We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #18 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

very hospitable, comfortable hotel.
We paid a little extra after receiving a bargain price inAugust and got Executive Club which was such a treat, delightful breakfast, tea and snacks most of the day and into the evening. Also very good room care and easily accessible to all the major attractions. We loved it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I am glad to note that your stay was great here. Thank you for highlighting the Executive Club. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Cordially,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,529
    1,199
    271
    107
    52
See reviews for
928
3,885
213
788
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I reviewed the Corinthia hotel a few months ago when I visited individually in preparation for a conference that I was organizing. We now had the conference for 300 people from around the world at the Corinthia and I can report that it, in most every way, exceeded our expectations.

As reported earlier, the Corinthia is an outstanding hotel. Fine rooms, lovely restaurant, well set up with great public space, and great location. Lovely, thoughtful, efficient staff. (And do try the Bock Restaurant next door - truly exceptional Hungarian with great wines.)

I can now add that the quality of service exceeded expectations in handing a group of almost 300 people (including hotel rooms). The food at our lunches, receptions, and closing banquet was really good. We used the main ballroom for our meeting and it was perfect. And, totally lovely. Everyone was really delighted with the comfort of the meeting rooms (including the chairs). And, it was easy to show slides (required for our meeting) on a very large screen. I will say that rental of AV equipment was rather higher than in other places, but we got great service and excellent equipment (but it is much cheaper to buy your own laser pointer than rent at the excessive cost asked).

The hotel restaurant handled lunches and other meals for our group easily and quickly, and while there were small things to tweak (e.g., a serving station for pasta at one meal was in a corner and there were no signs or staff to point it out to people. coffee at breaks could have been better), everyone at the meeting thought that this was one of the best venues they had ever been at..

The only complaint I heard, over and over again, from many people (and an issue I raised when I first stayed here) was the showers in the bedrooms. They are great as showers, but the floors of the showers are VERY slippery and there are no grab bars or anything to hold on to (other than the shower door, which could be dangerous). I came close to slipping at least once, and others told me the same thing.

It would also be nice if there were more channels on the TV, but again, this is rather small.

Overall, I'd recommend the Corinthia for meetings for medium size groups. (As an aside, I also attended a related meeting in the attached exhibition center and I would never use that space - it was uncomfortable and hot and badly set up for presentations. A stark contrast to the truly outstanding ballroom for our main meeting.).

At the same time, my earlier review mentioned both the tv and shower, and a response from Thomas M Fischer, the manager, said they would look into both issues, and clearly nothing has been done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am very glad that you emphasized our services provided by our staff. I am glad to note that you had a succesful conference here. I appreciate you taking your time to share your experience with all the readers. Thank you for the useful comments about the showers and the tv channels. We are implementing to the budget and during the next refurbishment we will correct this issues. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I travelled to Budapest with my girlfriend for her 21st birthday and overall we were amazed by the hotel. It was very well located, with good transport links to the rest of the city. One of the major pluses of the Corinthia was the Royal Spa, which we enjoyed every morning of our stay. The rooms were spacious, clean and extremely well furnished. Another great point to add was the restaurants in the hotel, and we only had time to visit 2 of the 3 restaurants in the hotel, but they were our best two meals of the trip. Budapest itself is great, there is lots to do and lots to see. I would recommend the Szechenyi spa up by Heroes Square and Margaret island. In terms of transport I would recommend using the underground system rather than the tour buses, as the underground will work out a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I was glad that you were impressed by the service provided by our staff and you pointed out the city as well. Thank you for your kind words. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future.Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My stay at the Corinthia Budapest was wonderful. The palace building is very beautiful with a magnificent central staircase. They were able to conserve the aristocracy ambience while providing all the modern amenities. Well done! The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. The restaurants are amazing, serving very delicious food. I recommend the Asian restaurant. It serves one of the best Asian food in Europe. I enjoyed very much my stay and I will definitely be back very soon. Congratulations to all the staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justino_Cabecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I am very glad that you emphasized our services provided by our staff. Thank you for your recommendation. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellent hotel. Clean, luxurious and fantastic staff. Have tried two of the restaurants and have not been disappointed. The pool and spa are excellent after a long day of walking and touring. Would stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for your recommendation. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Warm regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Corinthia Hotel earlier this week and it was a very good experience. We were able to reserve the Executive King room that includes breakfast and afternoon drinks and snacks on the Executive level. It has a large bathroom and comfortable bed. If you can, definitely opt for this package as the room is very large with a sitting area and the breakfast and afternoon wine/snacks are excellent.
My only advice for the hotel is that they not recommend dinner reservations in the restaurant next door named "Bock Bistro" if guests must be seated at the outside patio. It was very loud (traffic noise) and the service was poor.
But as for the hotel itself, everything was perfect! We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the inside courtyard and was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I value your comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. Thank you for the useful comments about the Bock Bistro. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very friendly and professional staff - always referred to us by name. Prompt, professional and cheerful service.

Excellent fully equipped apartments as an option. We had a fully serviced two bedroom apartment with lounge / dining area, fully equipped kitchen and two bathrooms for about 1000 Euros for 7 nights. Kitchen came with dishwasher, microwave, fridge freezer, coffee machine, crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils etc. Washing machine in bathroom.

Can prepare own meals and bring own drinks to the apartment which helps to control costs - particularly for breakfast (35 Euros each) and pre-dinner cocktails - but still use the hotel facilities, including the excellent Spa and Gym. 5 minute walk from a very modern supermarket. We had some room service meals in the dining area of our apartment (very efficient) and ate in 3 of the restaurants.

Restaurants were very good but pricey by local standards (but the norm for an international 5 star hotel). Bock Bistro (Hungarian Cuisine) is usually fully booked so you should book well in advance. Bock Bistro food and service was excellent but they don't serve spirits - just wine and beer. The Rickshaw and Brasserie were consistent with a 5 star hotel standard. Hungarian wines were pretty decent so ask the hotel staff to advise you if you are not familiar with them.

Concierge was very knowledgable and helpful and all the main sight seeing trips can be arranged directly with the Hotel. Tour companies picked us up from the hotel but usually dropped us in the middle of the City at the end of the day - so be prepared for a small extra journey (walk, bus or taxi).

Spa is very special, with properly trained masseurs (not the sex service type found elsewhere in the city). About 85 Euros for a 60 minute full body massage. Fair size indoor swimming pool and well equipped gym.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Ambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive and very detailed review. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here. Thank you for pointing out our spa and restaurant services. I will definately pass your kind comments to our Concierge. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
1,029 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing