We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really caring staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
Ranked #113 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really caring staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I've just got back from Budapest with two of my girl friends, we absolutely loved it and the location of the Gold Hotel ensured we got plenty of exercise!! It was situated at the top of the hill which led down to the Elizabeth Bridge, so it was roughly a 20 minute walk to beginning of the shopping areas (obviously walking back up to the hotel after a day's sightseeing was a bit tiring!) But cabs and buses were always available.

The only real gripe I had about the room was that we had very small windows which weren't very effective in creating a breeze or giving much natural light. Our air-con also didn't work, so with three of us sharing a room it often got quite hot and stuffy. But at the end of the day, it is a base to keep your belongings and sleep. The beds were very comfortable and we were always so tired from the day trips that we all slept very well!

I don't think I'd recommend the hotel to anyone who is a light sleeper, as it is situated on a main road and there is a constant sound of traffic and/or sirens. I'm a heavy sleeper so I didn't find it too much of a problem, but once you're aware of the sound it was sometimes hard to block it out.

We booked room only so didn't get to sample any food at the hotel, but the restaurant downstairs looked very nice and predominantly Italian (which was fine by me!)

The staff were always lovely and friendly, they were always very helpful with maps and explaining things. One of the male receptionists in particular was very kind and helpful with regards to booking taxi's and making sure the driver knew exactly where he was going, he seemed genuinely concerned about our well-being which was reassuring, and it was much nicer than just being left to sort it out ourselves. We also purchased our Hop On, Hop off Bus tickets from reception and the lady was very helpful in explaining what we got for our money.

Overall we really enjoyed our Budapest experience! The pound to forint conversion means that your money certainly goes a long way out there, and there is so much to see and do.

I highly recommend the boat trip over to Margaret Island, it was a beautiful place and great for chilling, eating and bike riding. Also make sure you include a visit to Szechenyi Baths - Both amazing on a hot days!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1984jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    150
    70
    26
    15
See reviews for
84
185
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a small family run hotel which is brand new. Don't expect gastronomic meals but the food is good and very reasonably priced and nothing is too hard work for the staff. The hotel is close to a main road but the superb double glazing stops most of the noise. I never once was interrupted by the noise in my sleep. I loved the bathroom which had a huge double shower. The furniture in the hotel is also new if somewhat of dated design but that does not cause any concerns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the hotel to get quietest options
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Good food, helpful staff, internet in the room for free. We have spent our Holiday in Gold

Hotel Budapest and we suggest you to choose this hotel, if you come to Budapest. They have

their own restaurant in Italian Stye and not only the sytle is Italian, but it tastes real Italian.

Very delicious. We had our Anniversary celebrated that time and the hotel Staff was extremly

kind and helped us a lot.

Location is very good. Buda Castle is in walking distance and public transport is frequent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Briggs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

There's a lot thats good with the Gold Hotel but not quite everything. You may be happy to accept the few things that are not quite right but I don't think I could go for the full 5 stars. Our room was 24 and although noisy, the AC worked well; however our friends in rooms 23 and 25 slept very little with the AC knocking, grinding and buzzing through the nights. The room was tidy and neat and up to date, but I missed my tea making facilities and the battery driven soap dispenser didn't (dispense that is). The sensor in the taps makes cleaning your teeth a bit like juggling. The towels were a bit threadbare and like using velcro to dry on. However the rest was fine and the beds comfortable. The night porter was very welcoming and extremely informative especially about a certain restaurant that was highly recommended and required advance booking to get into. The welcome slipped a bit when we asked for a taxi to take us to a different restaurant and interestingly every time we passed the "recommended restaurant" in a taxi over the next few days we couldn't see more than a few people in it. Unfortunately he hadn't heard of any of the restaurants we were interested in visiting despite them being in the top ten of Tripadvisor Budapest restaurants! Hmmm! Breakfast 'downstairs' was very good and the rest of the staff very pleasant - as indeed was everyone we met in Budapest, which is a very clean, pleasant, interesting and picturesque city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Had a wonderful time, was a little worried that the hotel was on a busy main road, but triple glazing and air conditioning meant we didn't hear a thing. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Highly recommend this as a quality hotel. Well located only 10-15 mins downhill to town and same uphill to the citadel. Steep hill to walk back up, so often jumped in taxi

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed as a party of four adults at the hotel Mon-Fri in May half term. It was spotlessly clean, quiet(with windows closed) and very comfy. Staff were so helpful, considerate, polite and efficient. Taxis booked for us to and from airport. Breakfast served in restaurant on lower gr floor - typically continental - plenty of cold meats, cheeses, pickles, salads, fresh fruits, cereals and yoghurts, coffee, teas, juices, breads, pastries etc, as well as a Hungarian version of cooked breakfast, frankfurter type sausages, lechtko (ratatouille) and scrambled egg, help yourself style. All replenished regularly. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone here. Beds firm but quite comfy. Temperature was humid 27/8* while we were here and once we worked out the air conditioning, had to leave on all night. Room Mini bar fridge not cold, so don't leave food inside or expect cool water, but nice gesture and to be fair we didn't ask the hotel to do anything about that. On great, regular bus link route for Pest. Really great value for money. Only drawback for some could be situation on main road, but we slept well given we had the air con and it meant we were on bus route, so pay your money and take your choice I guess. VERY handy for Citadel. Little 24 hour shop for bottles of water/wine/sandwiches fruit etc (miserable staff there though). Great stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms feel a bit vulnerable if leaving windows open as very close to residents and busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AwAwAwAwAw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is a very nice hotel I booked via Superbreak. Superbreak themselves were very good with all their arrangements and information. The Gold hotel is only 10 minutes walk from the bridge at the start of the city centre, however it is downhill and therefore uphill on the way back although the route is very well served with buses.
The restaurant at the hotel is very good indeed, it is Italian fare which is fine but if you went there for Hungarian food or anything else then it is not for you. Breakfast is good with both hot and cols food, good but not truly outstanding.
The hotel is situated in the Pest side of the city which is fine and as said near to the centre - even nearer to the Citadel and other Pest attractions.
My only other (minor) gripe with the hotel is that walls between rooms must be very thin as sound carries well. The hotel is good, clean and very friendly and helpful, I am happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#44 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#83 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
District I / Buda
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Carlton Hotel Budapest
#81 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Hotel Wine & Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Hotel Wine & Dine

Property: Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
Address: Hegyalja ut 14, Budapest 1016, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Budapest
#79 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#94 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Hotel Wine & Dine 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine is an attractive, new hotel with caring staff in central Budapest. We offer premium hotel rooms, 2-bedroom apartments, restaurant, terrace, meeting room, parking, garden & free WiFi. Make your stay more pleasant with half board & wine tasting. How much are you conscious? Our restaurant serves healthy foods, our eco hotel rooms are environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gold Hotel Wine & Dine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing