We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location, average hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kalvin House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kalvin House to your Saves list
Hotel Kalvin House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goenczy Pal utca 6, Budapest 1093, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location, average hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you are looking to save money and want to be in tourist area, this hotel is OK. The rooms are spacious, but the beds are like sleeping on a slab of concrete, and I couldn't get the windows open to get some fresh air. The service was pleasant and helpful when I had to leave early in the morning (before they started breakfast) they made me a sandwich to go!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlvr102155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    184
    45
    7
    6
See reviews for
49
150
42
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great place! The rooms (we stayed in two different ones and had friends in others) are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast is hearty and fresh and the location is convenient. The staff is really helpful with lots of tourist information. Good restaurants are around the corner, the fabulous central market is a block away and the Danube just two more. Trams to the center of Budapest are also minutes away. If you're traveling in August, DO book a room with AC. The others may have a nice balcony overlooking the garden, but we were really happy to be able to cool off and sleep well.

Room Tip: The 4th floor rooms with AC are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Behind the rather austere entrance this is a charming traditional city centre hotel. The very high ceilinged rooms are clean, light and airy with an old world charm. None of your modern bland rooms, these have solid wood block floors with rugs, older style furniture and a charm which gives one a feeling of 'coming home' at the end of the day. The en-suite bathrooms are modern, clean and fresh.

The staff are courteous and helpful. I had a minor problem with the shower fixing and they had a handyman in and the problem solved by the next day. Breakfasts are well presented in bright, sunny dining rooms with a wide range of choices from a continental range.

The hotel is very will sited for walking the city being just 5 mins walk from the river and famous Market Hall. A Tesco Expressz (6.00 - 23.00) is just across the way along with a number of shops.

A couple of even better if:
I found the curtains to be decorative rather than functional and it was a bit of a challenge to get a decent blackout.
In the high heat of summer I was luck to be at the back of the hotel with a shady courtyard providing a cool breeze but the front rooms do appear to be very sunny and therefore warm. Yes they have fans but I wonder how cool the rooms were when heat outside was 30+

One Health and Safety point.
The hotel has a semi circular concrete spiral stair with the lift passing down the centre. In the event of a fire this is the only way out and any semblance of fire doors isolating this vital central exit are not self closing. I'm confident the balconies, doors etc. would offer safe refuge for rescue but if bringing a group or family I'd recommend a 2 min discussion if not sharing the same room.

Room Tip: Front rooms are sunnier and much warmer, cooler at the rear but smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

From the moment we arrived it was a great experience.

The staff was totally friendly, helpful and full of great advice.We were given maps and info and directions to walk or take the tram or Metro to wherever we wanted to go. The location is perfect - so close to all that is going on. A bit noisy early in the morning as the windows were wide open to help keep us cool(ish), but not too bad.

Parking was a nightmare but that was hardly the Hotels fault, but we got lucky with a temporary spot right outside the door. We were directed to a parking garage a few blocks away which worked out good - local cash only though so take about 800 HUF per day back to the garage to get your car out.

The rooms were easily the largest we have seen in Europe for a budget hotel. High geilings, big bed and full bathroom and even a monster plant in the corner!

The breakfast was adequate and tasty, pretty typical but it was a budget hotel after all.

Room Tip: No AC in our rooms, but the fan did a pretty good job, but you have to have the window open. That ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BC_Travellers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a double room that was massive - great big deep tub to soak in after long hot days in the summer sun; the staff are lovely - the breakfast was very tasty; The location is superb - 2 mins walk to the market, bank of the Danube; 10 mins to St Gellerts, and 1 mins to the metro. There isn't AC in the rooms which we didnt realise before we got there - the days were 41deg C, and my husband usually cannot sleep in the summer without AC, however we opened the windows, put the fan on and he slept like a baby. Would definitely recommend this place to a friend and re-visit next time in budapest.

Room Tip: we stayed on the first floor in a charming and huge double room on the end. Lovely except it can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The location is excellent, the rooms are basic, but clean and functional, the breakfast is typical continental, but the best thing about the hotel was the helpful staff; nothing was too much for them.

We booked too rooms, but as my friend is a light sleeper, they moved him without any quibble, (not that there was any major noise).

The staff helped with excursions, public transport and made a couple of calls for us in Hungarian, before translating the outcome for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#60 of 335 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#63 of 335 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
District V / Inner City
Residence Baron
Residence Baron
#40 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Peregrinus ELTE Hotel
Peregrinus ELTE Hotel
#130 of 335 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#41 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#61 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalvin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalvin House

Property: Hotel Kalvin House
Address: Goenczy Pal utca 6, Budapest 1093, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#63 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kalvin House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kalvin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kalvin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing