We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #19 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A comfortable home”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Compared with the few hotels located on the Danube River, like the aging Marriott, in a tourist only area, this hotel is located in the traditional urban area in Budapest with many restaurant options and easy metro transportation just in front of the hotel.

We had a large room overlooking a beautiful interior courtyard. Don't miss a delicious breakfast at the Szamos pastry and coffee restaurant, or swimming in the incredible pool downstairs, which also functions as a stand-alone spa business. Bock Bistro is OK, but seek out the restaurant Zeller a couple of blocks away a simple restaurant with terrific food.

Rooms facing the smaller secondary courtyard are preferable to those facing the main lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the smaller secondary courtyard are preferable to those facing the main lobby. Booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for mentioning our location and highlighting the Royal Spa and Szamos Marzipan.
I appreciate for pointing out the wide range of dining options, about this topic further information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest .
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future.
Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,387
    1,168
    264
    100
    46
See reviews for
904
3,776
208
758
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,087)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is very well situated and the accommodation is of a high standard. I particularly enjoyed the tour of the hotel, seeing the area where there are apartments for long-stay guests (they have their own most-attractive roof-top garden) and even the Presidential Suite. The breakfast was top-notch and the service was good.

The only down side was the smell of cigarette smoke from time to time. I think guests were in fact smoking on non-smoking floors.

One hint for anyone who likes to treat themselves with good coffee and delicious cake and/or chocolate. There is a coffee shop off the lower level; the prices are very good and the desserts are wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our 'Behind the scenes' tour, which is available complimentary for hotel guests on every Tuesday and Thursday and for the public as well for 7 EUR. Thank you for your useful comments about the rooms. Thank you for sharing your experience. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobh Cork
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Budapest. My wife and I stayed in late Oct early Nov. True 5 star, location perfect, staff friendly. The spa facility is excellent. No need to go on and on. We visited for a long weekend break 4 nights and it was superb. Plenty of bars restaurants sights etc etc in the area. Don't hesitate !!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your generous feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Overall the hotel is good. But some things do not allow me to rate it as 5 stars. 1. Rooms need renovation. I cannot say that they are terrible – no. Generally they are OK. But the carpet was dirty in many places, walls were nipped. 2.Some equipment is SPA zone did not work, not enough sunbeds for all the visitors. 3.The breakfast was definitely overpriced (29EUR p.p.). Just to know – café round the corner – 10 EUR, café in 3 min.walk – 5 EUR. New York Café – 20 EUR. Nevertheless the hotel is really nice. The service was perfect, location is very convenient (tram stop in the front, metro station – 3 min.walk, bunk – 15 min walk). SPA zone is not very big but enough to relax – 2 jacuzzi, 1 steam bath, 2 saunas, 15m pool. Very nice decorated. I liked my stay – good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexei_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. Thank you for the useful comments, so we can improve our services. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Cordially,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Level Contributor
454 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed as part of our Gate1 tour before boarding our Danube River cruise. Wonderful hotel, extremely comfortable. If you plan to enjoy your buffet breakfast in the lovely atrium you will have to get there early. Obviously these are the first tables to go! Comfortable walking distance to major sites especially Heroes Square and Vaci Street (major tourist area on the Pest side, good for shopping and restaurants). We were thrilled to be able to use the beautiful hotel spa for free.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCanadian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel. Thank you for highlighting our location and the Royal Spa. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on November 3 and 4 at the end of a cruise and were very impressed with the beautiful facility and central location. However, we arrived early in the morning--around 10:00-- and were told we could not check in until 2:00. This is understandable, but when my husband asked if we could possibly get to our room earlier (we were very tired), the desk clerk just very abruptly said "NO. Rooms won't be ready until 2:00!". Call me old-fashioned, but we have traveled a great deal and many, many hotels have made some small accommodation to make weary travelers more comfortable until check-in. We ended up wandering aimlessly in a city we were unfamiliar with for 4 hours and were exhausted when we were finally allowed to our rooms. Let me add that a couple we traveled with got into their room at 1:30; my husband asked the desk again at that point to check in and was told "You have to wait until 2:00". This might be a 5-star hotel but they have lost their mission of hospitality: to make EVERYONE comfortable and to feel welcomed--they failed utterly in that regard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catlvr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I am so glad that you were fascinated by the facilities of our building. However we are truly sorry for the shortfall in our standards you have experienced. We expect our staff to handle all situations with the utmost courtesy, sympathy and helpfulness and we deeply regret the adverse impression you have gained on this occasion.I do hope that you will look upon this breakdown in service as a one off and not indicative of the customer care we wish to provide at all times. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Corinthia Budapest and better meeting your expectations in the future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This gem of a hotel is well located and surprisingly luxurious for the price. The pool/spa area was unexpectedly included in the cost of the room. Several restaurants in the hotel provide a variety of menus, prices and ambience. For the weary traveler, it was a joy to find everything we needed under one roof.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puepilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for sharing your experience. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,642 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing