We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #19 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here just before Christmas, we booked an executive King room and upon arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe suite. I must say we could not fault anything about this hotel, it was the ultimate luxury. The staff were very pleasant and made us feel very welcome. As we had access to the Executive lounge there was a constant supply of delicious food and drink.The bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept in. The room was very clean and spacious. We used the pool and jacuzzi and and found tem very clean also. The spa staff were lovely my girlfriend would recommend the pedicure! We found this a great location and excellent valus for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 444PaulB444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay and taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our facilities. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M. Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,797 - 3,803 of 7,626 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and has nice Budapest atmosphere throughout. We had an executive atrium view room, which was quiet, but still got plenty of light. Our room was not especially large, but was laid out well and made good use of the space, so it did not feel cramped at all. We had a cozy sitting area next to the window, where we enjoyed a nice bottle of Tokaj wine that had been sent to our room by a friend. The lighting was warm and subdued, which I really appreciate, as so many hotels these days have cold, fluorescent lighting. The bed was comfy. The bathroom was modern and nicely done.

Breakfast was pretty good, although the selection was not as vast as in some other European hotels. We ate in the concierge lounge, and I'm not sure if the breakfast there differed from the standard breakfast. One minor problem we had was that there was only about 1 cm of milk in the jug.at our table, and it was never refilled when our coffee was brought to us. We finally had to get up and get some milk from the buffet. Not quite the level of service I would expect, but otherwise, the hotel was outstanding.

The location of the hotel is good. The 4 and 6 trams, which go around the inner ring in Budapest, including over to the Buda side, run along the street in front of the hotel. You can also walk to the Oktogon metro stop easily, and from there, go along Andrassy to Heroes Square or the other way to Deak Tér where all three metro lines converge. You should be able to easily get anywhere you need to from this hotel.

Would highly recommend and may stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

I value your comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate your mentioning our location. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the very near future.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M. Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

From outside the hotel is definitely one of the most attractive in central Budapest and inside everything seems new (or renewed) and gorgeous. We passed by the Sofitel and the Intercontinental as well as the Kempinski. Sofitel and Intercontinental have a nice location next to the Donau river but are not goodlooking from outside (they look old) and Kempinski is in the shopping heart at a higher price, chique looking. The main reason we chose the Corinthia was because they have their own spa which you can easily access from your room in your bathcoat, you just take the special elevator that leeds to the fitness/spa. The access is free for hotel guests and there is a big pool, two jacuzzi, two saunas and a hammam. I believe children less than 16year are only allowed until 15h, otherwise the facilities are open till 22h. I took a massage and a facial and paid 178€ + tip (usually about 10% of the bill), which was great too.
The dinner on our first night at the Arena was a bit disappointing because we didn't get all we ordered, some things were missing on our plate so I didn't feel good about paying the full amount of the bill and complained. The manager came, admitted the errors, offered us a dessert wine from the house and gave my starter (which turned out to be from the set menu instead of the à la carte dish I ordered) for free. The Bock Bistro, another restaurant situated at the hotel, was a delight from beginning to the end. The prices of the food are very reasonable for a luxury hotel like this. The Hungarian wine is delicious, we bought some bottles of the Bock Winery on our way back at the airport. We didn't try the breakfast of 28€ per person, it's never worth the price when you are a small eater. In the Events&Promotions booklet which was placed in our room it was stated you could have all kinds of appealing à la carte dishes as breakfast between 8 and 11am at the Bock Bistro, but when we went at 10am the Bock wasn't even open, another disappointment.
The Wi-Fi works just fine with your name and room number, free of charge.
The location is ok, right in front of the hotel there is a tram passing and a 5min walk away you can take the metro at the Oktogon. Budapest passes are available at the hotel souvenir shop. If you take a 2 day pass (about 37€), a boat trip on the Donau (day/night), the Hop On/Hop Off bus, two guided tours and a free entrance to the zoo are included as well as discount coupons for restaurants etc. Unfortunately during our stay that pass was sold out at the hotel and also at the metro station... We visited the Széchenyi Baths, easily accessible with the metro (station in front of the Baths). After 19h the tickets for this Thermal Spa get +-3€ cheaper (open till 22h). Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cats9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive and very detailed review. I am really pleased to read that all in all you were satisfied with our services. Thank you for your high rating. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a spectacular looking hotel with a great location in Budapest. Overall, it's a good choice if you want to explore the city.

The building dates back to the late nineteenth century and it has been restored beautifully. The public areas are very impressive - lots of marble and grand vistas. There are two inner courtyards with glass roofs so everything is airy and light.

It's an ideal location, within walking distance of Andrássy Avenue, the Oktagon, Heroes Square and other major attractions.

Our room overlooked one of the inner courtyards which made it quiet. Although it was on the small side, it was perfectly comfortable, clean and well furnished.

Wi-fi is available only in the public areas but at least it's free.

One of our party tried the spa and had a favourable experience. But the gym is disappointingly small given the size of the hotel - surely they could find some additional space for a larger gym.

We had drinks in the bar and the service was terrific - attentive without being fussy. Prices are reasonable. However, we declined the offer of breakfast since it seemed expensive. (There are lots of places close to the hotel to get something.) Unfortunately we weren't able to try the hotel's bistro as it was booked solid while we were there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ral999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are
very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time here. We are all very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had wonderful Christmas dinner, with everything you could possibly wish for, at a very fair price. To fine classical music from a highly skilled local musicians. The staff at the Atrium Restaurant were attentive and pleasant. We had the best and most relaxing Christmas ever.
The lavish Romas style spa and pool area. is a great palce to relax.
We had a great executiv delux room, when we switched from an overheated inside room to a cooler room with a balcony overlooking the street.
I highly recommend the roomservice. Outstanding!
The christmas decorations were inventive and beautiful.
We will definately visit again.

Please be aware that: Many rooms faces the inside atriums, with only a window/french balcony facing inside. So the air i stuffy and very hot. The a/c only blows hot air in wintertime, so you can get no fresh air into the room! This is disasterous, and rather claustrophobic.
It took several (more and more desperate) talks with reception and maintenance before we finally were moved to a room with a "real" window. From then on everything was perfect, and exactly what we had been looking forward to!

Room Tip: Please be aware that: Many rooms faces the inside atriums, with only a window/french balcony facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Camilama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

I highly appreciate your honest feedback. There is a continuous effort on our side to improve our services and we are grateful for your comments. I was glad that you highlighted the service provided by the Atrium Restaurant staff. We are really sorry to learn about the temperature problems in the guestroom you occupied. Normally our air-condition system provides a good and ambient temperature across the hotel and we apologise if on this occasion this did not work well.Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon. Kindest regards, Mr. Thomas M. Fischer General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Spent four fantastic days around Christmas at this top class hotel. The staff were very friendly and the amenities first class. We had some good meals there but we were looking forward to their signature restaurant Bock, but sadly,it was closed. The other disappointment was that the luxurious spa and indoor pool is only accessible to children under the age of 16 between 11am and 3pm. This makes your sightseeing for the day limited in winter daylight hours.
The rooms at the front of the hotel are prone to the tram noise, which although convenient run through the night.
The music at meal time, the staff's command of several languages and the wonderful Christmas decorations will leave lasting memories.

Room Tip: Away from the front of the hotel to avoid tram noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanaliSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. Thank you for your kind words and your understanding about our Spa policy. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest and you will have the pleasure to try the Bock Bistro as well.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The toilet in our room did not work (would not flush) for the whole three days we stayed. We requested maintenance twice, but both times were apparently ignored because we did not see anyone come to our room, and the problem wasn't fixed. After asking twice, we thought our time was better spent sightseeing and enjoying our holiday rather than fighting with staff, so we just left it. We had to go down to the lobby to use the toilet and it just wasn't good enough. There was no mention of compensation or anything by the staff. We were very disappointed. Other than that, the hotel was beautiful, with lovely rooms, a great spa and in a reasonably good location. But unfortunately I cannot give a rating higher than "poor" for a hotel that does not provide you with a working toilet, particularly a hotel of this calibre and price. Such a shame as I'm sure we would have had a lovely experience otherwise.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Harks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments sent via Tripadvisor, concerning your stay at our Hotel.
I was sorry to learn that the standard of the room allocated to you did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Your comments clearly indicate shortfalls in the standard of maintenance and as such, I have addressed the issues you have raised with the relevant members of my team. I apologise for any inconvenience or discomfort caused to you by these shortfalls in the standard of your accommodation

Feedback such as yours that highlights areas where we could be doing better is particularly useful and we are grateful for your time in sharing your experience with us
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Corinthia Budapest.

Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $178 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing