We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A first class 5 star hotel - absolutely gorgeous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #18 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A first class 5 star hotel - absolutely gorgeous!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is exactly as it says on its website - it is luxury everywhere in the hotel. We had an executive room but did not pay for the executive club benefits as personally did not feel it was worth this as we didn't want breakfast.

The only criticism and it was a very small point - is that there was not enough plug sockets as they were all already used for lights etc so putting the kettle on we had to take one out under a desk and put the kettle on the floor - a small point but a little annoying.

A tip - if you don't want housekeeping just walking in your room after one knock then put the do not disturb on your door as we found they do just walk in.

The location was great - tram outside the door and just a few stops to lots of places - very cheap 80p for a single ticket.

The room was superb and nothing was too much trouble for anyone in the hotel - first class experience!

Room Tip: We did not see any of the other rooms but the executive room not only had everything in it you'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate that you highlighted our level of service and hotel's location. I do apologize for the issue with the Housekeeping staff. Please be assured that your comments have been reviewed with the team and expected service behaviors have been reinforced. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Thomas M. Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,322
    1,153
    262
    99
    44
See reviews for
894
3,728
205
747
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,076)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Corinthia as part of a British Airways mini-break. There were 3 in our party (2 adults and a 12 year old). At the time of booking I opted to upgrade to an Executive room, which gave access to the Exec lounge and the pool/spa. If you have the option, take this upgrade (it cost us only £100 via BA).

In short, our stay was fantastic. Great room, lovely public areas but best of all was the lovely Exec lounge which kept us well fed and watered. I have never spent so little on food during a city stay, because the lounge caters so well, with extensive breakfast, and then snacks, soup, cakes, canapes etc seemingly available until late. Free alcohol is also on offer, from Dreher Hungarian beer to sparkling wines, Tokaj, and even spirits in the evening.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly, from the moment we checked in at the dedicated Exec desk in the lounge, to the inevitable sad moment when our bags were loaded into one of the hotels nice Merc taxis to return to the airport (tip - use this service - it's a fixed cost of HUF 6900).

All in all, a great stay in a beautiful hotel, and the Exec lounge really sets it apart.

The only tiny, tiny negative (for us anyway) is that kids under 16 can only swim between 1100 and 1500hrs and this seems to be strictly applied. Not the end of the world, and we understand the need for adults to have some time free of kids!

If returning to Budapest I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Exec room if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestJohnUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I value your comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate your mentioning our Executive Lounge services. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the very near future.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M. Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
485 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Me and my wife visted Budapest for my 30th Birthday, and when booking on Expedia we found a cracking deal for this hotel which was only just outside our normal budget, but to get a hotel like this at a price like that would be a crime not to take!
Moment you walk into the hotel are greated by the Porters and front-office personel, who are so friendly and helpful, and go right out of their way to make you feel welcome.
Rooms are VERY spacious, with a massive bedroom and shower/bathroom.
Only problem is that its a little bit out of the way of all the action. Being in the Pest side, you are about a 15 minute walk from the Budapest Opera and the historical heart of of the city down by the river.
Would love to visit Budapest again, and if I can get the same deal I did here, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your stay. I was delighted to see that you had a nice experience here. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

When you walk in to this hotel you no you are in a excellent hotel.we were made to feel so special everybody made you feel so welcome ,room was excellent ,spotless warm,spacious.We had breakfast which was lovely and plenty of choices location was great.All the facilities were excellent I could not fault this hotel.My wife and I will defiantly return to this hotel and we would recommend to our family and friends.hope to see them soon need spoiling again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time here. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

What can i say but,Fantastic!!!!
My girlfriend and i went away to budapest for a three night stay to budapest and booked the this hotel because of what we read on trip advisor. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are excellent(a credit to the hotel).Very good value for the money we paid. It is very well situated,with the tram stops right outside.Would recomend this hotel,definately a 5* hotel. Will be going back!!!!!!

Room Tip: WE were in room 4218 and it was lovely,fourth floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scunthorpe_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great, spacious rooms, with excellent service. Porters and front-office personel very friendly. Including excellent and relaxing Spa/Welness facilities in a Royal atmosphere, close to the heart of the City center of the 'Pest' side of Budapest. Would definitely return to this hotel for future business trips!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel. I am happy to read that you were satisfied with our services. I look forward to the opportunity of serving you during your next visit to Budapest!
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merelbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great experience, superb hotel. We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights, good location, near to the shopping boulevard. First visit to Pest, very nice view over Buda and the Parliament. Then warmed up a bit in the spa of the hotel. Second day a walk in the snow through the Andrássyboulevard to the Heldenplein straight to the Szechenyi Bath, what an experience in a bath of 34°C, face in the snow. We finished the day with a good dinner at "cat in a sac". Last day walking through the market hall and with lots of regret..... going home.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetraCoppens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
4,588 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing