We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend it highly enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
Ranked #120 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My first impression of the Gold Buda Hotel (beyond the very pretty exterior) was a lovely man on reception, who after checking us in spent around 20 minutes giving us advice on things to see on the area and answering our numerous questions! The staff were all wonderful and incredibly helpful, and the room was of a good size, clean and well-presented. The location is great, with good transport links to the Pest side, and within walking distance to Buda Castle. There's also a shop almost next door, for any little bits that are needed.

It really is great - I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kxd536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 497 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

Visited Nov 2011, nice little hotel located on the Buda side.
Good transportation links actually not too bad to walk into town.
Quite a noisy situation as on a main rd, good value for money, wouldn't say it's the most modern accommodation but its clean and functional,
Reception staff vey helpful, breakfast buffet ok takes them a while to replenish.

Fine for a weekend stay , value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank didi2965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights commencing on the 27th of January.
Prior to the trip, I booked a taxi through the hotel to meet us at the airport - the taxi was there waiting for us as promised.
On arrival, the reception staff were extremely pleasant & helpful & also spoke very good english. They also pointed us out a local restaurant for dinner & booked a table for us. The room was lovely and warm, clean and perfectly spacious for 2 people. The bathroom was an adequate size and clean (the only thing missing from the room was drawers).

The hotel is ideally situated for walking to the city centre (about 20-25 minutes to the centre), the walk is down hill. The return uphill walk in the evening can be a little hard work though, but this would not put me off staying in this hotel as public transport is cheap & frequent. Although the hotel is situated on a main road, our room was facing a side road so traffic noise wasn't problematic at night.
Continental breakfast was included in the hotel price and had plenty of choice of breads, cheese, meats & pastries.

During our stay, we had a lightbulb go out and trip the fuses in the room, the reception man came and dealt with it straight away.
We went to one of the thermal baths which was thoroughly enjoyable - highly reccommended in winter! The hotel also do various discount tickets for these.

We had a taxi booked for us to take us back to the airport, which was there on time to collect us.

Overall, good value for money, polite, clean and friendly and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank candice g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights together with a friend. I enjoyed my stay here! The staff are friendly, they speak English very well and they are keen to help you and to show you on the map how to find your way around the city.
Our room was nice and clean. The breakfast is ok, not more.
Just have in mind that most of the attractions, restaurants and shops are on the Pest side of the city. But it's really not far, you can walk downtown, or take one of the buses that stop just outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina_Swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Our family of 4 took an apartment in the next door building of Gold Hotel Buda. The apartment was quite huge: 2 rooms, equipped kitchen, dining area, bathroom, separate WC. We also had a balcony, where we could smoke. We could park our car in the garden of Gold Hotel Buda. It is not expencive, only 10 Euro per night.
We also bought a family card for 48h. It was also really cheap, only 2200,-HUF (aroun 7,5 Euro). It was valid for 2 adults and for 2 children under 14-years-old.
We were totally satisfied with our stay. Budapest is beautiful, hope to go back sometimes.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel looks wonderful and it is wonderful. We enjoyed our stay very much and I would
return. Receptionist arranged us a taxi transfer to get to the hotel from the airport easily.
We got our room on time. The room is clean, nice, quite, bathroom had some accessories. We also had breakfast, which was quite nice with plenty of choises. We bought a 72 hours travel card at the metro station. This card is valid for unlimited trips within Budapest, so we
decided to look around by ourselves and not to take any sight seeing tours. We enjoyed our
trip very much and I hope we can return sometimes.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We come to Budapest to try the termal spas. We chose Gold Hotel Buda, because there are 2 thermal baths nearby and I tell you, Gold Hotel Buda was a really good choice. The 2 thermal
spas in the neighborhood are Gellért Spa and Rudas Spa. Gellért Spa has a beautiful Art Deco
building and it is only 10 minutes from Gold Hotel Buda. Rudas is closer, only 10 minutes on
foot. It is not a big spa in Budapest, but it's a traditional (500 years old) Turkish bath. Ladies and men cannot be mixed, so be careful when you go. Finally we also visited the
Szechenyi spa. This one was the biggest with plenty of indoor and outdoor pools. When you
are visiting spas, make sure you have your head cup, swimming or bathing suit and towel with
you. A slipper is also neccessary.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#45 of 334 in Budapest
644 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#44 of 334 in Budapest
571 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#88 of 334 in Budapest
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Fashion Hotel
#89 of 334 in Budapest
1,187 reviews
Novotel Budapest City Hotel
#93 of 334 in Budapest
850 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#87 of 334 in Budapest
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Hotel Wine & Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Hotel Wine & Dine

Address: Hegyalja ut 14, Budapest 1016, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Budapest
#83 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#94 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $49 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Hotel Wine & Dine 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine is an attractive, new hotel with caring staff in central Budapest. We offer premium hotel rooms, 2-bedroom apartments, restaurant, terrace, meeting room, parking, garden & free WiFi. Make your stay more pleasant with half board & wine tasting. How much are you conscious? Our restaurant serves healthy foods, our eco hotel rooms are environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gold Hotel Wine & Dine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing