We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #19 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2009

I stayed at the Corinthia Grand Hotel over New Years eve 2008/2009. I had an absolutely wonderful stay. The hotel itself is gorgeous inside and out. Great location with plenty of bars, cafes, and stores right outside. The staff was very attentive and kind. I booked an executive room and was practically treated like royalty. I suggest anyone upgrades to an executive room if you can afford it. There is a separate check in, access to the lounge with free drinks/breakfast/snacks, and computers with internet access. Breakfast was great... lots to choose from. The rooms are large (high ceilings!) and very luxurious. Bathroom is all marble with separate tub and shower. Free wifi in the rooms. Very comfortable bed. I also ordered room service which was delicious. The staff was always quick with any help I needed and were very friendly. The bell captain was also very helpful, and any taxi we arranged with them was a nice clean mercedes for a better price than any other taxi you can get in town..

I would definitely stay here again if I go back to Budapest.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gallaghertron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,880 - 4,886 of 7,626 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2009

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this lovely hotel, and would highly recommend it to anyone. The room, although not huge, was clean and well presented, and provided us with more than comfortable accommodation. The food in the hotel is very good - we couldn't afford to eat in the restaurants so chose the piano bar/Bar Royale facilities instead, and we were very impressed. The hotel gym was fine, and housed some up to date equipment which is quite unusual for hotels in this part of the world, and the swimming pool/saunas/steamrooms were a real pleasure!

Best of all though, was the fantastic service offered by ALL the hotel staff. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, they couldn't have been more helpful.

Our only gripes are that because the hotel is very large, it is very difficult to book a massage because all the slots are quickly filled, and the pool/jacuzzi/saunas were often quite full, so we tended to visit them in the evenings when they were quieter.

Regarding location, it is in an excellent position, with lots of shops, restaurants and tourist attractions all within easy walking distance. We had the choice of Turkish, Hungarian, Chinese, Italian and American eaterries all within 10 minutes walking distance - brilliant!

Two tips though: firstly, be careful when choosing a taxi to take you to the hotel from the airport - our quotes from drivers went from 5300 to 8000 fl! And beware the mini-bar - very very expensive, nearly £4 for a snickers bar!

Overall, a great stay in a great hotel. Especially the service.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CarlosWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

A very nice hotel. I spent 4 days over the new year period here with my Wife. We booked an executive room with access to the Executive club lounge. One of the best lounges I have had access to. This is a great facility.

My only issue with our stay was how warm it was in the room itself. At times it felt unbearable. The aircon only functions with cold air in the summer. It was also expensive at around £320 a night

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Powders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

We stayed at the Corinthia Grand after our wedding at the end of June, and it was just what we needed after all the excitement! It was very peaceful, had an enormous comfortable bed, and beautiful bathroom, and helped us to unwind in style.
We did decide to skip the rather over-priced breakfast but we used it as an opportunity to discover the cafe scene in Budapest.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newlywed_gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Great hotel, its very impressive how they have in effect joined three buildings together. Rooms were nice, modern décor. One issue is that they got quite hot overnight as the a/c was a bit poor, so keep an eye open for that one. It was my birthday whilst we were staying and the hotel bought up a bottle of sparkling wine and a mini cake, which was very gracious and well received.
The hotel really is in a great location having a tram and underground within 100yrds of the front door making it easy to get down town. Heaps of great restaurants around too. Have to visit one of the thermal bath’s also. Walking around outside in December in swimming shorts before jumping into a 36c bath is quite spectacular! Also worth a visit is the swimming pool at the hotel. I’ve stayed in many a hotel with a pool, but this was visually the most stunning one ever with as its part of a health club.
Transfers from the airport are a fixed price of 3600. Make sure you get a card from the taxi company who were called ‘Zona Taxi’ so you can call them to book a return trip back to the airport as prices can vary from downtown, whilst they are fixed for this company thus worked out cheaper.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank catmambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

Great hotel, perfect service. Tramline 2 and 4 just in front of the hotel. Metro 5 mnts walking. Dinner a bit pricy, esp. the wines. Clean rooms, very good service. Spa is nice, sauna too hot, need bathing suit with you. No children allowed in Spa. Hotel taxi very expensive (28 euro!), just take Zona Taxi from and to airport, 17 euro. Are parked at the exit airport. They use fixed prices. Are cheaper than the shuttlebus service. Booked with Otel 100 euro/night. Is really cheap for such good quality.

Mrs. Dinnissen
Holland

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lidwien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

No praise is high enough for the quality of this hotel. My wife and I wanted to come to Budapest to visit the Xmas markets, and decided that we would stay in a comfortable relaxing hotel to help recharge our "batteries" after each days endeavours. Without exception this hotel succeeded in doing so.

The attention to detail became obvious from the moment one of the hotel's mercedes taxis picked us up at the airport. On arrival at the hotel, the doorman opened the taxi door and welcomed my wife to Budapest by using her surname.

Booking in was a breeze, by the time we had filled in the necessary forms, we were informed that our luggage was already in our room waiting for us.

The splendour of the entrance is only surpassed by the quality of the rooms. Our room was magnificent. The hotel is ideally placed in the centre of town, and all of the restaurants that we had chosen to eat at, were within 10 minutes walk from the Corinthia.

We ate at the Bock Bistro - a franchise restaurant attached to the hotel, with it's own entrance off the hotel lobby, and once again the quality of the food and the service matched the accomodation.

The hotel Spa was fabulous with a 25m swimming pool, two jacuzzis, steam room etc.

If you have the money - look no further, this is the only hotel to stay in in Budapest.

Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Holiday_tart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#5 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $178 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing