We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #16 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Corinthia for 4 nights at the end of March. We had two rooms, one for us in an Executive room and one for my adult children in a regular room. The executive suite was great after a long day of sightseeing. We were able to grab a glass of wine, some snacks and relax on their comfortable couches.
The rooms were very clean and spacious. However, two things I would mention. 1) We could not figure out how to cool off the room even after reading the instructions. It was stuffy and warm. We were able to open a window, but it was 30 degrees (F) outside, so we could not leave it open for too long. 2) The location of our room faced the main street. It was very noisy because the trolley/tram runs in front of the hotel all night long. Just request a room away from the main street.
The staff was warm, helpful and nice. The breakfast which was included in our room price was the best I have ever had. The place was packed with people, but the food was always refreshed and never empty.
The location of this hotel is good, but it is not near "city center" just be aware of the location when booking. We found it central to many sights and restaurants, but not in the main touristy area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street to avoid the trolley car noise.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive and very detailed review. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for the useful comments, so we can improve our services. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Warm regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,229)
There are newer reviews for Corinthia Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,354 - 3,360 of 7,229 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

A beautiful hotel which is comfortable and in a good location. Our bedroom was spacious and nicely furnished. All the staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful.

We upgraded to the deluxe room which gave free access to the spa, pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room but there is a charge for spa treatments. Bathrobes and slippers are provided so you can change in your bedroom, cover up with a robe and then take the dedicated lift to the spa. A fantastic breakfast buffet a large variety of food and drink.


Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple

Room Tip: If you select the deluxe room you gain access to the Executive Club which offers snacks, canapes and...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkTommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel.It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities.Thank you for your kind words. about the Royal Spa. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future.Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A beautiful hotel which is well maintained, comfortable and in a fairly good location. Our bedroom was spacious and nicely furnished. The staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. The spa is lovely and you have free use of the pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room but there is a charge for spa treatments. I had the volcanic hot stone massage which was wonderful especially after a day of sight-seeing in the snow. Bathrobes and slippers are provided so you can change in your bedroom, cover up with a robe and then take the dedicated lift to the spa. The breakfast buffet was well stocked with a large variety of food and drink. You can even have sparkling wine if you wish! There is a subway stop 5 mins walk away. Also trams but we did not try these. There is a business centre which we used to print our boarding passes. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially for couples and would love to return one day. Only negative I can think of is that it was a bit warm in the room even with the air conditioning at its lowest setting.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Qwerty2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest.I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. Thank you for your recommendation and pointing out our spa facilities and breakfast selection. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We went to Budapest for a long weekend with my girlfriend to celebrate her birthday. I was in touch with the hotel early on to arrange an airport pickup,and some sparkling and some fruits for arrival. Everything was organized as planned.

First of all, the hotel as such is beautiful. Already the atriums are something worth the visit. We dined on one evening at the hotel's brasserie, an had a table in the middle of the atrium - was a great surrounding.

The concierge service was something we found useful to book dinner tables taxis and getting useful information on how to get from a to b.

The spa is lovely, and we started every day with a swim/sauna in the morning when there were not many people. The pool was big enough and the jacuzzis were a nice plus. We also tried a Swedish massage on one day which we can recommend.

Room service was punctual and not overly expensive (as it often is in 5star establishments). Service in general was excellent, and while during our trip we did face occasionally some classic Eastern European service mentality (eg at the airport), at the hotel everything was of excellent standards.

We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emjay111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities.I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future.Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Corinthia in an Executive room in March and got a 30% winter discount which also included free entrance to a spa in Budapest and 20% discount from Hop On Hop off-bus tickets. As said here many times before the extra price for an executive room is definitively worth it. The room itself was larger with a separate seating area and also the executive lounge with free snacks and drinks available thoughout the day was a quick and handy way to "refuel" before heaing to your next sightseeing destination. We also used the club's consierge service
for dinner reservations.

The excutive room had 2 cabinets and 4 large drawers which was plenty for 2 adults. The only drawback was that our room was in a corner facing the atrium, so all we could see from our
window was the window on the opposite side of the atrium. It would have been nice to see what the weather was like outside and to ventilate the room as it seemed to be a bit warm all over
the hotel. However we were able to cool our room with the airconditioning. The lighting system was a bit silly as you had to put on the main light switch in order to light the lamps by the
seating area. This meant that also a bright spot right over the bed was on which made it impossible for one person to sleep on the bed while another wanted to read by the sofa. It also
would have been handy to have a place where to hang the swimming suits after visiting the hotel spa. Now the only places to dry them was the side of the bath tub or the shower wall which
made the marbel floor very slippery as water dripped from the wet swimming suits. These were however minor weaknesses and all in all the room was very comfortable and quiet.

The hotel spa was also excellent and very clean. It was also very handy that the spa reception would hold on to your room key while you were in the spa. That was excellent service! The
saunas were way too hot (80 and 100 degrees), but the steam room was very good with lots of steam. We also enjoyed the pool which was 28 degrees and was a nice way to cool after steam
room. When the hotel is full the spa might be a bit cramped, but when we were there in the middle of a week it was very peacefull and relaxing.

Our room rate also included the breakfast which was one of the best we have ever seen. The selection was wide and a glass of sparkling wine with breakfast is an excellent way to start your
day when you are on vacation. It was also nice to have fresh fruits and organic products served instead of canned ones. The yogurts were served from small glass jars which were very probably washed and refilled which was also a very interesting observation. And again the service was first class as it was all over the hotel.

The hotel is located just 2-3 blocks from Oktogon metro station. If you do not want to take the metro you could also take bus 105 to the Chain Bridge and then change to bus 16 if you are
going up to the Castle District. We found the location very convenient as you could reach just about all the major attractions easily with public transport. We can also recommend the hotel
taxi which we used to travel to and from the airport. The price was very reasonable and the ride back to the airport was cheaper than the pick up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFinnishRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive and very detailed review.I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us.Thank you for the useful comments, so we can improve our services.I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I really appreciated my stay in there . Service good , amenities in the hotel eccellent as well . The Spa in the hotel is superb even if massages were a little bit under my expectations .
I would recommend this stylish hotel .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diegoatzeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here.Thank you for your high rating.I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in the Corinthia Budapest for five nights in January 2013. It is a beautiful, historic, five-star hotel, immaculately restored and maintained. We paid AUD 110 for a double room, and I can say that that is the best hotel bargain I have ever had in my life.

The hotel is not right on the river, but is very close to town by way of the subway at Octagon station and the tram outside the door. There is no problem about walking to, for example, the Opera House. There are also some good restaurants and bars in the close vicinity. And the in-house restaurant on the street is also excellent.

Our room looked out on to an interior atrium, and it it was hard to get the room appropriately cool. I guess as in a lot of old hotels the air-conditioning system is not state-of-the-art. We could have moved perhaps to a room at the front of the hotel where we could open a window, but were a little concerned about traffic noise, and could not be bothered moving anyway.

Apart from the minor wrinkle with regard to the air-conditioning, and so long as you bear in mind that the hotel is not absolutely in the thick of the Old Town, I recommend the Corinthia Budapest as a fantastic choice – especially if you can get the rate that we did!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJButt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here.Thank you for the useful comments about the air conditioning system, so we can improve our services. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Best wishes,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 332 in Budapest
4,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#30 of 332 in Budapest
3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $158 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing