We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro”
Review of Hotel Kalvin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kalvin House
Ranked #112 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Location was central for what we wanted, about a 10 minute leisurely walk to the Central Market and Liberty Bridge.The entrance to the hotel doesn't do it any favours, and the reception area could do with some updating. However, on speaking to the friendly, obliging, and very pretty receptionist, Sophia (Zsófia?), things looked up. I discovered that the hotel were apartments up until about 12 years ago. This explained the very spacious rooms and old fashioned furniture, possibly left-overs of the previous inhabitants. The wooden block flooring was spotless, as was the rest of the rooms. The only modern concessions was the ensuite bathroom and flat screen TV. Although it was snowing heavily and very cold, our room was warm, and the 'double glazing', consisting of two back-to-back wooden framed windows, seemed to work. We used the space between them as our 'fridge'! There were two CH radiators and an auxiliary electric radiator and how they managed to heat the room, which had a ceiling of about 12-13ft, I don't know. Daily room service and fresh towels. I'm not a fan of continental breakfasts, but my mates said it was 'very good'. My only criticisms are that there was no tea/coffee in the room (although the 24 hour staff would make a cup on request). No communal lounge area to meet our friends, or sit and have a coffee/drink/chat. There are no bar facilities. Having said that, whilst waiting for our taxi for the airport in the breakfast room annex, I did notice a can of beer, bottle of wine and soft drinks on a window sill in the reception room. All my friends were well pleased with the Kalvin House. It depends on what you want. I just prefer a more modern set-up.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanmanWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kalvin House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 431 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

This little hotel is a gem in Budapest. I booked four rooms for a group of 8 persons and each room had a delightfully unique character, almost as if you had rented spacious rooms with high ceilings in someone's apartment. When we checked out, we had to leave before breakfast opened, and the courteous and attentive staff prepared sandwiches for us to take along on our way to the airport. This was my third stay at Kalvin Haz and I will be sure to be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DisneyFanVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Couldn't have chosen a better hotel from within our budget. The location is superb - walking distance to the centre but also 2 mins walk away from the metro station as well as buses and trams. Not to mention right infront of a Tesco's and a currency exchange shop with a great rate. Rooms are as pretty and charming as they look in photos and clean. Very friendly staff and the free tickets to the spas definitely made it worthwhile! Street outside was a little noisy on some nights though. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneySk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great location, walked everywhere and convenient to trams. Lovely old building with charm. We had a room on the top floor, with skylight windows looking over the surrounding roof tops. Very friendly and helpful staff. Wouldn't bother waking up for their breakfast, hard boiled eggs were green, not fresh. The bathroom towels may have actually been rags put in our room by mistake.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is well situated on a quiet side street, yet one block from the city market, and two blocks from the Freedom bridge, and the Vaci Utca. The room was clean, large, and very comfortable. Breakfast was good and with enough variety to keep one interested for a few days.

Room Tip: We had room 305, which was across from the elevator. It was extremely quiet and we enjoyed the larg...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very friendly staf, good location , quiet street by day but noisy at night.
Metro, tram and Danube at easy walking ditance. Some very nice restaurants and bakery nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have recently spent a short vacation in Budapest and stayed at the Inn Side Hotel. Although situated in a side street on the first floor, first impressions might not be favourable but don't be fooled . This hotel offers good clean traditional accommodation with very friendly staff who go out of their way to provide help and information. It is ideally situated between the Great Market Hall and the Vaci utca, a short walk to the river and all the pleasure craft, and a lovely evening stroll to all the restaurants. Metro tickets can be purchased at the hotel but don't do as we did and forget to stamp your ticket before you start your journey. The metro inspectors are very 'severe' and unpleasant. We would also recommend purchasing a Green Bus Hop on - Hop off ticket. We found this excellent value. It will get you round to all the places of interest and also includes a Danube cruise!! Try this hotel for value, cleanliness and friendliness

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#42 of 333 in Budapest
720 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#52 of 333 in Budapest
783 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#62 of 333 in Budapest
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Leo Panzio Hotel
Leo Panzio Hotel
#121 of 333 in Budapest
200 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bastion Hotel Budapest
Bastion Hotel Budapest
#149 of 333 in Budapest
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalvin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalvin House

Address: Goenczy Pal utca 6, Budapest 1093, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#63 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $72 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kalvin House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Kalvin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kalvin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing