We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent overall!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #18 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
641 reviews
253 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
“Excellent overall!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Corinthia Hotel, Budapest. I booked an Executive room that gave access to the lounge. It was outstanding value for money as was the whole of Budapest.
Check in was quick and easy in the Executive Lounge but our executive bedoom was disappointing. We had asked for one with a balcony as previous reviewers had mentioned about the heat in the atrium facing rooms. Our room was standard 4 star, not luxurious but not a particular problem either other than it was a bit drab. The bathroom was nice and there was plenty of storage. Noise from the trams was a problem, they run right though the night and the soundproofing of the windows does little to remove their heavy trundling.
We came across some excellent staff but this wasn't consistent but everyone was very pleasant and generally helpful. Several times a week the senior duty manager takes a tour of the hotel that lasts about one and a half hours. This was a great insight into the working of this large and extremely well run enterprise. He was charming and passionate about the hotel, enquire at Concierge for the times of the tours.
Breakfasts were included in our rate and we ate in the main restaurant every morning - one of the best hotel breakfasts we have experienced. There was hot, including an omelette station, a range of cold fish and meats, a great selection of bread, salads, fruit, yoghurts and smoothies and a selection of sparkling wine - there wasn't really much more they could have added.
The Executive Lounge was worth every penny and was a great oasis to stop off and rest or take a pre dinner drink. It was never very busy and had plenty of comfortable seating. Breakfast is also served in the lounge and alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks are available throughout the day with the addition of some spirits in the evening. It is open from 6.30am in the morning until 10.30pm at night. There was a selection of evening nibbles such as canapes, crisps, salads and soup. Enough to keep you going if you really can't be bothered venturing out.
The downstairs piano bar is very relaxing late evening and good quality wine is again very reasonably priced in the bar. We were going to eat at Bock Bistro but the lighting was too bright and whereas people say the food is good, it didn't really make us want to go there due to the lack of atmosphere so I cancelled the reservation.
The hotel is in a great location as the Number 4 and Number 6 trams are located just outside. We bought a 72 hour travel pass and it proved to be excellent value as we could simply hop on a tram, the metro or bus when we were tired of walking so we got to know the city quite well. People say you can walk it but in truth, it is quite sprawling and unless you want to spend a lot of time walking from place to place, the public transport system is essential, very frequent and punctual. The Number 2 runs the length of the Danube on the Pest side and the Number 19 on the Buda side. Both are great at night when all the buildings are lit up. The tram system generally interconnects so it is easy to get from the hotel to another line depending on where you want to go.
By the end of three full days in the city we felt we knew it well and had seen all the main sights there were to see, probably not in great depth but certainly to get the flavour.
The Corinthia definitely helped make our Budapest experience very enjoyable and whereas we wouldn't necessarily return to Budapest, I would research other hotels in the Corinthia chain if they are all of this quality. Highly recommended and overall, the experience it gave us was excellent!

Room Tip: Give it some thought as the atrium rooms are probably quieter but the street facing rooms allow you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel. I am happy to read that you were satisfied with our services. Thank you for highlighting our Executive Lounge and breakfast service. I look forward to the opportunity of serving you during your next visit to Budapest!
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,322
    1,153
    262
    99
    44
See reviews for
894
3,728
205
747
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,076)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

My third time in this hotel.always fantastic. Breakfast not cheap but has to be seen-gorgeous.rooms v
Nice and all staff helpful and polite.close to metro and spa pure opulence. Good location as parliament etc all walkable distance

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seanfromireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time here. Thank you for your kind comments. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

What an amazing hotel, we stayed 16th Feb for 4 nights, when we arrived we were told we were the hotels guests of the day and had been upgraded to a suite, and we met the Manager. The suite was really lovely, bed was so comfy. Staff are all so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really good everything you could want for. Really enjoyed the spa would go there in the afternoon after a morning of sightseeing. Ice skating in City Park was really good would highly recommend. This was our 2nd time in Budapest and would highly recommend a couple of restaurants Menza and Spinoza are both very very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I value your comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate your mentioning our friendly and helpful staff. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the very near future.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M. Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is certainly an outstanding hotel in Budapest and Europe. It is majestic with very good public facilities, like the spa with pool, jacuzzi, sauna free of charge for the guests, a nice bar, restaurant, bistro and café. Very good and fresh breakfast buffet with sparkling wine and everything you could wish for (we got the breakfast at a special rate of 19euro otherwise it is much more expensive. The staff is very friendly and helpful (with one exception, a person in the bar area who didn´t behave in a god way, but he was really an odd figure in this hotel where everyone else always greets you with a smile and are ready to help you). The location is very good also with public transport is just outside on the big avenue. The hotels also close to the New York café on the same street which is also worth visiting. Finally, we had a superior room which is great, with a nice bed and a fairly large bathroom with both bath tub and shower. This is one of the few hotels in the world where we have actually come back. Just because we know that the quality and service is extraordinary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your stay. I was delighted to see that you had a nice experience here. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Met every expectation, wonderful staff, attention to detail was impeccable, our only regret was that we had not checked out restaurants befor we travelled. Concierge was very helpful but didn't have much of a choice of restaurants on offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zosia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Thank you for your recommendation. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Thomas M Fischer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

went to budapest for my wife's birthday in feb 2013. prior to trip had emailed hotel to arrange some wine and flowers in the room on arrival - this was arranged easily and without any fuss.
on arrival the hotel staff greeted us and told us we had been upgraded to a suite free of charge.
all the staff were very friendly and helpful, from breakfast service to arranging restaurants and cabs.
the breakfast atrium made starting the day an experience.
the suite was excellent and of very high quality. the bed was very comfortable.
the spa was very nice and had real atmosphere, although water in jacuzzi and pool was a bit cool.
the hotel location was good for sightseeing and shopping, with plenty of local restaurants and cafe's
probably the best hotel stay we have had - excellent hotel and staff

Room Tip: suites are excellent rooms on 5th and 6th floor appear to have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marionandadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I am really pleased to read your review. I am delighted that you were satisfied with our services. Thank you for highlighting the Royal Spa and our location. I do hope to welcoming you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest very soon.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Corinthia Hotel with very high expectations due to the price, we were not disappointed. Budapest as a whole was a brilliant experience, a city to visit and Corinthia played a great part in it as the staff were always there to help, the room was always clean and the spa was something to behold. The decoration of the hotel was just breath-taking. On the other hand, we went to the have brunch on Sunday and even though the food was good we were very shocked to see such an expensive bill at the end of it!
All in all, it was an amazing hotel where we would to go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roger129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time here. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
4,588 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing