We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful stay we had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #19 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a wonderful stay we had”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We along with two other couples spent two nights in this lovely hotel before taking a Viking River cruise last December. The staff treated us like royalty, the room was great. It was nice seeing the Christmas decorations going up, only wish we were there longer to see the finished product. The two buffet breakfasts were without a doubt some of the best.
Thanks for all you did to make this a memorable visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjvfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for metnioning the Advnet preparation in the city. I would like to highlight that additional information about the Festive Season and Christmas packages are available on Corinthia.com/Budapest. Thank you for your high rating. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,387
    1,168
    264
    100
    46
See reviews for
904
3,776
208
758
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,087)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
waterlooville
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed after picking a reasonable price break from a web site and it was worth the extra over a cheaper deals. A hotel I would want to return to for future trips. The hotel is located on a main boulevard with a tram stop nearly outside and is very convenient for exploring the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. I kindly recommend to check out our Inspire me packages on Corinthia.com/Budapest which offer great value. Thank you for your recommendation. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Completely renovated, with old world elegance and an interesting history of its own. Service throughout was impeccable, breakfast included with room rate as part of Viking Cruise. Book spa treatments early as they tend to fill in fast. Take advantage of the beautiful pool and hot tubs. Every floor has an dedicated elevator to take you directly to the spa so you don't have to walk through the hotel in your robe and slippers (provided free of charge). Enjoy the entertainment in the lobby while having a pre-dinner cocktail. Our room had the longest and deepest bathtub I've ever seen. Enjoy a hot, soaking bath to help you sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JunHerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
I value your comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am very glad that you emphasized our services provided by our staff. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities and I would like to highlight that treatments can be booked in advanced on Corinthia.com/Budapest wellness section. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

With pre-extension in Budapest before embarking on a Viking Danube River Cruise, we stayed at the Corinthia for 2 nights. What a welcome venue after a VERY long day of travel (Los Angeles, through Heathrow, then to Budapest). We(my sisters, brothers-in-law and I) were "delivered" to the hotel, finding doormen in full regalia. Our bags were waiting in the hall by our rooms.

We entered the lobby which was stunning and grand with dazzling chandeliers and grand staircase. There were smaller nooks off the main hall for sitting, having drinks, and one night even listening to a live quartet.

The room elegant, the bed very comfy, and the bathroom was spacious and modern.

A generous buffet breakfast (hot stations, cold cheeses and meats, bread and rolls, yogurt, juice and coffee, etc.) was included with the room, and we took advantage, starting the day with a hearty meal as we would be on foot wandering around Budapest.

Hotel staff helped us select restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socaljudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your generous feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here. Thank you for highlighting our breakfast selection. I would like to mention for our readers that room with breakfast can be convenient booked via Corinthia.com/Budapest website. Thank you for sharing your experience. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

we choose this hotel as we were looking fr something special for our honeymoon and we were so glad we did.

We we arrived at went to check-in where we were shown to the executive lounge. We were greeted there with a lovely glass of bubbles and were told there was a surprise for us in store. As it was our honeymoon we were upgraded to the Deluxe Suite. Check-in we were shown around the executive lounge and then to our room where a bottle of bubbly and some strawberries were waiting for us. A very nice touch by an excellent hotel.

Throughout our stay we used the royal spa which is beautiful. We had a lovely couples Swedish massage which was excellent. One of the best I have ever had.

All the staff that we came across were extremely friendly and helpful and would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

We will defiantly be returning soon.

Thank you to all the staff who made our honeymoon so special.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tree1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
I am glad to read that you had a really great and memorable honeymoon celebration at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate you taking your time to share your experience with all the readers. Thank you for pointing out the Executive Lounge, from which more information is available on Corinthia.com/Budapest. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon. Warm regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

What a wonder this hotel is. Amazing facade and entrance. The staff are polite and professional. Every inch of this hotel is beautiful and amazing. The walk to our room was a spectacle itself. Once in our comfortable and well appointed room, we opened our windows onto the atrium to be serenaded by violins playing below. What magic. Located in a great part of the city, close to transport, sights and some great eateries. The pool area downstairs is a must. Bring your swimmers and indulge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fridgenald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am so glad that you were fascinated by the facilities of our building. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest website wellness part. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel was an amazing surprise for us. Elegant exterior and lobby, nicely appointed rooms and first class service from beginning to end. We extended our stay! It is central and within walking distance to amazing restaurants, the Opera House, St. Stephan's Basilica and the market, Vaci Street, the Holocaust Memorial Centre and the Metro stations (underground train). We were able to walk everywhere from this location. We only required a rental car to areas outside of the city limits. I would highly recommend this hotel and stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pshn4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for highlighting our location, from which our kind readers might find additional tips on Corinthia.com/Budapest Destination section. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Cordially,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,642 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing