We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can fully recommend this place”
Review of Szonyi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Szonyi Hotel
Ranked #137 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“I can fully recommend this place”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I spent 6 nights in this hotel and I can fully recommend this place. This is very nice, modern and clean hotel. The hotel is situated in peaceful area, not far to the center of Pest (about 5 km). However to get to the center of Pest one has to walk about 10-15 minutes to the subway station (or 5 minutes by bus – bus stop is about 500 m from the hotel) and then another 15 minutes by subway. It is more difficult to get back to the hotel, because there is no bus stop near the hotel on the way back. The hotel has its own spa with two saunas and big jacuzzi. Hotel serves very tasty breakfast buffet. The staff is very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smaql
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    27
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
36
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is a very nice modern hotel offering great value for the price. It has a good small restaurant and a spa. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included in the price and the variety, quantity, and quality of the food is very good. If you're driving to Budapest, there is also ample free parking on the property. Free internet service is available and it was fast and dependable. We were there during an unseasonably cold spell in February and the room was comfortably heated. Rooms have a small balcony with chairs for warmer weather.

What, if any, are the downsides? If the weather is bad and you either don't have a car or don't want to walk in rain and snow to public transportation, you'll need to take a taxi to get to downtown, and from my experience, taxis in Budapest are relatively quite expensive compared to, say, Vienna. If you need one, the hotel can summon one up in about 5 minutes. The beds have a plastic mattress cover which leads to the sheets pulling out and bunching up during the night. While the rest of the bathroom was excellent, the shower mechanism appeared to be a relic of the communist era. You either had to accept low output or little directional control unless you took it down from its mounting and held it by hand. Very inconvenient.

On balance, I would certainly consider staying here again if I revisit Budapest--which is worth doing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in September while sightseeing and visiting relatives. The close proximity to downtown, metro station, free parking was just what I was looking for. The rooms are nice, clean, and maintained well. The breakfast was esxceptional. The food was so good at the restaurant that wemade reservations and had a dinner party there one night with 15 people. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: One block to the bus station (bus 25). Then 2 stops to Mexikoi ut station. From there M1 subway goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank car4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I've stayed a couple of times and everything was perfect as I wrote before. Only one thing to mention - on TV there are porno channels between Discovery and Cartoon network programs. It's a little bit confusing when you travel with kids

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PeterVarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This one is the best 3* hotel I have ever visited (and I do travel a lot!) The spa area is a dream, just the right thing to do after a long walk across the city! The rooms are nice, the receptionist are very friendly, the breakfast is not too big, but good! We really felt at home and would advice this hotel to our friends! The only tip: take shampoo with you, they only put a shower gel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateryna55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Excellent staff, nice and cozy room, the breakfast was good enough, free parking, if you're on second floor lack of elevator it is a problem to drag your luggage

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterVarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I"ve spent there 4 nights and I really enjoyed my staying there. The room was spacious, with cozy balcony with a view to the garden with parking, free for the guests. The room looks as new, very clean and with a lot of light. Everything, what I need I had: a hair-dryer, a safe, a TV with many channels, mini-bar, bath-tube. The room was cleaned every day. I hadn't any problems with free WiFi at all. Also it was pleasure to visit their free jacuzzi and sauna (it was available from 10 to 21). I was very surprised by the excellent breakfast! The surroundings are nice and quite. It takes you 10-15 minutes to get to the metro by walk and appr. 10 minutes by metro to get the center. The stuff is polite and helpful

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tossabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Papillon
#114 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#99 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Beatrix Hotel - Budapest
#155 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Villa Hotel Kristal
Villa Hotel Kristal
#145 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Expo Congress Hotel
#116 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#90 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Szonyi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Szonyi Hotel

Property: Szonyi Hotel
Address: Szonyi ut 38, Budapest 1142, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Szonyi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Szonyi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing