cleanliness, very good. Reception? Good. Price? Reasonable. Well, of course, if you want a 5 star accommodation then stay and pay at the 5 star hotel!
I will definitely return and recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pcnovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is really a ship of two halves, the lower deck has basic rooms with shared bathroms and only a port hole for light. The cabins on the higher deck are completely different, television, fridge, ensuite with a large picture window. The only negative is the window overlooks the outdoor seating area and people are able to walk past your window which we personally did not find a problem and in fact actually sat out on this deck with a drink seeral evenings. We visited off season and in the season there is a terrace fon the top deck foror sitting out. The staff were really friendly and spoke perfect English. We were worried that the location would be a little far out of town, it was not. The view from the boat at night was magical with a great view of the lights of Buda. Breakfast was plentiful with a great choice. A computer room was always available and the safes were some of the most secure I have seen. Your own safe was in a locked room which had to be opened by a staff member and the actual safe needed two keys to open it, one held by the hotel and the other held by you, to ensure privacy once the hotel staff had used their key they waited outside the room whilst you did what was needed. The only people who I heard moaning were those who had booked the lower deck rooms which were classed as hostel rooms - you only get what you pay for!!!! Wil;l be back again soon

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank allsortsoftrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle
#119 of 334 in Budapest
52 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#162 of 334 in Budapest
467 reviews
Hotel Classic
#257 of 334 in Budapest
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Csaszar Hotel
#189 of 334 in Budapest
208 reviews
Hotel Thomas
#199 of 334 in Budapest
55 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#131 of 334 in Budapest
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Szent Istvan park, also rakpart, Budapest 1137, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us near to the city center of Budapest, next to Margharet Island in the 3 star category Fortuna Boat Hotel*** & Restaurant! Calm and pleasant accommodation in the heart of the Hungarian capital – pleasure is guaranteed! The Danube, the nature and the boat together provide an unforgettable experience. We offer two kind of accommodations in different categories,: 3 star hotelrooms (quality: superior and standard) or hostel rooms (single, twin, triple) for backpackers and thrifty travellers. For the health and comfort of our guests, Fortuna Boat Hotel*** & Restaurant is non-smoking, including all rooms and public areas. During your stay try our Lord Nelson Restaurant with delicious Hungarian and International meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fortuna Boat Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing