We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #19 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful hotel”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights in the Corinthia and it was a wonderful experience. Everything was positive and we just can't think of a negative comment to make. We ate in one of the restaurants and every night had a nightcap in the piano bar. The spa was great and also the gym. The staff also were so kind and helpful and we are planning another trip to Budapest and of course will stay in the Corinthia.

Room Tip: we had room 3223 and it was quiet and spacious. We were not bothered by any external noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am glad to note that your stay was great here. Thank you for your high rating. I am glad to note that we will definitely welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,428
    1,176
    267
    102
    47
See reviews for
913
3,804
209
770
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,098)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I've had the pleasure of attending a conference at the grand hotel and staying a week. The pride of the staff in this grand hotel makes you feel as if you are indeed in a different time. The conference facilities were excellent for our group. Every need was anticiapted and taken care of. Lunches were delicious and the portion sizes perfect, filling but not so large as to casue you to fall asleep in the afternoon sessions. The rooms are large and comfortable. My only complaint is that it took me too long to adjust to the 7 hour time zone change, a personal issue not a problem with the hotel. Also, thank you to the staff for delivering my luggage that decided to spend a few extra hours in Amsterdam. I awoke to find my bag placed inside my door the next morning. I don't know how they were able to deliver it without waking me, but I appreciate that they didn't wake me. Should I pass this way agian, the Corinthia Grand Royal Hotel will be at the top of my list. A take some time to visit the spa. My massage was a perfect way to unwind after a week of meetings.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities. Thank you for sharing your experience. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights and could not fault the execellent service, facilities and quality of the rooms. The Spa simming pool was a gem. Located in the centre, close to a metro station made it easy to get around.

Room Tip: Executive Club room worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theelectriceric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. Thank you for pointing out our location. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

me and my girlfriend booked 2 nights at this beautiful hotel and boy was it worth it!! from the moment you get out of the taxi you are being helped with your bags, then when we went to check in because there was little noise downstairs they moved us into the deluxe suite!! and also because we was celebrating our anniversary too, we walked in and had champagne on ice in our room or should i say flat! it was humoungous! every time we left our room and when we got back the rooms have been cleaned. they really do care about the costumers and i can assure you if you book you will not be disappointed! wonderful place! its about 10-15 min walk to the centre which aint bad or you could get the metro which cost 350 forint single and its 4 stops away 5 min journey! i will definitely be coming back!! out of 5 i give this hotel 10!

Room Tip: deluxe suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am happy to read that you have an excellent wedding anniversary here. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koenigstein, Germany
Level Contributor
179 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The former Royal Grand should have kept its name. It is one of the old "Grand Hotels" which maintained its style and quality by adding all the modern comforts like Wifi and flat screen TV to the class of the Royal era. The location on the edge of the city with a tram station right in front is perfect, yet almost all rooms are on the side and to the back and therefore quiet. The staff was very friendly and competent. Our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was ample and served in an open atrium. The spa area with pool, saunas, hot tubs etc. is breath-taking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Profigast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am so glad that you were fascinated by the facilities and the mixture of the old grandeur and the modern new services of hotel. I appreciate you taking your time to share your experience with all the readers. Thank you for your high rating. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Absolutely top hotel, worthy of its stars and price-point. I stayed with my boyfriend as a birthday surprise and on arrival, they had placed a celebratory bottle of champagne in the room!
The staff were all fluent in English, friendly and more than happy to accommodate any request.
The hotel itself is situated in the centre, a 2 minute walk from the central street, Andrassy, and only 15 minutes from the river (and tourist hotspots) one way and 15-20 minutes walk from the lovely City Park. The "Ruin Pubs" are only a 5 minute walk away too.
We didn't use public transport once as it was so conveniently located.
Room was super (the Deluxe) and the spa was just a perfect way to unwind.
The breakfast spread was second-to none and we ate each morning in the very relaxing and pretty atrium. I would return to stay here in a flash.

Room Tip: We didn't splash out on the "Executive Club" because we don't tend to stay much in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumyum22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Corinthia hotel is possible the best hotel that I have stayed in. We were a group of 12 women who spent a long weekend there. I really could not fault this hotel. The staff were so accommodating. The hotel was spectacular. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious, lots of choice.
Beautiful rooms and furnishing, spotlessly clean. A fantastic memorable experience

Room Tip: Executive rooms were fantastic value for money and the staff in the executive lounge were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altinkum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate your mentioning about the attentive service provided by our staff. Thank you for your kind words. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,693 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing