We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gold Hotel Budapest
Nearby Hotels
$567
$542
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$192
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$185
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$105
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
$190
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
New York Palace(Budapest)
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$291
$211
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$152
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$364
$310
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveler rating
220
169
81
27
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
169
81
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgellert hillbuda sidemain roadcity centreelizabeth bridgehotel is locateddouble glazingno tea coffee facilitiesnice hotelair conbus servicethe hotel staffminute walkvisit budapest againspent nightsthird floorpublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 514 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed as a party of four adults at the hotel Mon-Fri in May half term. It was spotlessly clean, quiet(with windows closed) and very comfy. Staff were so helpful, considerate, polite and efficient. Taxis booked for us to and from airport. Breakfast served in restaurant on lower gr floor - typically continental - plenty of cold meats, cheeses, pickles, salads, fresh fruits, cereals and yoghurts, coffee, teas, juices, breads, pastries etc, as well as a Hungarian version of cooked breakfast, frankfurter type sausages, lechtko (ratatouille) and scrambled egg, help yourself style. All replenished regularly. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone here. Beds firm but quite comfy. Temperature was humid 27/8* while we were here and once we worked out the air conditioning, had to leave on all night. Room Mini bar fridge not cold, so don't leave food inside or expect cool water, but nice gesture and to be fair we didn't ask the hotel to do anything about that. On great, regular bus link route for Pest. Really great value for money. Only drawback for some could be situation on main road, but we slept well given we had the air con and it meant we were on bus route, so pay your money and take your choice I guess. VERY handy for Citadel. Little 24 hour shop for bottles of water/wine/sandwiches fruit etc (miserable staff there though). Great stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms feel a bit vulnerable if leaving windows open as very close to residents and busy main road. Did not see other rooms but assume all pretty much same good quality, some baths with shower over, some just shower. Guess you should ask if particular about this. TV in all and zip link for doubles.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AwAwAwAwAw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is a very nice hotel I booked via Superbreak. Superbreak themselves were very good with all their arrangements and information. The Gold hotel is only 10 minutes walk from the bridge at the start of the city centre, however it is downhill and therefore uphill on the way back although the route is very well served with buses.
The restaurant at the hotel is very good indeed, it is Italian fare which is fine but if you went there for Hungarian food or anything else then it is not for you. Breakfast is good with both hot and cols food, good but not truly outstanding.
The hotel is situated in the Pest side of the city which is fine and as said near to the centre - even nearer to the Citadel and other Pest attractions.
My only other (minor) gripe with the hotel is that walls between rooms must be very thin as sound carries well. The hotel is good, clean and very friendly and helpful, I am happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We have just spent 4 nights at this hotel. We had a car transfer from the airport which cost 8500 forints arranged by the Hotel. Well worth the money arriving in Budapest at 1710pm. Our room was very nice not large but as good as many european hotels we have stayed in. Distance from the centre of Budapest is about 20mins by walking but there is good bus service 112 and 8/8a. 300 forints in advance from news stands 490 forints on the bus. However, drivers are not happy if you pay on the bus. As been said before the Italian Restaurant is very good. We ate on two occasions and enjoyed the food very much. Very reasonable priced too. The Hotel's breakfast has all the ingredients that you usually can eat but there was too much choice. If they cut out the biscuits and cake and provided fresh fruit cut as a fruit salad that would have been more to our liking. The apples and oranges were skin on. No bananas. Our room 24 was too hot and we did complaine and they solved it by leaving our window open all day!!. At night we had to close the window to block out the noise from the front street. Room 24 faces the side street. All the staff at this Hotel were very friendly, one of the girls who was present at breakfast helped in the restuarant and had fair long hair was exceptional. Our room was cleaned to a high standard every day but something we are not used too as most hotels now follow a "green policy"( leaving towels on the floor if you wanted them changed or in the bath) was clean towels every day We would have been quite happy for them to have been changed less. Saving money on laundering would mean more cash for the air con. We used the Giraffe hop on hop off bus and it is valid for 48 hours. Exceptional good value and we had two cruises included for the ticket value of 5500 forints. We went on a cruise in the morning and at night. Do not miss the night cruise along the Danube fabulous. We also went on the Parliament Tour. 1750 forints if you have your passport with you and are a EU holder. At 630pm the flag is lowered outside and a special ceremony takes part to watch free.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovestotravelNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We spent 3 nights there; we liked our room.
We ate at the restaurant (Italian cuisine) the 1st night; we liked it enough, that we ate there every night. Yes, that sounds silly, but I am of the opinion that, if you find a good restaurant, why risk it and look elsewhere?
The breakfast buffet is not included, but was worth the price.
The only hassle is that the bathroom sink used an infrared sensor instead of a faucet, and that was a real pain when washing up or filling a glass of water.
The location is OK: close enough for a long walk to the center or the castle, though in practice you had to take a bus.
The nearby road is really noisy, so you can't really sit in the garden.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavideAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

just returned from a weekend in budapest and stayed at the gold hotel buda cant praise the hotel enough very freindly and helpful staff,excellent rooms and the amulet italian resturant in the hotel was superb.
would have no hesitation in returning when i go to budapest again,which i will do soon as i had a great weekend.
the only down side which is no reflection on the hotel is to check the cab fares on each journey,as they varied from 1500 huf to 6000 huf for the same journey.
will have no hesitation in recomending this hotel for visits to this beutiful city

Room Tip: will not be dissappointed whatever you get,elevators to all floors,double glazed windows shut out all noise,i was given double rooms and wanted twin and was relocated instantly. faultless
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derek r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews