We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Korona Pension”
Review of Korona Panzio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Korona Panzio
Ranked #160 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
featherstone
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Korona Pension”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed at the Korona 10th to 13th March 2012 .For a 2 * pension it was very good ,rooms were spotless and cleaned every day ,the buffet breakfast was typical European ,salads croissants fruit cold meats and hot scrambled eggs,The only downside was hotel was a 2 bus rides to city but we didnt pay a single fare as no one knew where to get tickets,
P.S. Please note all museums closed on a Monday

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fevphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    191
    97
    22
    41
See reviews for
70
223
27
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
croydon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We visited the korona in early march and had a great time.Hotel is clean and comfortable with fair sized rooms.The breakfast is served in the restaurant a couple of metres up the road and was very good,with plenty of choices to eat.Rooms had comfortable beds,plenty of hot water in the shower.There was also tv, free wifi and our room had a pleasent balcony so i could have smoke outside.The hotel is on the outskirts of budapest but was easy to get into the centre of budapest by bus.Staff at the hotel were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyjoyce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Very good value for money. Very good access if you drive a car. By bus to the center can be reached but are necessary transfers. Breakfast is very delicious. Rooms could use a renovation but it is good - very clean and nice. Very friendly and competent staff, able to return at any time - we came back again around midnight.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Me and my wife went on a cheap weekend break and loved the Korona. Location is fine as long as you are prepared that you will be catching a bus into town. We didn't wait longer than 5-10ins and it just added to our experience of discovering the city.

The bus is only 400 forint each (just over a £1).

I would recommend checking out a Ruin Bar if you can, we had a brilliant time and it was all very safe.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 12 and were able to get free wifi. Also, the restaurant is very good, i recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drummingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holycross Tipperary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My best friend and I travelled to Budapest for the Christmas Markets, and stayed at the korona. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is small but clean and very comfortable beds. We had a twin room over the restaurant with a veranda which was basic but lovely. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was delicious, however, I would say, if you order a steak and like it med to well, ORDER IT CREMATED! as medium steak was still breathing on the plate!! but the quality of meat was excellent! The bar is supposed to close at 22hr, however we were still there at 3.30 with Soltan! While the hotel is out of town, the bus and tram service is very good. Must go to the Gellert spa and have a massage! We took a lunch time cruise on the Danube with buffet lunch which was superb, all for €20! Also the Imperator restaurant is fab and will drive you home in a limo! Must try the hungarian goulash - delicious and the gluewien at the markets - superb! Xmas markets will really get you in the mood for christmas (we went 6th - 9th dec 2011) but go on a tues or wed as Friday was bedlam! A beautiful city and people are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Some rooms are up the road from the hotel as ours was, but they are where the restaurant is so this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaygang8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed three nights in this hotel for a city break in December 2011. The price for stay was really a baragin, booked two weeks in advance on hotels.com. The hotel is situated near Lebanon embassy in Budapest, more precisely in the Buda part of the city. The surroundings are quiet and seemed to be very safe. It is situated a little bit far from the city center and all touristic attractions, but they are easy to reach by pubilc transport (you have to take two buses, first right in front of the pension, change three stops away with one which leaves you right after Erszebet bridge, meters away from famous Vaci utca. You can buy bus tickets or even Budapest card from the reception. All receptionists were very kind and offered valuable informations about the city and public transport. the breakfast was a lavish and variated one. It is served in a building, 20 m uphill from the hotel, in a restaurant where you can eat other meals during daytime at decent prices. The rooms are very clean.
But there are some minuses. The Wifi signal is very very weak in the rooms and the car parking is very small. You can of course leave the car outside the building without any costs, and there are plenty free parking spaces. There was a little too cold in the room when we arrived, but the problem was solved quick. It is a hotel I would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building (the hotel has two buildings and the rooms in the main seemed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bogdan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend at the hotel. We were not expecting a fantastic room and we did not get one, ours was basic but had what is usually needed at a hotel.
When on holidays, we usually walk through town during the day, come back to Hotel early evening and then go out at night to a restaurant or bar. The location of this hotel does not facilitate that as it takes you two buses to go to the city centre or the Danube banks. Early evening, when we got to the hotel, we did not have enough energy to take two more buses to go to town and then two more to return.
Inside the room, the shower head was broken and did not get fixed even after notifying reception twice. Wifi did not work in our room, number 17, so we had to stay at the lobby checking e-mails. Reception was notified again but the problem still remained.
On the other hand, room was clean and staff were friendly and helped us with directions and information about the town. Minibar prices are great and there is a good selection. Breakfast was good, with eggs, local sausages, coffee, juices. We did not eat at their restaurant but the selection and prices were interesting.

Room Tip: You you want wifi, don't use room 17 as the signal does not work well over there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Djola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Gloria
Hotel Gloria
#236 of 333 in Budapest
214 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aventura Boutique Hostel
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#98 of 333 in Budapest
190 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Chesscom
Hotel Chesscom
#99 of 333 in Budapest
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pension Helios
Hotel Pension Helios
#109 of 333 in Budapest
335 reviews
4.8 mi away
Botel Hotel Lisa
Botel Hotel Lisa
#199 of 333 in Budapest
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Korall
Villa Korall
#141 of 333 in Budapest
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korona Panzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korona Panzio

Property: Korona Panzio
Address: Sasadi ut 123, Budapest 1112, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Korona Panzio 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Korona Panzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Korona Panzio Budapest
Korona Panzio Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing