We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful luxury hotel with excellent friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #15 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This was my second time staying at this hotel. The last time I thought it was fabulous, so the expectations were very high, but they manage to exceed it.
It is a large hotel and has the ambiance of a great luxury hotel. The lobby is one of the most beautiful I've seen, filled with marble splendor, elegant staircases and extravagant flower arrangements.

We booked an executive room, and at the reception we were escorted to the Executive Club, located on the mezzanine floor, where we checked in and were presented with the facilities of the hotel. An added bonus was a special offer with free entrance to one of the great baths of Budapest. We used it at the Rudas bath and it worked fine.

The first room had a distinct smoky smell to it, although we had booked non-smoking. When complaining about it, we were immediately assigned another very nice corner room, this characteristic of the service level we experienced throughout our stay. The room was spacious, elegant (all marble bathroom with tub and separate shower. Beds are very comfortable with super-soft sheets and the pillows of your dream.

The executive lounge is fantastic, free food and drink all day long. They serve wine (white/red/sparkling), beer, mineral water and a selection of fruit juices. Food is taken from a buffet, which offers a selection of sandwiches, typical Hungarian small cheese scones, fresh fruit and vegetables, soup, biscuits and cakes and much more.
We spent every afternoon in the lounge, a perfect way to relax after a day of sightseeing in Budapest.

Breakfast can be taken in the executive lounge, or in the main restaurant which we did most days (much large selection, the best breakfast I've experienced anywhere).

All in all a fabulous hotel, with friendly and efficient service, that is highly recommended. I cannot wait to come back a third time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,345 - 4,351 of 7,292 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2011

Excellent hotel! Don't know about the simple rooms, but the executive rooms were worth the extra cost, since it had extras: snacks, drinks all day long. Just a pitty that their excecutive lounge works until 10 pm. Great location, great room, great breakfast. Nothing bad to say about the place. Worth every cent.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babygrigoriadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

It was snowing and freezing when check in. The fist room provided was extremely hot and no way to control temperature from the room, we requested temperature to be reduced, but front desk recomended to open window. There was a window to an atrium, but no there was no ventilation, there was no way anyone can stay in the room for more than 1hour, so we requested a room change, front desk gave us a room with windows to the street , but the heater was not working in that room, complained again to front desk, they said they will send maintenance to check heater, but maintenance never came that night. This room was freezing so we ended getting sick, complained again to front desk next day, they finally sent an electric heater.

Also, wifii did not work inside the rooms, but in the halls it work. The lobby is beautiful and the breakfast excellent, but definitelly not 5 star rooms or service.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank news150800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corinthiabudapest, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest.

I am really sorry to learn about the temperature problems in the guest room you occupied. Normally our heating system provides a good and ambient temperature across the hotel and we apologise if on this occasion this did not work in the room you occupied. I am sorry for this shortcoming.

I would like to also apologize for the problems with the free wireless internet connection. I have shared your comments with our IT department to review the set up and to avoid any further problems to our guests.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest on a future occasion.

Yours Sincerely,


Adrian Ellis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

My husband and I are currently staying at Corinthia Hotel in Budapest.

There is absolutely NO fault to find.

As hoteliers ourselves, we know what a great job they are doing here.

I highly recommend that travellers pay a little extra to have the benefits of the Executive Club. It includes breakfast, light lunch, and light supper buffet...as well as concierge, business services etc.

Our room is excellent in all regards. Top quality in every regard.

The only complaint would be the same throughout the country of Hungary, more segregation between smokers and non-smokers in public areas. Our non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor, however, was totally smoke free in all regards.

Staff is great and hotel is beautiful. Christmas decorations are still up and they are just lovely.

We would never stay anywhere else in Budapest.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chipmanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We ve booked the exclusive room - proved to be luxurious, clean, really quiet, comfortable. The hotel is situated near to metro station (octagon) while the tram station is outside the hotel. We loved the exclusive services - snacks & Champaign were served all day long. Check in & out is taking place in another reception - only for exclusive members. The best part was the Spa!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

I am staying at the corinthia hotel at the moment and the sulphur / mildew smell in our room is almost unbearable.
Lisa Barrett - London

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisabarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corinthiabudapest, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2011

Dear Ms Lisa Barrett,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the bad smell you experienced in your guest room.
I hope that you are satisfied with the new room that was allocated and now we are investigating the source of the above mentioned smell.

I hope that the remainder of your stay will be enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest.

Kind regards,

Adrian Ellis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

The Corinthia Hotel was amazing, it was everything that i expected and much more. This 5 star hotel did everything to make our stay perfect. The Spa was wonderful with it's pool, sauna, steam room and there where some spa treatments available for an extra cost and it was open until 10pm. The personal service we had in the executive club was perfect especialy with Daniel who did everything possible to make us feel so relaxed during our break in Budapest.
On the day we check out we had 4hrs free before we had to go to the airport, the hotel told us that we could still use there executive club and its facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwynantWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 335 in Budapest
4,863 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 335 in Budapest
4,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $151 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing