We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful old-world classic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #19 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Beautiful old-world classic hotel”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Such an elegant grand beautiful building. Staff are super friendly and attentive. Worth paying extra for an executive room as the complimentary canapés and drinks are great! Breakfast is good. Just fell in love with the building, decor and grand lobby. Don't recommend the rooms at the front of the building as the street is very noisy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I value your comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. Thank you for highlighting the Executive club, from its services more information can be found on corinthia.com/budapest. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,387
    1,168
    264
    100
    46
See reviews for
904
3,776
208
758
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,087)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Spent 5 days in the Corinthia apartments with my husband and 2 children. Everything about this experience was wonderful. The apartment was spacious and very nicely decorated. The cleaning staff were first class. The lovely lady concierge (who we challenged for entertaining things to do at least twice a day) was always good humoured and helpful even teaching our girls some Hungarian. The breakfast is the best I have ever had. Loved the daily specials and the friendliness and helpfulness of the restaurant staff. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The chocolate / cake cafe was a favourite treat as were deserts from the bar menu. All in all it was a wonderful experience. I cannot recommend the Corinthia highly enough. If you are thinking about it I'd go ahead and book. We look forward to staying in one of their other hotels in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Son D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
I cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad to note that your stay was great here. I will pass your kind comments to our Concierge. Thank you for pointing out ourRoyal Residences facilities, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Had a great stay at the Beautiful Corinthia Budapest - surely the nicest Corinthia hotel I've stayed in. Lovely rooms and an impressive building in itself. 5 star service and excellent location. My only slight complaint was that the room was a tad too warm for my liking in the evenings and I couldn't seem to cool it down with the air conditioning. All in all, highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am glad to note that your stay was great here. I noted that some of our services did not exceed your expectations. Thank you for the useful comments, so we can improve our services. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is the most beautiful and luxurious hotel I have ever stayed in. Staff very attentive and helpful without being obsequious. Facilities very well appointed. We had a random upgrade to a corner suite which was amazing. Absolutely nothing to complain about. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: higher floors have slightly less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
I cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our Deluxe Suite facilities, from wchich more information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest in Rooms and Suites section. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It is beautiful, clean and opulent. The staff are helpful, polite and all speak English to a very high standard. The facilities are brilliant. The Royal Spa is incredible with a lovely swimming pool, jacuzzies of different temperatures, sauna and a variety of treatments. The restaurants and bars are top notch and they dealt with food allergies very well. It's definitely worth upgrading to the executive rooms as the benefits of the executive club are well worth having - free drinks, lovely snacks and patisserie and tranquil surroundings. Expect to pay London type prices but it's worth every penny.

Room Tip: Get the best deal you can then upgrade when you get there. The hotel is on a busy road with tram li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I am so glad that you were fascinated by the facilities of our beautiful building. Thank you for highlighting our restaurants, from which additional information can be found on corinthia.com/budapest. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just returned from a 3 day City break at the Corinthia Hotel in Budapest and could not recommend it more highly. An exceptionally grand entrance and foyer with attentive staff greet you on arrival and the room and spa facilities were equally impressive after check in. Ideally positioned to view the many highlights of Budapest we would not hesitate to recommend or revisit in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your stay. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. I’m very pleased that you pointed out our location that we are very close to the most important touristic attractions. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I first stayed at this hotel in March 2012 and was impressed by the facilities; staff and value for money ... So much so that I vowed to return (something I never do as there is so much of the world still to see and I'm getting old!)

My return visit was even better, knowing that the hotel would store luggage between check-out and leaving the city, I thought I'd take a chance that they'd be as accommodating when checking in at 0800 in the morning. Not only was that not a problem but the fantastic receptionist asked if we'd had breakfast yet, took us up to the executive lounge for breakfast and arranged with the executive receptionist (also excellent), an early check-in for us.

We were then told that we had unlimited use of the facilities including food and drink. All facilities were explained including the spa. I was given a city map with hotel location and locations of sites I might wish to visit which could be arranged for me by the hotel should i wish.

We breakfasted in the main building as the range is extensive and includes chef service for egg-based dishes.

After mooching around the city (spas!) we either availed ourselves of the executive cocktail hour or afternoon tea depending on whether we'd be visiting the hotel spa or not.

At the end of our stay, the hotel stored our luggage until our late departure. There had been a minor issue with the room A/C that we reported which was dealt with efficiently and immediately.

I can honestly say, I have stayed in hotels both in the U.K. and overseas that have the facilities of the Corinthia, but I have never received the combination of luxury, attention and friendliness that this hotel offers.

I am not surprised that this hotel is winning awards, For my next trips, I am considering other locations where the Corinthia manages hotels as it is going to be very hard for anywhere to live up to the standard that's been set.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank consuela_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Thank you for your continuous loyalty to us. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,642 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing