We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family room sold on booking.com doesn't exist! Poor standard..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Hotel Kristal
Ranked #144 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I ordered a family room for 2 adults and 2 children on booking.com. However I got two double beds.. If that is what I wanted I wouldnt have ordered one family room! On the second night I got a triple bed with an extra bed which was acceptable. However the rooms are very uncomfortable, in both rooms we tryed. The springs were sticking out in every bed.. The breakfast was quite poor. No fresh bread and the juices where very sugar rich, Eggs were cold. Coffey awful. One selection of cheese (tasteless and rubbery). After I booked with booking.com I went on hotels official website and noticed the prices were cheeper. In addition, there they had no family rooms (for 4!). During the second night there was a gang hanging out in the corridors and in the garden, drinking and fighting and making so much noice so we couldn't sleep,, Not a pleasant expereince and I was surpriced the staff didn't do anything about it. Allthough the staff was friendly I Cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stinajons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 81 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

Our family preference is a quiet neighborhood, where we can walk around after dinner and take in the local culture. This hotel was perfect from that perspective.
The staff were very friendly, so much more so than most countries we've visited, matching the same experience throughout this easy-going city.
Affordable, a decent breakfast, I wouldn't hesitate to book again if and when we return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rft2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I had a very spacious room which was clean and comfortable. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Not close to city but easy bus ride or taxis are quite cheap. Feee car parking.

Room Tip: room 13 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zane13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Good Location, just take the bus 112 and after 3 stops you are in the Vatci Utca, the main centre's street. The Hotel is located near the Cittadella, a place of an historical interest. The staff is very friendly, the breakfast buffet good and satisfying, what didn't satisfy us was the room. Great balcony, it's a pity it's the end of October and we haven't got any chance of sitting outside becouse of the cold, the "pearl" was the bathroom, a tiny loo with the door of the shower that was broken, the bottom of the shower that was more black than white for the dirt though of course the room was properly cleaned before our arrival and the shower tap which was leaking all nights long. By the way It was our second time at this Hotel and last year the other room we got was much better. We asked the same room and it wasn't given us because of the hotel redecoration. Actually they were restaureting all the rooms on the same floor where the room we requested was too.
If you go to Budapest this Hotel deserves a visit, what is more it is convenient compared to other Hotels far the same distance away from the centre, the car's parking is included in the price and it is located in a quite position there ain't no noise though near the Hotel there is a big road. Neverthelless don't ask for the room number 24.
It's worth a visit even the pub located on the opposite site of the centre, back of the hotel on the corner of the main street. You may taste the tipical hungarian cusine along with the very good hungarian beer at a really reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marco72Cesena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

My room was clean and tidy, with nothing material to complain about. The only reason why I haven't given Hotel Kristal more than three stars is because some of the surrounding houses and immediate neighbourhood is run down, but to be fair this is the nature of all Budapest and is not within the control of the hotel.

I think it would be difficult to find better value for money at the price one is being charged. The hotel is up a quiet, residential street and I would say this is more of a pension than a hotel due to its size, residential neighbourhood location and facilities/services.

I received a friendly welcome when booking over the phone and when checking in. The hosts went out of their way to help me with my enquiries, such as where to hire a bicycle. The free wifi was great to have as well.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_01011900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We spent a weekend in this small, nice hotel and experienced its exceptionally friendly, kind, efficent and effective staff. The room itself was clean, spacious and functional. We didn`t miss anything at all. Our car was safe in a closed car park looked after by the staff. Nothing to bother at all. Only to enjoy! And if there is still anything that bothers you, the hotel staff will surely accomodate it for you. The only question is if learn how to combine tram/metro or bus to reach the center in case you don`t decide for a taxi. Once you get it... the only question left is when to visit this place again...

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Clarissa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank sergio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Jagello Business Hotel
#143 of 334 in Budapest
90 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#85 of 334 in Budapest
563 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#45 of 334 in Budapest
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#42 of 334 in Budapest
570 reviews
OnRiver Hotels - MS Maribelle
#114 of 334 in Budapest
84 reviews
Hotel Papillon
#132 of 334 in Budapest
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Hotel Kristal

Address: Tars utca 9, Budapest 1118, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $37 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Hotel Kristal 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing