We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casati Budapest Hotel(Budapest)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$175
$135
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$237
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$535
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (7,977)
Filter reviews
7,977 results
Traveler rating
6,132
1,348
313
121
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,132
1,348
313
121
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive clubroyal spabeautiful hotelexecutive roomrickshaw restaurantsteam roommain restaurantfive star hotelspa facilitiesthe rivertram stopthe air conditioningopera houselong weekendjewish quartercity breakpublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
5,242 - 5,247 of 7,977 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2008

My wife and I had the opportunity to visit Budapest together over my birthday in February at very short notice.
We checked out the reviews of hotels in Budapest and found the Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal – it had very good reviews and was highly recommended currently number 1 on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed (as we have been with other hotels) and we both agreed that it is the best hotel we have stayed in.
The Hotel is well situated for looking around Budapest with good public transport links outside via the trams and busses and the underground at the end of the road. Budapest is a fabulous city with many attractions and plenty of things to do.
The staff of the Hotel are very hospitable, efficient and effective. They were always on hand to help and give advice with out being intrusive and pushy.
The bedroom had a gorgeous bathroom with separate shower. It was a good size bedroom, comfortable and very well equipped.
The food was plentiful and well presented with a huge variety of choice.
We would recommend that you upgrade to take advantage of the Executive Club - well worth it for breakfast - Lunch mid day snacks and afternoon tea - cocktails and evening canapés. There are also international papers, free computer usage with Internet access & business facilities.
Also check out the Rickshaw Restaurant & Sushi Bar and the night club - Royal Club with its live music and dancing.
The Spar within the hotel was superb and many happy hours were had relaxing in this very peaceful environment.
We can not praise this hotel enough and can testify to the fact that the staff are well trained and managed.
We were invited to the monthly Guest Evening with the Royal Team which was an informal gathering of food and drink in the Rickshaw Restaurent & Sushi Bar - this was a great experience and an opportunity to talk to the staff of the hotel.
We consider this hotel to be great value for money.
Thank you Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal staff for a great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank dbw18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Stayed at the Royal Corinthia for 3 nights in February 2008. Overall an absolutely fantastic experience. We were upgraded to Executive Room (see other review for details) for free which was a real bonus. The room was immaculate and breakfast very good. Great location for sightseeing in the city and plenty of restaurants nearby. Spa was great for chilling out after a day in the city.

A couple of minor negatives: there aren't exactly loads of beds at the spa, at 1 point there were none free; and we got slightly ripped off getting a taxi back to the airport as we got the taxi outside the hotel which meant we got charged the hotel taxi rates (about 75% more expensive than normal).

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

What can you say about this hotel - it is simply devine, the only problem is that you never want to leave! We stayed for 5 nights in March on a city break to Budapest with another couple. From the moment our taxi dropped us off we were made to feel like we were the only guests in the hotel with individual attention throughout. We have travelled extensively in the past on business and pleasure and you get the measure of hotels of a certain standard but 'The Royal' shines above them all.
When we checked in we 'upgraded' to the executive package - this is well worth doing as you get a bigger room and access to the executive lounge throughout your stay. You can eat breakfast here or in the main restaurant, call in for soup and snacks during the day and enjoy pre- dinner drinks / canapes / champagne during the evening. This is an additional 30 euro's per person per day and as you would normally pay 25 euro's for breakfast and around 30 euro's for a round of drinks in the bar you do get your moneys worth. (Although your bill will be payable in Hungarian Forints they quote everything in euros - i think this is for ease as it takes forever to convert forints to pounds in your head!!)
We had rooms on the 4th floor which were spacious and extremely clean. The beds were sooo comfortable with huge feather duvets and pillows, you never wanted to get up! The only negative about the room was that it was hot and it took us about 3 days to work out the air con!
The hotel is wonderfully decorated, gaze down from the 'bridges' over the atriums and see the ballgowned opera goers meeting for drinks amid the sparkling baroque lights -you should definitely go and sneak a peak at the ballroom - it is so impressive and makes you want to go and put on your party frock!
We used the spa everyday - access is free for hotel guests - just put on your robe and slippers and take the private lift where you will be welcomed by a towel bearing receptionist. The spa includes pool, jacuzzi, suana's, steam room and lounging arera. All the spa's in Budapest are open to the public and you do get non residents using the facilities but not in large numbers.
Breakfast is an international affair and cannot be faulted. There was everything you could possibly want and if not the attentive waiters would do all they could to ensure you were happy.
We ate out in the evening at restaurants that were in the local area. The hotel is in a very busy area of Pest so if you wish to eat anywhere in particular ask the concierge to book this for you. We ate at Menza, approx 5 mins walk away, very good traditional Hungarian cuisine - the crispy goose leg a must - but a very modern vibe to it and felt like the place to be seen by the local student populace. Even closer to the hotel was Magdelena Merlo, this is a throughly more rustice experience and our preferred place - served a fusion of Hungarian / Italian which worked very well. Try the onion soup and 'Budapest Beef'.
Whilst in the city we used the 'Budapest Card' these can be bought from the Concierge in the hotel. They are worth having for the free use of trams, bus and metro around the city, you also get money off addmission to many attractions. If you do not use the card you have to buy your bus / tram ticket prior to getting on the vehicle and 'validate' it once on board by popping into a puch type thing - the challenge in this is to find it on the packed tram / bus. The 'authorities' are quite hot on catching and fining unsuspecting tourists who have not managed to do this so be warned.
We visited a fair few museums - check your guide book before you go as they close on different days throughout the week so as not to be disappointed. A must is 'The Terror Museum' which is a facinating insight into the history of Hungary and can explain the wonderful buildings that are splattered with bullet holes.
Budapest is famous for its baths and we went to The Gellert to make sure we were not missing out on anything - due to the time of our visit the outdoor pools were closed. We used the indoor baths and thermal pools and also went for a massage. Be prepared to be pummelled whilst naked (no inhibitions here) and this could be by either a man or a woman. The baths themselves are a sight to be seen as you feel you have walked into the 20's - make sure you use a locker and don't
ake your towel to the pool - a mistake made by our husbands, they were gone by the time they finished swimming!
We had a wonderful stay in Budapest - this was mainly due to the fabulous hotel. I would definitely go back to 'The Royal' either to chill out or experience more of Budapest which I am sure will become THE city to go to in the next few years ..... if it isn't already!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank suzytony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

This is a must stay hotel. The staff were amazing, the hotel was amazing. The rooms are huge, with high ceilings, wonderfully decorated, a true 5-star hotel. We upgraded to the, I believe it is called the executive level. Every day they served an amazing breakfast. Salad and soups with breads and pastries for lunch and at happy hour they have meats and cheeses, canapes, pate's, fabulous stuff. All was free including drinks. They served, champayne, and wine all day. Budapest is a beatiful city, but the hotel was so incredible that you didn't want to leave. If you go to Budapest, this hotel is a must stay. Location was great as well. I can't think of a single thing to complain about. We traveled to Holland, Spain, Belgium and Hungry, because of this hotel, I like Hungary the best!

Stayed: February 2008
3  Thank Thirstyfortravel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Have just returned from another magnificant stay at the Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal in Budapest. It is without question the best hotel I have ever had the pleasure to stay in and it continues to impress time and time again.

Everything about this hotel is set and maintained to the absolute highest of standards and it oozes class from the moment you arrive at the front door. Every single member of staff I encountered throughout my stay greeted me with a smile, without exception.

The Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal offers a level of service which is second to none (for once an appropriate use of an overused phrase) and one would be hard pushed to find something to complain about. The Royal Spa is a breathtaking addition to an already specatular Hotel and is an indication of how the hotel is constantly upgrading itself to the benefit of it's residents.

I could go on forever listing the countless qualities of the hotel but the Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal is the main reason I went back to Budapest and my latest visit has merely served to encourage me to become a more frequent visitor in the future.

My advise, go, sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rjoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews