We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #16 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. Since it was winter, heater was on. They did have big windows but since all deluxe rooms face to the atrium which is a closed area. We both felt a bit warm the first night. Hence we called the operator and they did help fix the problem... Sweet dream on the first night.

We encountered the same problem on the 2nd night. Though we were at the 5th floor (highest), we couldn't tolerate the heating system... We called at around 1am, the operator replied they would do something. I understood it might take at least 30 mins to let the cold air flow in... However, the situation was not improved till 3am. I called again and i realised that they had not done anything. You might think that I had thousands of reasons to get mad. But the staff proactively looked for solutions, say give me one more room that night so that I could sleep, and they would get their maintenance staff to solve the problem. Though it was not an good experience to have two rooms, but we did need to sleep. We accepted the offer.

The third night, everything fixed and we had good sleep.

Talking the hotel itself - beautiful, classic, well located, fair priced, helpful staff. Strongly recommend to travelers who want deluxe but fair priced accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinwky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your generous feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Thank you for your useful comments about the heating system we will look after the solution. Thank you for your recommendation and mentioning our location, from which additional information can be found on corinthia.com/budapest. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,230)
There are newer reviews for Corinthia Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,850 - 2,856 of 7,230 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

not breathtaking, but a good quality, like driving a Mercedes E-Class. Well trained staff, polite and caring. You will feel well here. Location is quite central. Rooms are immaculate but a bit old fashioned.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ulibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to note that you were satisfied with our staff. I’m very pleased that you pointed out our location that we are very close to the most important touristic attractions and some more detailed information and tips can be found on corinthia.com/budapest. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for the weekend and it was amazing. The spa is opened till late so you can relax after you have enjoyed the city. The room is very clean and the staff are very polite. The location is also perfect, everything is reachable within 20 main walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisibahanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I am very glad that you emphasized our services provided by our staff. Thank you for highlighting the Royal Spa, from which additional features can be found on corinthia.com/budapest. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed in the Corinthia Hotel in 2010 just a couple of weeks after returning from a deployment in Iraq. I had done A LOT of research while I was deployed on where to stay in Budapest before finally settling on the Corinthia. I must say the customer service is incredible here. We were upgraded a room class which was also a fantastic surprise. You will not be disappointed if you stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chanel832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed in Jan 2014. I have never wrote a review, but its about time I did. I have been coming to the Corinthia hotel since 2007 and since I have had my two children who are 4 and 1 years old, I have been coming Corinthia hotel twice a year. It has to be the best hotel in the Europe. Fantastic and very relaxing and enjoyable.

The hotel staff are excellent from the Management and right down to the cleaner, friendly, polite and extremely efficient with everything. A fantastic team.

The breakfast is excellent, you have so much variety to choose from. In the morning you have options for breakfast, you can go to the Main restaurant or you can have a breakfast at the executive lounge . where ever you go you will enjoy your breakfast.

They have two excellent restaurants and two bars. Then they have the executive lounge were you have complementary beverages.

The spa and pool area are exceptional..

Very hard to fault the hotel. It is only a 30 minutes ride on a taxi from the airport to the hotel.
The tram runs past the door and the metro is a 2 minute walk away. The river and the chain bridge are within walking distance or 3 stops on the Metro.

Overall very satisfied, excellent holidays for couples and especially for family's.
Once you visit this hotel, I guarantee that you will return.

Room Tip: All rooms at the Corinthia are at a very high standard. Executive rooms gives you more benefits.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank u_akhtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for your continuous loyalty to us. Thank you for pointing out our restaurant facilities, from which more tips can be found on corinthia.com/budapest. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and found the hotel to be excellent. Other hotels may be in a slightly better location (on the Danube) but this wasn't a problem as we enjoyed walking around the city and taxi's were reasonably priced. The twin room was large, extremely clean and very well decorated. The bathroom was modern and the shower was fantastic. The facilities (gym, sauna and steam room) couldn't have been any better. We were slightly disappointed that the swimming pool and jacuzzi were closed for maintenance and that this wasn't mentioned on booking or at check in. However, we were offered complimentary breakfast for each of the three days and the selection and quality was faultless. All staff were very attentive and helpful and answered all questions we had. I think this hotel is exceptional value and can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I highly appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you for highlighting our rooms and facilities, from which addtional information ca nbe found on corinthia.com/budapest. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed for four nights over Christmas 2013 arriving by train from Zagreb. Unsure about whether to use the notorious taxis in Budapest, we called up the hotel who arranged a car to meet us at the station with a very courteous driver. The hotel is a beautiful and grand building, in a central location but conveniently away from the busy tourist areas. Bedroom, bathroom are clean, comfortable and spacious. Highly recommend bringing your bathers along and dipping into the Hungarian private bath, sauna & steam room - quite relaxing after a long day sightseeing. The Chess restaurant nearby was delicious and well worth a dinner. Had a great time at the dance/music bar - great jazz band and plenty of keen dancers on the dance floor. Finally, we were impressed by the giant gingerbread house in the lobby - nice Christmas touch!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roshy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here. Thank you for highlighting our location, from which useful information can be found on corinthia.com/budapest at Destination section. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $162 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing