We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Hotel Kristal
Ranked #144 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay in Budapest”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We loved staying at this B&B in Budapest. Our room was clean and comfortable and had a small fridge. On the third day the young man working at reception told us there was a room now available with its own balcony if we would like it! The breakfast here was plentiful and the staff was extremely kind and helpful, with many suggestions for things to do. There was off street parking so our car was safe at all times. We enjoy walking so the location for us was perfect. Within a 20 minute walk on safe sidewalks we could be in the Main Square. The location helped to make the price very affordable, but if you are unable to walk this distance you might want to stay closer to the Old Town. We had washed clothes at a laundromat and they did not dry completely, so David at reception even let us hang our clothes to dry in their laundry room. All in all a very enjoyable 4 night stay. If I would improve one thing it would be that they change towels more frequently. It may be a Hungarian custom not to change towels during a stay, because this happened in other B&Bs, but North American standards make us used to having our towels changed at least every second day...maybe North Americans are just too fussy and not eco-friendly enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ana181722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    35
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
29
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We liked the staff, very friendly and gave good info about getting about. The room was clean and comfortable, and was air-conditioned, which helped cope with the heat. Free parking and wifi. Walking distance to city, though you need to be quite fit as it's uphill and down hill! Close to public transport bus that takes you to Pest in few minutes. The only downside was that we were on the third floor without a lift, not suitable if you are lugging a lot of luggage or mobility is an issue! But would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights. Hotel is good; price was OK. Breakfast was OK and enough. The staff was friendly and the service was good. Only the beds were not good. You could feel the iron spiral of the matras. It would be good to change these. You are in 20 minutes walk in the center of Budapest. Or take the bus (5 minutes walk). The car is parked safely.

Helpful?
1 Thank evo1156
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tehran
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel because someone recomeded it , but everything was wrong from the beginning , the stuff at the reception are so un proffesional & unfriendly , no lift so i had to carry my suitcases all the way throug narrow strairs ( no one would help) , rooms are extremely small , the place smells cigarette specially during breakfast guess someone smokes everyday in the kitchen , it is located up the hill so if you get off the bus which is almost 1 km far from hotel you must climb al lthe way up, the worst thing which i could not forgive was : after my booking day finished i planed to extend my stay for another 2 day but they told me that the hotel is full ( which was not through ) so they basically kicked me out so I took my lauggage and by chance found the Hotel Charles nearby and since then it is my 5th or 6th stay here and it is terrific ( I wrote a separate review in booking. com about Hotel Charles ) so please dont waist your time and money in this Hotel .

Helpful?
1 Thank ramin67
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel was on a quiet side street, one block from the bus stop. A short bus ride to the city center or a moderate walk. On the Castle Hill side of the river. Only downside was the lack of restaurants in the area. Room was reasonably sized and comfortable. Room was kept clean. Very good value. Breakfast was okay. Staff was very helpful with information on transportation and things to do. Free wi-fi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldwiseHouston_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2012

A very pleasant small hotel in a villa situated in a quiet area but at the same time not far from the city centre. For a very reasonable price you get clean rooms, free parking place, free wi-fi with reliable range and decent breakfast. The staff is very helpful. I would definitely recommend Villa Kristall for all wanting to have a nice stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lukasz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Gellert Hill
Kis Gellert Guesthouse
Kis Gellert Guesthouse
#164 of 333 in Budapest
33 reviews
Jagello Business Hotel
#140 of 333 in Budapest
83 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#86 of 333 in Budapest
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
576 reviews
Hotel Manzard Panzio
#135 of 333 in Budapest
55 reviews
Gellert Hill
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
#118 of 333 in Budapest
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Hotel Kristal

Property: Villa Hotel Kristal
Address: Tars utca 9, Budapest 1118, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Hotel Kristal 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing