We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand and welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #16 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful and luxurious hotel. We were lucky to be upgraded to a suite which was large and well appointed, but our friends were pleased with their standard room. The rooms were tastefully decorated and immaculately maintained.
The service was friendly and efficient and ourselves and our friends both had minor problems with our rooms which were dealt with immediately and efficiently
The breakfast was excellent in quality and variety. We ate in the Rickshaw restaurant and the service and food quality was very good and reasonable value, the bistro was obviously highly regarded as it was full every evening. We regretted not having made use of the spa facility as it looked excellent, although we intend to return and make use of it and see more of the many sights in Budapest

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brodders53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. Thank you for highlighting the Rickshaw Restaurant. I am happy that you definitely will return to our hotel. I hope you will have the chance to enjoy the Royal Spa facilities, from which you may find additional information on Corinthia.com/Budapest.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,229)
There are newer reviews for Corinthia Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,933 - 2,939 of 7,229 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

Having booked the Corinthian as our minimoon destination through British Airways Holidays, we were not dissapointed. Beautifully appointed, it is large without being impersonal. Our three nights in Budapest were wonderful and the Corinthia was the key element in this. Our executive room was comfortable, spacious and peaceful. The TV service was rather pedestrian - the usual mix of news channels and pay for view movies. A bluetooth speaker system would have been a welcome and enhancing touch. Having checked in at the executive lounge and received a slightly lukewarm welcome, I did wonder if this facility would be worthwhile - it was! The snacks and canapes were excellent, as was the opportunity to have a pre-dinner drink. On two nights we ate in the underrated Rickshaw restaurant, and aside from rather expensive wine, the meals were excellent and the service exceptional. The Bock Bistro provided first class dining and well worth making a reservation for. Lastly, the spa was a delightful gem, the staff being particularly helpful. My wife took advantage of a post-wedding relaxing massage which she found excellent.

The Corinthian was a perfect honeymoon destination and we look forward to returning to beautiful Budapest in the near future.

Room Tip: Executive rooms for the win!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

I am glad to read that you had a really great and memorable stay and honeymoon at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Thank you for highlighting the Rickshaw Restaurant and Bock Bistro. I appreciate yourrecommendation our hotel as a honeymoon destination, there will more information about our facilities on Corinthia.com/Budapest Wedding part. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We purchased a 5 night package in a Executive King Room through Luxury Link. After traveling 20 hours we were given a lovely large room with a spacious bathroom and a large sitting area, unfortunately it looked out to an enclosed atrium and provided no air circulation in the rather warm room. I called down to the front desk, and we were moved to a room with windows which opened to the outside. This second room however was very small, and had a tiny 1 person only bathroom. I called to complain and was told that all Executive King rooms which had outside views were the same small size and that I had to choose between a nice spacious room, or a small dark one with fresh air. My husband was angry and over-tired and we opted to remain in the smaller room. The main area was lit by 4 power smart light bulbs of about 10 watts, the blow dryer was fastened inside a drawer in the desk with a short cord so that I had to hunch down to blow dry my hair, the bathroom was TINY and the shower design leaked large amounts of water onto the marble floor (we had to sop it up after each use with our towels). The towels and amenities were replenished sporadically, sometimes no facecloth, sometimes no hand towels, sometimes no shampoo or soap. We were doubly disappointed when we found out our tour group had also stayed in the hotel, and although they did not have access to the Executive Lounge, their rooms/ bathrooms were spacious and had views to outside! The concierges were young and inexperienced, unable to provide any recommendations other than a binder with laminated pages of tours and restaurants. The bonus to this hotel was the executive lounge, this became the hotels redeeming feature, providing breakfast, light snacks and wine during our stay. Without this feature the experience would have been a bust, it provided a great place to relax and unwind as our room lacked that ability. The location was great, we walked EVERYWHERE, the ruin pubs are 2 blocks away, the Terror Museum, and everything was within walking distance. When booking this hotel, be clear about what room you require.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. First of all please accept my apologies for the room amenities which were not up to our usual standards. Our Housekeeping team have a stringent set of daily procedures to follow and it is evident these were not adhered to on this occasion, for this I apologize once again. We have, of course, taken up your particular comments with the staff involved to rectify any shortcomings. I was sorry to learn that the standard of the room allocated to you did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I apologise for any inconvenience or discomfort caused to you by these shortfalls in the standard of your accommodation. Feedback such as yours that highlights areas where we could be doing better is particularly useful and we are grateful for your time in sharing your experience with us.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Corinthia Budapest and better meeting your expectations in the future.
Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Had a brilliant 2 night stay here for an anniversary. The hotel is beautiful and spacious inside, the rooms are big and furnished to a really high standard! The staff were helpful and friendly. The pool looked amazing, but we didn’t have time to make use of it. The hotel is very central, on a main boulevard with shops and restaurants close by, would stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor can be noisy if they are above the bar.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

I am happy to read that you have an excellent anniversary here. I appreciate your mentioning about the attentive service provided by our staff. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon and you will have the chance to try the Royal Spa as well. You may find additional infromation of its services on Corinthia.com/Budapest Wellness section. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We along with two other couples spent two nights in this lovely hotel before taking a Viking River cruise last December. The staff treated us like royalty, the room was great. It was nice seeing the Christmas decorations going up, only wish we were there longer to see the finished product. The two buffet breakfasts were without a doubt some of the best.
Thanks for all you did to make this a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjvfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for metnioning the Advnet preparation in the city. I would like to highlight that additional information about the Festive Season and Christmas packages are available on Corinthia.com/Budapest. Thank you for your high rating. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed after picking a reasonable price break from a web site and it was worth the extra over a cheaper deals. A hotel I would want to return to for future trips. The hotel is located on a main boulevard with a tram stop nearly outside and is very convenient for exploring the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. I kindly recommend to check out our Inspire me packages on Corinthia.com/Budapest which offer great value. Thank you for your recommendation. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Completely renovated, with old world elegance and an interesting history of its own. Service throughout was impeccable, breakfast included with room rate as part of Viking Cruise. Book spa treatments early as they tend to fill in fast. Take advantage of the beautiful pool and hot tubs. Every floor has an dedicated elevator to take you directly to the spa so you don't have to walk through the hotel in your robe and slippers (provided free of charge). Enjoy the entertainment in the lobby while having a pre-dinner cocktail. Our room had the longest and deepest bathtub I've ever seen. Enjoy a hot, soaking bath to help you sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JunHerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

I value your comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am very glad that you emphasized our services provided by our staff. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities and I would like to highlight that treatments can be booked in advanced on Corinthia.com/Budapest wellness section. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 332 in Budapest
4,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#30 of 332 in Budapest
3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $158 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing