We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little castle with great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
Ranked #116 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Akaa, Finland
1 review
“A little castle with great location and service”
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We really enjoyed our vacation. The staff was great and the location of this little castle was excellent. Althought the traffic under the window was busy, it didn´t disturbe too much. And the food in Karat Restaurant was delicious. Surprise was, that the reception didn´t accept Visa-card at all, they demanded money...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kekkeruusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    153
    75
    26
    16
See reviews for
88
191
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed in one of the apartments and found most everything to be fine. Upon checking out we had an aggressive staff member demand that we pay the bill in cash. Upon asking why and reminding them that we already reserved with a credit card, the staff person offered no explanation and still demanded cash. It truly felt like we were part of a scam. Who carries 68,000 Forint in their wallet! Ruined an otherise nice visit to Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LH0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

The hotel is a good base to explore Buda and Pest with good transport links nearby the hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast was varied and buffet style. Our room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant provided good Hungarian food. Even better go a short walk down the Hill to the Janos restaurant at the Charles Hotel. Fantastic cooking!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steve_sue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minni96
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Gold Hotel Buda is a cozy hotel of some thirty rooms. Room and spaces were taken care of and tidy. Service was friendly. The hotel locates on Buda side, only short walk from Buda castle and fortress hill. Downtown attractions are also within walking range. Congress centre is located nearby.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minni96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Please be advised that this is NOT a 4-star hotel. In some publications you may read that this hotel offers a view of the Danube or the beautiful Buda Hills of which neither is the case. What you will find is that the hotel is on one of the busiest and noisiest streets in Budapest so consider yourself lucky if you have a view of their parking lot. In order to get to the beautiful Buda Hills you must walk down two short blocks and make a right at the Strip Joint before entering the graffiti strewn hills. Be careful where you step as dog walkers have the habit of not picking up after their pets.

As for the room, it was rather plain and tasteless but comfortable enough if you don't mind the occasional flea bite and can tolerate the smell of fabreeze to mask the smell of cigarettes in their non-smoking rooms.

One night was more than enough for us and we moved to a legitimate 5-star hotel across the river the next day for not that much more, especially considering what we received for our money.

If you decide to give the Gold Buda a go despite this warning and you arrive and find yourself disappointed after all, please do not check in thinking that you can stay a night and then cancel the rest of your stay as you will be charged for those remaining nights as well despite the cancellation policy of 24 hours.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotter90272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arany-Toth, manager at Gold Hotel Wine & Dine, responded to this review, August 14, 2009
I regretfully read the above review. In Gold Hotel Buda we have very few complaints, but if the guest informs us about a problem, we solve it immediately to make his/her stay pleasant and comfortable.
Our and our partners' website content are checked and updated frequently, but it could happen that a third party publication wrote us misleading information. We do our best to correct them.
Human fleas are not current in Budapest, but there are flying bugs as everywhere. We are prepared to solve such a problem immediately.
Late cancellation fee is 1 night, except the 3 days of the Formula 1 in July, when we have different policies and prices.
We are apologizing when a problem occurs and we make all possible steps to solve it.
Mariann Arany-Tóth manager of Gold Hotel Buda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Kent
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2009

The Gold Hotel Buda is a comfortable, efficient, unassuming, friendly small hotel (25 rooms and 5 apartments) in a good position in Budapest.
We stayed in a large room with quiet, efficient air-conditioning (outside temperature 39C)
Excellent English spoken by reception staff
Good restaurant with good selection of Hungarian food as well as international dishes
Helpful after booking on-line (goldbuda@goldhotel.hu) including arranging taxi transfer from airport.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raccoon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodend, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Great hotel and easy to find. Good location if you want to be in the Buda part of town. However, there didn't seem to be any easy access to public transit if you want to go to Pest.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#89 of 334 in Budapest
539 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 334 in Budapest
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Budapest City
#88 of 334 in Budapest
794 reviews
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#123 of 334 in Budapest
1,621 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#70 of 334 in Budapest
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Hotel Wine & Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Hotel Wine & Dine

Property: Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
Address: Hegyalja ut 14, Budapest 1016, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Budapest
#81 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#94 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Hotel Wine & Dine 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine is an attractive, new hotel with caring staff in central Budapest. We offer premium hotel rooms, 2-bedroom apartments, restaurant, terrace, meeting room, parking, garden & free WiFi. Make your stay more pleasant with half board & wine tasting. How much are you conscious? Our restaurant serves healthy foods, our eco hotel rooms are environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gold Hotel Wine & Dine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing